Posting your rating...
Mezan 2000 Jamaica rum

Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Caribbean | Aged

7.3/10 (16 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
1
3
5
3
1

Rate Mezan 2000 Jamaica

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


16 Mezan 2000 Jamaica ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Resplendent with the aromas of tropical fruit, filled with the flavors of fresh peach pie, green peppers and baking spices. Wow. Smooth, very tasty, close to perfection. Alas, the finish disappears a bit too quickly. Still, it's a solid choice.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Typical aromas from Long Pond (olive brine, slightly acid fruity ester, tar...) but at only 40% it cools the things down. A bit disapointing at first if you are into cask-strengh high ester Jamaicans, but on the other side it reveals all the aromas a more subtle way and it is interesting. All in all I appreciated this one very very much. Very well balanced, a good way do discover Jamaican rums. I still think it could have been a killer at, say, 43-45% abv.

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Andy from United Kingdom with 143 ratings

Grassy, spicy, Jamaican rum. Smoother than some comparable rums, but less complex. Relatively easy to sip on, but not inspiring. Maybe worth a try, but I wouldn’t buy a bottle

Ffffff

Posted at Hale Pele about 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

Well a surprise, it's slightly smooth, slightly sweet, but lacking the Jamaican funk.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Cory Wid from United States with 86 ratings

Quite a mild, earthy scent. A definite hogo, but all very well behaved. This struck me as very odd, coming from a distillery like longpond... must have been a more mild pot distillate. After the first sip, there is a mild punch of spicy hogo, though everything is rather delicate, and quite oily. There is a level of mild charm to this rum, and you really have to sip slowly to detect the fruity and nutty notes.
I was originally disappointed with this rum, but it has grown on me. The oiliness is really something to be savored, even though in terms of esters, this is nowhere near some of the big blockbuster Jamaicans. I would have loved if this was a bit higher in proof... for $65, I still feel I spent more than I should have.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Mezan Jamaica Long Pond 2000 bottling is the last drink for tonight. Bottle looks decent, pretty basic label, very light and pale color, strong banana and glue smell and taste. Very offputting combination in my books.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tim East from Netherlands with 7 ratings

Very lightly cokoured with an interesting nose, a little woody with a touch of varnish. First tastes rather puts me down, too sweet like fake/cheap candy with a long oily aftertaste resembling oliveoil like some others earlier mentioned.
Not what i expected and not in the for me preferred pallet.
Still it was an interesting experience.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Yes, this one is rum. In local shop was a sale and I was wondering which of MEZAN rums I am going to buy. Finally I chose Jamaica 2000 according to reviews I read. After I opened the bottle I was really surprised. The aroma was kind different - no heavy flavors - it smelled more like whisky. After my first taste came the full spectrum of flavors. Wow. What the ... is this. Rum, whisky? No alcohol feeling, pure smoothness. I am writing this after one shot and my tongue is waiting for another round. Lets go. Maybe I am just so excited but actually, this is my top rated rum and I think it will stay for a while.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

Interesting nose of vernish.
Then you really get the dry and organic taste like, typical from Jamaica. A little note of olive too.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by piratejabez from United States with 314 ratings

Mezan Jamaica 2000 starts off with a slightly peppery nose, and light funk (compared to some others). There's a trace of spearmint. The flavor is neither dry not sweet (though in rum terms and for many here perhaps it's squarely "dry"). There's a good amount of oak, with subtle menthol on the finish. I really, really, enjoy this rum.

Yes, I do think it's a shame that is was bottled at 40% abv, but not a huge one. I think 45% would have been just fine, and even at 80 proof it's still an excellent rum—one I wouldn't mind adding to my REAL shelf :).

8+; a little stronger, and easily a 9!