Posting your rating...
Ron Esclavo XO rum

Rate Ron Esclavo XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


136 Ron Esclavo XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Tobias from Denmark with 29 ratings

Really good rum with a lot of flavour and aftertaste.

Posted about 5 years ago by kasper Svendsen from Denmark with 17 ratings

Beautiful simple bottle. Lovely dark color.
First smell from the bottle - Very sweet vanilla, sugar, caramel, grapes and prunes.
In the glass - Lovely dark color and wonderful legs. Looks very rich, similar to Zarcapa XO.
Nose - Molases, malt, conac, vanilla, coffee and caramel.
Taste - Sweet and woody. Lots of oak. Sugar cane, caramel coffee and chocolate. Nice long creamy finish with a hint of coconut. Fills out the mouth really nicely.

A very nice rum! From the top of the shelf and quite affordable. Lovely nuances in both taste and nose. Defiantly a keeper, and a “re-buyer” for me.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I found this to be a great rum. One of the best values there is (after the Ron Centenario 20 which is cheaper and even better imho).

Super easy drinking and smooth for 42% abv. Smells and tastes of molasses, toffee, caramel, burned sugar, honey, cinnamon, spice, and just a hint of orange.

A fabulous rum!

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

All I can say is wow! After well over 800 aged rums later, what an amazing find and what a big surprise. Ron Esclavo XO comes from the Oliver & Oliver group, so that does not surprise me a bit since most of their rums are simply stunning. The Ron Esclavo XO has a very deep color, such a blast of coffee aromas to the nose and my my what a treat to your taste buds. Coffee, chocolate and toffee have an amazing balance. No burn at all at the end, it is super smooth. This rum goes directly to my top 10 list. It is much better than the Dictador XO Insolent which has a similar flavor profile, but it's nowhere close this good.

Detailed scoring analysis:
10/100 Packaging, bottle and label design 9
10/100 Color of this rum 10
15/100 Nose test 14
20/100 Palate test 20
15/100 Afterburn of this rum 15
15/100 Availability to purchase this rum 11
15/100 Ultimate value for money 15
Total score 94

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum Hunter from Sweden with 23 ratings

What an neat tasty rum. Honey sweet thik caramel vanilla woow doesn't give that burn at the end. One of my favourite

Posted almost 5 years ago by Gorm Eriksen from Denmark with 4 ratings

Så god, men straight from the cask er bare så meget bedre. Prøv den også.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hyenik from Czech Republic with 110 ratings

Best of Esclavos, smoothest, deep color. But e.g. Opthimus 21 from same company is tastier.

Posted 11 months ago by Reiwa from Japan with 136 ratings

A little bit too sweet for me. But it has nice full body and tasteful.
I think it is good rum for after dinner.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

:-)
nice smell.
nice Colour.
Nice taste.
Nice aftertaste.
;-)

Posted over 2 years ago by Jiri Holusa from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

For me one of the best rums I have ever tasted. Very smooth sipping run, beautiful nose and balanced honey taste.
Plus the beautiful reddish color in a great bottle, 10 from me.

Posted over 2 years ago by LarsF from Sweden with 39 ratings

On the nose you get sweet aromas of vanilla and fruit. When the rum have been breathing for a while in the glass the aromas gets even smoother.

In mouth you get smooth flavours of vanilla and caramel. You can also taste a bit of oak and spice. This rum is very sweet, in a good way. The aftertaste is very smooth with a little bit of oak and spice.

I nice rum but maybe a little bit of too much oak for my taste.

Posted over 3 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice dark color with coffee, butterscotch, toffee and caramel flavor. The alcohol is present at the first nose and disappear gradually. There is some notes of chocolate, cocoa and nuts. This rum is round, warm with a medium finish.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

This rum is fantastic for this price. Great aftertaste. Full body aroma in my nose. Smart choice.

