Posting your rating...
Caroni 15-Year rum

Caroni 15-Year

Trinidad and Tobago | Aged

8.3/10
57 ratings
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
7
16
23
6

Rate Caroni 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

57 Caroni 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 247 ratings

Another great bottle from Velier and at good value. I find this to be one of the better and more rounded caroni's. The nose is quite powerfull, and you can actually sense the rum just pouring it in the glass and placing it on the table. Giving the rum a closer wif, you pick up clear notes of sweet papaya and wooden lacquer. The palette is very powerfull but nicely rounded, with notes of wood, smoke, asphalt, sweet papaya and a pinch of salt. Very delicious. The spicy aftertaste lingers for a substantial time. (9,5)

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 412 ratings

Aaahhh..... Caroni....eine delikate Leckerei !
Klares Bernstein im Glas, etwas dunkler als der 12er.
Die Nase erkennt den Caroni typischen Duft sofort.
Diese schweren gehaltvollen holzigen Erdtöne, kombiniert mit alten gewachsten Tannenmöbel die in einer verlassenen Autowerkstatt stehen. Späne von frisch gesägtem Holz liegen auf dem öligen Werkstattboden.
Im Gaumen, eine Explosion von Aromen die deine Geschmacksknospen durchdrehen lassen.
Die 52% Vol. fallen bei dieser Aroma Vielfalt nicht ins Gewicht. Gebrannter Karamell klebt an einer rauchig salzigen Fassdaube, hart, ehrlich ohne Kompromisse ! In Petroleum eingetauchte Lakritzenstangen die mit dunkler Schokolade überzogen sind. Reiner Kakao den du von einem alten modrigem Holz leckst. Könnte noch hunderte weiter aufzählen....
Der Abgang zieht sich fast über Stunden hin. Herrlich, so wie man sich das wünscht, dunkle Schokolade, dunkle Früchte, dunkles Holz und vieles mehr.
Ein absolut genialer Rum (9+) für alle die, die die alte, ehrliche Machart von Rum schätzen.
Caroni Rum, die Perlen in meiner Rumsammlung.

Aaahhh ..... Caroni .... a delicious delicacy!
Clear amber in the glass, a bit darker than the 12 yo.
The nose recognizes the Caroni typical scent immediately.
These heavy rich woody earth tones, combined with old waxed fir furniture standing in an abandoned car repair shop. Chips of freshly sawn wood lie on the oily workshop floor.
On the palate, an explosion of flavors that make your taste buds goes mad.
The 52% Vol. Are not significant for this flavor variety. Burnt caramel sticks to a smoky salty stave, hard, honest without compromise! Licorice rods dipped in petroleum and covered with dark chocolate. Pure cocoa that you lick from an old moldy wood. Could list hundreds more ....
The finish goes on for hours. Wonderful, as you would expect, dark chocolate, dark fruits, dark wood and much more.
An absolutely brilliant rum (9+) for all those who appreciate the old, honest style of rum.
Caroni Rum, the pearls in my rum collection.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by laurent from France with 50 ratings

My first Caroni experience. Strong, powerful. Explosion of aromas in your mouth... Quite impossible to compare with another rum styles. Not easy but really interesting. At first try I was not able to say I liked it or not but the complex, ever lasting finish gave me a pleasant feeling. More liquorice than asphalt. After some other attempts I feel like the 52% alc. is maybe a bit too much for me but the flavours and aromas are great. To be tested with a drop of water maybe ? I am very curious to taste some other Caroni's.
Edit : eventually after the sample I bought a bottle...

C'est quelque chose ces rhums Caroni ! Une vraie explosions de parfums et d'arômes dans la bouche, et ça n'en finit plus. On parle beaucoup de goudron, ce qui ne me faisait pas franchement rêver mais en fait ça me fait plus penser à la réglisse. Ce n'est vraiment pas un rhum "facile" mais il y a un goût de reviens-y assez terrible. C'est un peu trop fort pour moi quand même, il faut que je réessaye avec un tout petit peu d'eau pour calmer le degré d'alcool mais cette première expérience Caroni m'a donné envie d'en essayer d'autres.
Finalement j'en ai acheté une bouteille complète...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Arnaud from France with 22 ratings

Fort, beaucoup d’Esther. Une grande complexité comme pour tous les caroni

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by vincentb from France with 5 ratings

Même si je préfère l'attaque plus typée du 12 ans, cette version 15 ans mérite toute notre attention.
Une merveille ! qui bientôt aura disparu.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 471 ratings

This is a rather dry rum that has a nice bite, but just seems to lack many of the classic rum flavors to me.

