Posting your rating...
Caroni 15-Year rum

Rate Caroni 15-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


53 Caroni 15-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 5 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 228 ratings

Another great bottle from Velier and at good value. I find this to be one of the better and more rounded caroni's. The nose is quite powerfull, and you can actually sense the rum just pouring it in the glass and placing it on the table. Giving the rum a closer wif, you pick up clear notes of sweet papaya and wooden lacquer. The palette is very powerfull but nicely rounded, with notes of wood, smoke, asphalt, sweet papaya and a pinch of salt. Very delicious. The spicy aftertaste lingers for a substantial time. (9,5)

Posted over 2 years ago by Rene Rum from Switzerland with 341 ratings

Aaahhh..... Caroni....eine delikate Leckerei !
Klares Bernstein im Glas, etwas dunkler als der 12er.
Die Nase erkennt den Caroni typischen Duft sofort.
Diese schweren gehaltvollen holzigen Erdtöne, kombiniert mit alten gewachsten Tannenmöbel die in einer verlassenen Autowerkstatt stehen. Späne von frisch gesägtem Holz liegen auf dem öligen Werkstattboden.
Im Gaumen, eine Explosion von Aromen die deine Geschmacksknospen durchdrehen lassen.
Die 52% Vol. fallen bei dieser Aroma Vielfalt nicht ins Gewicht. Gebrannter Karamell klebt an einer rauchig salzigen Fassdaube, hart, ehrlich ohne Kompromisse ! In Petroleum eingetauchte Lakritzenstangen die mit dunkler Schokolade überzogen sind. Reiner Kakao den du von einem alten modrigem Holz leckst. Könnte noch hunderte weiter aufzählen....
Der Abgang zieht sich fast über Stunden hin. Herrlich, so wie man sich das wünscht, dunkle Schokolade, dunkle Früchte, dunkles Holz und vieles mehr.
Ein absolut genialer Rum (9+) für alle die, die die alte, ehrliche Machart von Rum schätzen.
Caroni Rum, die Perlen in meiner Rumsammlung.

Aaahhh ..... Caroni .... a delicious delicacy!
Clear amber in the glass, a bit darker than the 12 yo.
The nose recognizes the Caroni typical scent immediately.
These heavy rich woody earth tones, combined with old waxed fir furniture standing in an abandoned car repair shop. Chips of freshly sawn wood lie on the oily workshop floor.
On the palate, an explosion of flavors that make your taste buds goes mad.
The 52% Vol. Are not significant for this flavor variety. Burnt caramel sticks to a smoky salty stave, hard, honest without compromise! Licorice rods dipped in petroleum and covered with dark chocolate. Pure cocoa that you lick from an old moldy wood. Could list hundreds more ....
The finish goes on for hours. Wonderful, as you would expect, dark chocolate, dark fruits, dark wood and much more.
An absolutely brilliant rum (9+) for all those who appreciate the old, honest style of rum.
Caroni Rum, the pearls in my rum collection.

Posted over 4 years ago by laurent from France with 40 ratings

My first Caroni experience. Strong, powerful. Explosion of aromas in your mouth... Quite impossible to compare with another rum styles. Not easy but really interesting. At first try I was not able to say I liked it or not but the complex, ever lasting finish gave me a pleasant feeling. More liquorice than asphalt. After some other attempts I feel like the 52% alc. is maybe a bit too much for me but the flavours and aromas are great. To be tested with a drop of water maybe ? I am very curious to taste some other Caroni's.
Edit : eventually after the sample I bought a bottle...

C'est quelque chose ces rhums Caroni ! Une vraie explosions de parfums et d'arômes dans la bouche, et ça n'en finit plus. On parle beaucoup de goudron, ce qui ne me faisait pas franchement rêver mais en fait ça me fait plus penser à la réglisse. Ce n'est vraiment pas un rhum "facile" mais il y a un goût de reviens-y assez terrible. C'est un peu trop fort pour moi quand même, il faut que je réessaye avec un tout petit peu d'eau pour calmer le degré d'alcool mais cette première expérience Caroni m'a donné envie d'en essayer d'autres.
Finalement j'en ai acheté une bouteille complète...