Posted almost 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Máme tu další rum z Dominikánské republiky, tentokrát Esclavo XO, který zraje systémem solera až 23 let. Což znamená, že 23 let má jen ta nejstarší složka ve směsi. Čeští vychytralí, v lepším případě pouze špatně informovaní prodejci se vám budou snažit nakukat, že jde o rum třiadvacetiletý, samozřejmě jim to nevěřte. Viz třeba dobrůtka.eu, nebo slepě kopírující heuréka, případně další obchody, které kopírují lživé a zkreslené informace od jiných.

Alkohol: 42 %
Původ: Dominikánská republika
Aroma: Sladce hutný a bohatý styl, nasládle kořenitý, medový, medovinový, lékořicově skořicový, s nádechem hřebíčku, lehce i kůže, i s nezbytnou větrovostí. Nic, co bych neznal, nic originálního a neotřelého, ale zase nutno uznat, že voní zatraceně dobře. (92 b)
Chuť: Pěkně poladěná vůně s chutí. Sladkost asi tak 50-60%. Takže dostatečně sladký, ale ne nějak brutálně, tohle není A.H.Riise. Stylově mi připomíná Quorhum, zkusmo jsem si pro srovnání nalil jeho patnáctku a Esclavo je o dost dál, sladší, výraznější, zajímavější. Ještě aby ne, však je taky znatelně dražší. (92 b)
Body: 92
Shrnutí: Výtečně vyladěný rum, pochutnal jsem si. Měl jsem 50 ml miniaturu.

Posted about 4 years ago by Luffsman from Sweden with 26 ratings

From the first drop into the glas to the last, bloody marvelous! The dark brown color, the smell and OH the taste. Sweet, caramele, honey, dried fruits... ALL the good things are in this bottle... ALL OF THEM!

Posted over 4 years ago by Kristoffer Pedersen from Denmark with 2 ratings

Helt klart min favorit som sipper- rom. Dejlig sød og rund i smagen og en super flot farve. 10/10

Posted over 4 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Wow!
This is some good stuff.
So smooth and round with lots of sweet carmeltaste. You'd never guess it's 42% when tasting.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

helt klart den bedste af esclavo flaskerne.
har noget mere at byde på end de to andre flasker.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Jens Thomsen from Denmark with 97 ratings

Ron Esclavo XO Rum blander sig mellem de bedste fra Den Dominikanske Republik. Smuk farve og tilpas sødme.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jesper Sørensen from Denmark with 11 ratings

super god sød og kompleks rom med et lille exstra spark. Helt oppe ved mange af de store rom i min bog. Lækker

Posted about 5 years ago by Jonny Olsson from Sweden with 162 ratings

I was looking forward testing this Rum! it is one of top 10 tested Rums at Swedish site Romrom.se and scored 9,2 out of 10 points. It is produced by one of my favorites Oliver & Oliver on Melass and Solera model up to 23 years. Nice smell of honey and syrup. The 42% takes down sweetness and takes forward more clean tastes. Strong aftertaste! Round and good. After new test I would like to upgrade this from 9 to 10👍🏻

Posted about 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Havde hørt meget godt om denne Rom. Så jeg glædede mig meget til at smage den.
Først gang blev jeg skuffet! Men anden gang, Vav, det var straks bedre.
Lækker duft, sød på den gode måde, og en rigtig god eftersmag.

Posted over 5 years ago by Kenneth Olesen from Denmark with 77 ratings

One of last years absolute stunners! In that price range it is some of the best I have ever tasted. Sweet, silk-soft and so well balanced.! Fat body and a nice warmth to it!

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 229 ratings

Considering the price, this is some really good stuff. It's characteristics and quality is pretty close to another great dominican rum, the Quorhum 30 Aniversario. The nose is full with notes of caramel, coffee and chocolate. The palette is big bodied with ripe notes of sweet brown sugar, coffee, leather, wood and spicy tingles in a nicely rounded package. The afterburn is a sweet, long and creamy, warming sensation. To me the slightly more expensive Quorhum 30 still comes out on top though, with better complexity.

Posted 2 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 6 ratings

Silky smooth rum with a creamy aftertaste. Slightly harsh smell right after pouring, but it gets better after a while. A new favourite!