Smells and tastes of leather, oak, asphalt, and salt. Decent, but dry, and not enough spiciness or molasses to be great imho.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 315 ratings

Rum z palírny, založené v roce 1923 a uzavřené v roce 2003. Od té doby na Trinidadu zbyla už jen Angostura.
Tento melasový rum byl vypálen v roce 1998, původně měl 75%, ale lahvován byl v síle 52%.
Alkohol: 52 %
Původ: Trinidad
Aroma: Cedrové dřevo, vanilka, připálené rozinky, propolis, hřebíček, místy vykoukne anýzová nasládlost. Dává znát svou sílu až pichlavou ostrostí alkoholu ve vůni. Jednou jsem ucítil i závan bujónu a polévkového koření, ale víckrát se to neopakovalo. S vodou je jemnější. (86 b)
Chuť: Je to dost suchý styl, s hřebíčkem a tropickým dřevem, propolisem. S vodou nepatrně zesládne. V dochuti připomíná opálené sudy. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Přiznám se, že po prvním ochutnání jsem byl trochu zklamaný. Přece jen je to legendární zaniklá palírna, takže očekávání bylo dost velké. Ale pak jsem ochutnával dál a dál, a začal jsem mu přicházet na chuť. On je totiž Caroni dost "svůj". Svým výrazem na mě působí jako takový pravý námořnický nebo pirátský rum. Je alkoholem silný, první dojem byl "ostrý jako žiletky", ale má v sobě něco zajímavého. Přítelkyně mi tvrdí, že je dokonce jemný, a překvapilo mě, že jí chutná. Sice to bodově není žádný průlom, ale musím říct, že mě tenhle Caroni baví a láká mě často k nalití. Hodně dělá i ta síla a experimenty s přidáváním vody. V tomhle mi připomíná mou někdejší whisky Dalmore 1994 od Chieftains, která měla 63,5% alkoholu, v hodnocení to bylo ještě slabší, ale přitom mě bavila. Taky jsem si vyhrál s přidáváním různého množství vody a měl jsem ji hodně rád. Tahle hravost, zábavnost a přitažlivost je taková těžko měřitelná veličina, ale však vy určitě víte, co tím myslím. Za mně doporučuju, a dejte mu čas, kdyby na poprvé nezaujal.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 332 ratings

1998-2013
The nose is on the leather side. I get leather, gum, some caramel notes but also some notes of oak and vanilla. In the end I get some grasy notes.
Not a complex nose and not a 1996 of course. It's a nice one but not exceptional.

The taste starts with gum and leather. It became spicy. I get now some caramel and vanilla notes with oak.
The middle is more dirty, gum, leather, some tar and tannins. It gets bitter now.
The finish is spicy with medical notes, some gum, leather and tannins.
It's not a very complex Caroni and not exceptional one but it's good.
I would rate it with 85 points.

Nose: leather***, gum**, some caramel*, vanilla*, some oak* and a grasy note*
Taste: gum, leather, some caramel and vanilla with oak, some spice
Middle: gum, leather, some tar, tannins (bitter notes)
Finish: spice, medical notes, some gum, leather and tannins
Aftertaste: medical notes, leather, some gum

Sweetness: 1.5/5
Fruits: 1/5
Spice: 3/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3.5/5
Value (230€): 3/5

Small v%c3%bdst%c5%99i%c5%beeks

Posted 5 months ago by Jirka23689 (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 151 ratings

Zatím neotevren. Je ve sbírce rumu Caroni na policce.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by koomander from Singapore with 17 ratings

The strong petroleum of caroni is well recognised in this expression.