Posting your rating...

8.4/10 (140 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
5
12
51
54
16

Rate Ron Esclavo XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


140 Ron Esclavo XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

A2b4f0db073c8f55c093b8ab13ed81b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Beautiful simple bottle. Lovely dark color.
First smell from the bottle - Very sweet vanilla, sugar, caramel, grapes and prunes.
In the glass - Lovely dark color and wonderful legs. Looks very rich, similar to Zarcapa XO.
Nose - Molases, malt, conac, vanilla, coffee and caramel.
Taste - Sweet and woody. Lots of oak. Sugar cane, caramel coffee and chocolate. Nice long creamy finish with a hint of coconut. Fills out the mouth really nicely.

A very nice rum! From the top of the shelf and quite affordable. Lovely nuances in both taste and nose. Defiantly a keeper, and a “re-buyer” for me.

F342a5e5c582d3ca729df9959c199761.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2650 ratings

All I can say is wow! After well over 800 aged rums later, what an amazing find and what a big surprise. Ron Esclavo XO comes from the Oliver & Oliver group, so that does not surprise me a bit since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO has a very deep color, such a blast of coffee aromas to the nose and my my what a treat to your taste buds. Coffee, chocolate and toffee have an amazing balance. No burn at all at the end, it is super smooth. This rum goes directly to my top 10 list. It is much better than the Dictador XO Insolent which has a similar flavor profile, but it's nowhere close this good.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 14
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 94

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

50a39355eb21c5f19721c18d2629fdc5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 440 ratings

I found this to be a great rum. One of the best values there is (after the Ron Centenario 20 which is cheaper and even better imho).

Super easy drinking and smooth for 42% abv. Smells and tastes of molasses, toffee, caramel, burned sugar, honey, cinnamon, spice, and just a hint of orange.

A fabulous rum!

0245cf0a5b7e52f991e42f09ed071a41.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Rum Hunter from Sweden with 23 ratings

What an neat tasty rum. Honey sweet thik caramel vanilla woow doesn't give that burn at the end. One of my favourite

F1a316bb2830c0adedcb19f283c9c5da.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Gorm Eriksen from Denmark with 4 ratings

Så god, men straight from the cask er bare så meget bedre. Prøv den også.

3ba44cc3cc320351018313d861cc99d4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Best of Esclavos, smoothest, deep color. But e.g. Opthimus 21 from same company is tastier.

26d873495a654ecaf0da9fb6ca6db7ca.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 1 year ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

A little bit too sweet for me. But it has nice full body and tasteful.
I think it is good rum for after dinner.

D32d104c7cb6a8c29c13e78575447d42.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
nice smell.
nice Colour.
Nice taste.
Nice aftertaste.
;-)

3acc07b0da7fbc71820decb9ce4e92c1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Jiri Holusa from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

For me one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Very smooth sipping run, beautiful nose and balanced honey taste.
Plus the beautiful reddish color in a great bottle, 10 from me.

Ec96639ca1f6e5b0765185c214e991b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

On the nose you get sweet aromas of vanilla and fruit. When the rum have been breathing for a while in the glass the aromas gets even smoother.

In mouth you get smooth flavours of vanilla and caramel. You can also taste a bit of oak and spice. This rum is very sweet, in a good way. The aftertaste is very smooth with a little bit of oak and spice.

I nice rum but maybe a little bit of too much oak for my taste.