Posting your rating...
1931 81st Anniversary rum

1931 81st Anniversary

Saint Lucia | Aged

1931 81st Anniversary rum is the first addition by St Lucia Distillers to celebrate the first distillery in St Lucia the Dennery Distillery, which was founded in 1931

The 81st Anniversary of 1931 is a combination of 9 casks from 3 pot stills and 1 coffe still that were aged in either port or American oak casks from 1999 on. After combining the vintages the final rum is lightly filtered before bottling.

8.4/10 (23 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
10
7
3

Rate 1931 81st Anniversary

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


23 1931 81st Anniversary ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 422 ratings

Pure rum, it has no additives and no sugar. A very potent drink, you can feel the strenght from the first sip. Has a pleasant aftertaste with hints of wood and citrics. All things taken into account, this is a serios rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rob from Ireland with 92 ratings

After careful consideration I decided to try the 2nd edition of the 1931 rum, as its without added sugar and appears the best 1931 so far.
Those who are familiar with Admiral Rodney will recognise the flavour profile, with some added complexity.
For me leather and tobaco is dominant, but will properly discover more after a few more sittings.
I quite like the rums from St Lucia and for me this is the best they got to offer.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 193 ratings

Sugar 0-5 grams. The first thing that grabs your attention is the presentation with the pressed coin in the wood stopper. The real treat is of course in the rum. The aroma is an outstanding mix of wood, leather, smoke, caramel-molasses, and fruit. The taste profile that I detected was wood, tobacco, vanilla, raisins and spice. Well balanced with a natural sweetness that I suspect comes from some additional aging in port casks. That might explain the fruit aroma as well. Nice heat and quite smooth with a decent after burn. Overall this is a well blended rum. Somewhere between a Zacapa and an Angostura, but at a lower price. Well worth picking up a second bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by LostSoul from Greece with 18 ratings

I was recently searching for the new version of 1931 st. lucia rum. I was unable to find some in my location though, so i started visiting various vendors. In one of them, i discovered this treasure by pure chance! I initially planned to gift it to an extraordinary person, but stuff happened, things went wrong and said person is now "awol". So, I opened it right now and i feel as if i commit a sacrilige or something, since it is one of a kind. The smell is pleasing and arousing, reminding you of something inbetween wood, cigar and burnt caramel. Its texture is very smooth and well balanced, with an outstanding taste reminding of dried fruit, smoked wood, coffee, caramel, tobacco. Slowly sipped, right after an extravagant dinner with swordfish fillet for main dish. It has to be the very first "vintage" and/or "flagship" rum that i 've ever had the pleasure to get acquainted with and i am honestly left speechless. This is a real masterpiece, with exquisite value for money, a true budget-luxury beyond compare! Not too sweet and without "burns" or "bites". Other brands should take notes. Will be soon revisitting this, with the new 1931 version later! If you manage to find yourselves one 81/2012, GRAB IT IMMEDIATELY and store it away; KEEP IT SECRET, KEEP IT SAFE!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Tastebuds picks up some oak and vanilla accompanied by fruity scents of banana. A bit boozy at 43% or maybe it's just cause my sample has stood on the shelf for a loong time.
Quite oily as well

Ffffff

Posted 8 months ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

Tasted all their rums, nothing stood out except for a not front runner. nothing tasted as if it had been manipulated so i am guessing you are getting their true flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

This rhum 81 eme anniversaire est meilleur sue l admiral rodney auquel il ressemble.mais il a plus de nuances.mais pour un rhum a plus de 60e on s attend a un peu plus.bonne decouverte.note 7.9.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Chef Bobo from Sweden with 15 ratings

The 1931 series is a must try for each rum lover.
Here Masterblender Mr harris goes bananas in his rum storage and creates one remarkable bled after anouther.
Each of them follows the crisp dry, oak, full body and barrel characters that is Mr harris signum. Most of the rum in these blends are from a mix o continous still and the copper pot still. Amost all rum are matured in Jack Daniels barrels and there are many good barrels to chose from for Mr Harris.
I feel peace and venture out to flavour heaven each time I drink a glass of 1931. I have tried 4 different versions and all of them are excellent in its own. The deep purple #81 is my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by stefan from Canada with 50 ratings

Butter and vanilla immediately are the first notes recognizable on the nose. There was a little too much after burn so after adding water oaky wood were3 more noticeable on the mouth.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mark from Canada with 2 ratings

Bought this at the distillery in St Lucia. Can’t recall the exact price but less than $40 US

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Peter Kalnai (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 34 ratings

Whole-day degustation consisted of Captain Bligh (Saint Vincent), followed by Ron Millonario (Peru) and ended with this great piece. Reminded the first mentioned rum by taste. Very fine. Willing to experience deja-vu about this one.