Posting your rating...
Ron Esclavo XO rum

Rate Ron Esclavo XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


136 Ron Esclavo XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by Railwayman from Poland with 10 ratings

Ciekawy, przypadl mi bardzo do gustu. Intensywny, mocny, przy czym alkohol w ogóle nie wyczuwalny. Jeden z moich ulubionych

Posted over 1 year ago by rm64 from Switzerland with 12 ratings

Schön rund und ausgeglichen.
Optimale Süsse. Wunderbar in Nase und Gaumen

Posted over 1 year ago by Ievab from Denmark with 6 ratings

Great smell! And tastes good! Adding to my collection!

Posted over 1 year ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Uit een adventkalender. Klein beetje van 20ml. Niet echt genoeg voor een goed oordeel. Banaan, vanille, erg zoet en plakkerig. 48gr suiker per liter. Niet erg complex.

Posted over 1 year ago by Örjan from Sweden with 60 ratings

Vanilla, honey, syrup, a lot of sweet corn and caramel that are well balanced by the strength

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 135 ratings

Solera on the sweeter side is normal, but this one manages to be more smooth than other, which adds some drinkability to this bottle.

Nose: Vanilla, burnt suger and some minor hints of prunes and wood
Taste: Caramel, raisins, some roasted oak and a slight aftertaste of coffee.
Overall: A good sweet solera rum that would have been near perfection if it wasn´t watered down to 42abv

Posted almost 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

Purchased a sample from www.masterofmalt.com for under £10, decided to try after reading a review on here. The bottle was sold out but luckily there were still samplers available.

It's got a rich dark brown hue, and is from the Dominican Republic it's well aged and rounded and a wonderful sipping rum I definitely would not spoil the flavours and aromas by mixing this beauty.

It's sweet and reminiscent of sherry on the nose and in the mouth, it's remarkably smooth even though it comes in at 42% abv. It's simply a wonderful rum I'm glad I read the review I did and will certainly purchase a full bottle in the future.

Posted about 2 years ago by 5xo from Slovakia with 237 ratings

Smooth, sweet, tobacco nose and flavor. Sweetness is well-balanced and not overpowering.

Posted about 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 149 ratings

There are some good flavours in it, but too sweet for me.

Posted about 2 years ago by Marcus from Norway with 1 rating

Its sweet, round and velvety. It has a complexity and a taste that last long. I owned this rhum for 14 days and it is really boosting my intererest for rhum again. It very much like zacapa XO but has less taste of alkohol. Unbelievable it is 42*. Cant recomend it enough.

Posted about 2 years ago by Melker from Sweden with 20 ratings

This is one of those super sweet smooth and caramely rums that go down too easy. It's not very complex but damn it's tasty. Lot's of vanilla, some oak, a bit of fruit.

Posted about 2 years ago by Jeanmi57 from France with 1 rating

Goûté via un calendrier de l'avent 2017, ce rhum s'est avéré s'est avéré être le meilleure parmis les 23 autres. Bon rapport qualité prix. <50€

Posted about 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

I found this a good rum -
a sweet nose with vanilla, oak, mollases and above all brown sugar
Those tastes are all there in the mouth but it does taste quite sweet. I suspect it has a lot of added sugar and caramel - I haven't checked as I write this...
But, you now what, other rums have added sugar and just did more for me on the first and second taste - El Dorado 12, Diplomatico Exclusiva Reserva (which has a much richer and longer lasting flavour and kick)
I don't want to damn this with faint praise, because I'd say that it was worth an 8 (maybe a 7.5 if I could). Further tastings may reveal more, who knows, but I did find it just a tad samey - good, but samey.
I didn't find the aftertaste to be particularly long.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Nu ma asteptam ca XO-ul de la Esclavo sa ma surpinda atat de tare. Incercasem mai demult cel de 12 si 15 dar acesta este deosebit. Echilbrat, aromat, cu un finish foarte placut si un aftertaste mediu. Un rom fin si placut On The Rocks!

Posted over 2 years ago by Niklas from Sweden with 69 ratings

Lite som diplomatico exclusiva Reserva på nått sätt. Lite för söt. Inte lika god som 15.

Posted over 2 years ago by Vlado from Slovakia with 51 ratings

Pekne zabalený rum v mohutnej fľaši a papierovej krabici. Až neskôr som sa dozvedel, že master blender tohto rumu spolupracoval s vedením firmy Oliver&Oliver. Povedal by som, že to značne poznať. Väčšina "ultra prémiových" rumov spoločnosti O&O je viac menej na jedno kopyto, v žiadnom prípade sa ale nedá povedať, že sú zlé. Skôr si držia latku podobne vysoko. Rum Esclavo XO je veľmi podobný tejto skupine rumov. Je to pekný, aromatický a veľmi komplexný rum. Vonia po hrozienkach, medových plástoch, či vanilke. Chuť je sladšia a trochu výraznejšia, čo pôsobí príjemne. Podľa mňa sa mu nedá dať nižšie číslo ako 8, lebo spĺňa atribúty kvalitného rumu, aj keď sa na 80% podobá po všetkých stránkach na vyšší segment rumov spoločnosti O&O.

Posted over 2 years ago by Blacky from Austria with 79 ratings

Der Ron Esclavo XO Solera reift nach der aufwändigen Solera-Methode 23 Jahre lang in Ex-Bourbonfässern aus amerikanischer Weißeiche. Verkostet zu Silvester 2017 :-)

Posted over 2 years ago by Mads from Denmark with 6 ratings

Yet another amazing rum from the Dom. Rep. Sweet, warm, oak and with a grat mouth feel.

Posted over 2 years ago by Theodora from Slovenia with 76 ratings

Excellent mahogany rum; promising on nosu with traces of smoke, vanilla; so nicely warm and long on palate, full body, off-sweet sugar.

Posted over 2 years ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Nice presentation and appearance. This rum tastes like Presidente Marti 19 to me also from O&O.
Dark mahogany colour in the glass , nose is brown sugar , treacle plus a bit of vanilla so you know its going to be sweet.. and sweet it is !! Almost too much , i think the 42% vol saves it. Taste also finds some wood in there as well. Very warm in the mouth but enjoyably so and the normal no burn in the throat with sweet rums..All in all this is a very drinkable rum but lets not kid ourselves why... lots of sugar and caramel colouring , im starting to question the need for all the "smoke and mirrors" with all these South American rums , are all the "extras" needed to make great tasting rums ? What was that Mr. Seale ???

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian from Denmark with 47 ratings

Lovely sweet taste, a bit better than the 12YO. I'll definitely going to add this bottle to my cabinet.

Posted over 2 years ago by Daniel from Sweden with 16 ratings

the glass, Ron Esclavo XO has a nice dark cup of cake, which immediately begins to spread a delicious scent of honey seed in the room
It is vanilla, syrup and honey that work alternately in a single candy dish. So much sweetness could easily be too much - but by keeping Ron Esclavo XO on 42% instead of 40%, you have balanced sweetman and lift cleaner flavors.

Posted over 2 years ago by Standa from Czech Republic with 12 ratings

Spíše sladší, jemný. Vanilka, karamel. Vyvážený. Dlouhá doznívající chuť. Jeden z favoritů.

Posted over 2 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

But I personally prefer the cask xo every day of the week.