Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Spiced rum

Captain Morgan Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

Captain Morgan Spiced Rum is made by combining yeasts, molasses, water and mash, which are then distilled in a continuous still. The rum is aged for up to 1 year followed by the addition of spices and flavors indigenous to the Caribbean Islands.

Captain Morgan Spiced is owned by Diageo and produced in Puerto Rico by the famous Destilieria Serralles, Inc. The company Captain Morgan is named after the 17th-century Welsh privateer of the Caribbean, Sir Henry Morgan was an admiral in the Royal British Navy who earned a knighthood in 1674.

5.0/10 (419 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
20
39
69
109
94
41
13
5
12

Rate Captain Morgan Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


419 Captain Morgan Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

0d3196fa67f6c2ca86c22197366a7081.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

"Ah yeah I'll have a Captain and Coke". It's the bar choice for the masses. Not the worst, but it just doesn't give you anything to write home about.

503a41d58e02dbf4654f9c86b7d793c4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Bill Rogers from United States with 33 ratings

If you don't know better it is part of life experience. Beginners only or if your broke. Mixer only

11e607eeaa35d696206a16b6ddb516e5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by thefatrumpirate from United Kingdom with 122 ratings

Vanilla concoction. Appalling for non rum drinkers only

C07365c264e4702a75d831ad5c46aac9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 6 years ago by shelteredexistence from United States with 49 ratings

Surprisingly, at least to me, I enjoyed this rum. The added vanilla is not overwhelming and harmonizes nicely with the basic beverage (which is a straight-forward, lightly-aged and therefore lightly-colored mid-body rum) My friends enjoyed this as a mixer with Coke and I found it perfectly satisfying on the rocks...at least in a pinch. Recommended, at its price, for these purposes.

Ee41aa8755b7ed5cd878b99bf190234e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 8 years ago by AndyD603 from United States with 4 ratings

I have been a fan of Captain Original Spiced for over 10 years. one of the best balanced spiced rums on the market. However not a sipping rum but well mixed with any carbonated drink I have tried.

B263a771cffe2e3a7c46b18a3c445bd9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Philippe Roy from Canada with 32 ratings

Probably like every young aldult it is where they start with rum. Its good for family reunion or just with your friend that are not use to other rum. Strong taste of vanilla. I got to afmit i still pour myself a rum a coke from the captain once in a while for old time sake.

1ed1a975c028d0d110cd4fa2020346ae.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Captain Morgan really gave a lot of people their start and most pay nostalgia to it for that reason but as a rum its average at best. Usually priced around 16$ 750ml its price point is beaten by Cruzan Gold and Admiral Nelson's. Those 2 also trump C morgan in taste which is why I cant see this a staple all around rum anymore. Captain Morgan is a light brown rum which means its age isnt that high but who would think it was, after all this rum is production. Its like this, if there was a rum machine that spit out rum bacardi would given it 1 crank and C morgan (diego) gives it 2 cranks. Its a step up but still not that good. In the glass it smells like vanilla and alcohol and that it about it. Drinking it straight gives you a large blast of vanilla, sweetness from honey and a harshness of alcohol and a spiced tinge at the end. Not very complex in flavor so as a sipper you would missing out on a lot of life. In coke it gives you a rum in coke that is something you would expect from production rums. Vanilla extract hit and some sweetness with some alcohol lurking in the back and even then its fairly faint. My real problem with C morgan is for whatever reason after more than 1 rum and coke it starts tasting very bitter to the point were I switch to gin. Captain Morgan's biggest strength is you can find it anywhere, so even at wits end you still have some sort of okay rum at a bar.

5bbd9ca275891e24bc9dcf6802217abe.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by Scott T from United States with 120 ratings

One of the worst spiced rums there is yet far and away the best known. Belongs on the list of bad to mediocre products that have succeeded by great marketing - Bose speakers, Bud / Bud light, snapple, etc.

D51e490a6447069271f2b69afe1088ac.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Mal from United States with 11 ratings

So I have been avoiding trying Captain Morgan because of how cheap it is (I know don't judge a book by it's cover) and how basic it is. I mean you can literally get Captain Morgan everywhere and I mean everywhere. Well while sitting at a bar one night I finally just decided to go for the classic Captain and Cola expecting the worst. I honestly expected this to be like Bacardi which is my most hated rum of all. I was very surprised at how decent and enjoyable Captain Morgan is. Now it is a sweeter rum and not at all a sipper. A lot of the flavors do taste artificial and feel added in. The vanilla definitely feels like it was added to it and it's a very artificial tasting vanilla. This rum is kind of the soft drink of rums and it's not bad. It's a guilty pleasure kind of rum and one that you shouldn't feel bad mixing with a cola. All in all it's a decent rum and a very tasty rum. I mean are there better choices out there? definitely. Are there rums worse than the Captain? Yes. Captain is not the worst out there and for the price it's actually a really decent rum.

Ad46338776d6ff3a74739d915591aeaf.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Jeff from Canada with 6 ratings

I always keep a bottle of this in stock. I only drink my spirits either neat or with a bit of ice. This one gets a bit more ice than usual because the flavour improves once it is chilled. The aroma is nothing to write home about, much like smelling the cap of a vanilla bottle. However, the flavour and sting left on the tongue is something I enjoy.

3a5e72ca18ddd8479fbbcd1c300176d2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Monty from United States with 1 rating

Well only till 2 years or so ago, did I think nothing could compare to this bottle of intoxicating beauty. More on that later, Captain and me go way back, 27 years to be a bit more precise. I was 15 years of age, in Key West Fla when a friend and I skipped gym class and headed to his fathers bar. Where I was introduced to Captain Morgan, since then it is has been hands down my favorite, mixed with a nice ice tea or a fruity beverage you will be experincing drinking at its best! Now returning to my statement made early on in this commerence to my favorite drink, I have stumbled onto another very string contender, Ron Solera Bacardi from Mexico, I am weary to say, it is a struggle for me now sometimes to forgo my many life adventures with Captain Morgan with Ron Solera Bacardi from Mexico, not as trusted but still a blast to spend an evening or two with. in closing , I have said if you could put Christmas in a bottel, it would taste like Captain Morgan, with all due respect. from a 1% broke, to the other side with lots of options as to what , where and when. Currently residing in Hendersonville NC