Posted almost 3 years ago by vincentb from France with 5 ratings

Même si je préfère l'attaque plus typée du 12 ans, cette version 15 ans mérite toute notre attention.
Une merveille ! qui bientôt aura disparu.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

This is a rather dry rum that has a nice bite, but just seems to lack many of the classic rum flavors to me.

Smells and tastes of leather, oak, asphalt, and salt. Decent, but dry, and not enough spiciness or molasses to be great imho.

Posted over 4 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Rum z palírny, založené v roce 1923 a uzavřené v roce 2003. Od té doby na Trinidadu zbyla už jen Angostura.
Tento melasový rum byl vypálen v roce 1998, původně měl 75%, ale lahvován byl v síle 52%.
Alkohol: 52 %
Původ: Trinidad
Aroma: Cedrové dřevo, vanilka, připálené rozinky, propolis, hřebíček, místy vykoukne anýzová nasládlost. Dává znát svou sílu až pichlavou ostrostí alkoholu ve vůni. Jednou jsem ucítil i závan bujónu a polévkového koření, ale víckrát se to neopakovalo. S vodou je jemnější. (86 b)
Chuť: Je to dost suchý styl, s hřebíčkem a tropickým dřevem, propolisem. S vodou nepatrně zesládne. V dochuti připomíná opálené sudy. (84 b)
Body: 85
Shrnutí: Přiznám se, že po prvním ochutnání jsem byl trochu zklamaný. Přece jen je to legendární zaniklá palírna, takže očekávání bylo dost velké. Ale pak jsem ochutnával dál a dál, a začal jsem mu přicházet na chuť. On je totiž Caroni dost "svůj". Svým výrazem na mě působí jako takový pravý námořnický nebo pirátský rum. Je alkoholem silný, první dojem byl "ostrý jako žiletky", ale má v sobě něco zajímavého. Přítelkyně mi tvrdí, že je dokonce jemný, a překvapilo mě, že jí chutná. Sice to bodově není žádný průlom, ale musím říct, že mě tenhle Caroni baví a láká mě často k nalití. Hodně dělá i ta síla a experimenty s přidáváním vody. V tomhle mi připomíná mou někdejší whisky Dalmore 1994 od Chieftains, která měla 63,5% alkoholu, v hodnocení to bylo ještě slabší, ale přitom mě bavila. Taky jsem si vyhrál s přidáváním různého množství vody a měl jsem ji hodně rád. Tahle hravost, zábavnost a přitažlivost je taková těžko měřitelná veličina, ale však vy určitě víte, co tím myslím. Za mně doporučuju, a dejte mu čas, kdyby na poprvé nezaujal.

Posted about 1 month ago by Arnaud from France with 22 ratings

Fort, beaucoup d’Esther. Une grande complexité comme pour tous les caroni

Posted 4 months ago by Rei from Germany with 98 ratings

This rum offers a strong nose and palate with notes of smoke, burned tyres, rasins. Add some saltiness. Overall it offers this special Caroni-taste which you may like or dislike. Specific about this rum is in my view that the level of burn and saltiness is more dominant compared to the 17 or 21 year Caronis. The finish is quite extended which is nice.

Posted 8 months ago by Akis from Greece with 32 ratings

Original taste of rum. Strong kick and nice taste of smoked sherry barrel. Light body. Perfect company for a cigar. Small leg. Bitter but original taste

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

Rich, with such complex taste (citrus, fruits, oily in the background, some oak in the end). What a Caroni! It isn't as heavy in oil as the 12yo, but otherwise deliver more in everything. What a beauty!

Posted about 1 year ago by Chet from United States with 182 ratings

This stuff will blow up your mouth, stand by for your tastebuds to go on overload. it was actually decent after the burn wore down, i am also looking forward to re-growing my stache. Anyhow of all the rums i have tasted this stuff is unique and what i call a Man's rum. Give it a taste for yourself..

Posted almost 2 years ago by Rasmus from Denmark with 134 ratings

This is almost word for word the same review as the 17-year Caroni, but these two are like a couple of perfect pseudo twins:

There is really nothing to say about Caroni, that hasn´t already been said. It is the best of the best of rum in my book and this 15-year from Velier is the cream of the crop.

Nose: Candied apricot, wood and turpentine
Taste: Apricot, vanilla, wood, cocoa beans, petrol, leather and turpentine
Overall: WOW! This is a limited experience as the Caroni-destillery is closed. If it is possible for you to get a taste, or even better a bottle, of this, then don´t hesitate for a second. This is simply, perfection!

Posted almost 2 years ago by Bengt from Sweden with 7 ratings

Amazing taste. Like no other.
Between whisky and rum but it is rum !

Posted about 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Den bedste i serien af velier caroni.... grænsende til sød rom.... lysår bedre en 12’eren

Posted about 2 years ago by alexander from Netherlands with 4 ratings

as i am a whisky drinker, this is the one that reminds me most of Ardbeg. Smoky, oaky with ripe bananas and nuts.
Samples available at: whiskysample.nl

Posted about 2 years ago by Olivye from France with 12 ratings

j'adore le 12 ans mais le 15 ans offre une très belle expression de Caroni!!!

Posted over 2 years ago by Martino from Belgium with 61 ratings

Tout ce qu'on attend d'un rhum de ce genre...explosion immediate et longueur en bouche

Posted over 2 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 66 ratings

Der 15 jährige ist für mich irgendwie so zwischendrin,noch ein bisschen wild und auch schon ein bisschen gezähmt,von allem etwas,ganz sicher ein toller Caroni und ein Muss für jeden Sammler.
Persönlich trinke ich aber wenn ich es wild und hammerhart möchte dann eher den 12er und wenn ich es etwas sanfter und gereifter möchte den 17er bzw 21er.
Lange wird es so einen Tropfen nicht mehr geben,von einst ca 60 Euro ist der Preis jetzt auf ca 120 Euro gestiegen was für so einen Tropfen in ein paar Jahren lächerlich erscheinen wird. Als Sammler und Caroni Liebhaber,aber auch als Investor sollte man hier trotzdem ein paar Flaschen bunkern,schliesslich gehört er in die Serie und was eine komplette Serie in etwa 10 Jahren kosten wird mag ich mir gar nicht ausdenken. Das Gleiche gilt für den 12 und 17 ,sowie den 21 jährigen aus der Serie.

Posted over 2 years ago by Quin from Germany with 25 ratings

Wie bei allen anderen Caronis kann ich leider nur das gleiche schreiben. Schön voll, wuchtig mit schönen Fassaromen, aber diese Gumminoten sagen mir einfach nicht zu.

Posted over 2 years ago by Anders Ravn Jørgensen from Denmark with 85 ratings

Smagte denne under en bytur og i et shotsglas, kan se dem scorer højt normalt, men jeg mener ikke lige det var mig umiddelbart. Kan være den fortjener en tur mere

Posted over 2 years ago by Thierry from France with 63 ratings

Bizarrement une préférence pour le 12 ans. Un peu trop lourd.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jonte Json from Sweden with 111 ratings

Strong, sticky and spicy, with lots of dried fruit

Posted over 2 years ago by Golfm from Denmark with 153 ratings

No better available. I thought it's better than 17 years.

Posted over 2 years ago by Oliver from Germany with 4 ratings

The 12 year old is a 9+, the 17 year old a straight 10.
How to rate this? Well I prefer the others but this one is still marvelous!




#