Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Spiced rum

Captain Morgan Spiced Rum is made by combining yeasts, molasses, water and mash, which are then distilled in a continuous still. The rum is aged for up to 1 year followed by the addition of spices and flavors indigenous to the Caribbean Islands.

Captain Morgan Spiced is owned by Diageo and produced in Puerto Rico by the famous Destilieria Serralles, Inc. The company Captain Morgan is named after the 17th-century Welsh privateer of the Caribbean, Sir Henry Morgan was an admiral in the Royal British Navy who earned a knighthood in 1674.

Rate Captain Morgan Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


409 Captain Morgan Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicholas Miller from United States with 75 ratings

Captain Morgan really gave a lot of people their start and most pay nostalgia to it for that reason but as a rum its average at best. Usually priced around 16$ 750ml its price point is beaten by Cruzan Gold and Admiral Nelson's. Those 2 also trump C morgan in taste which is why I cant see this a staple all around rum anymore. Captain Morgan is a light brown rum which means its age isnt that high but who would think it was, after all this rum is production. Its like this, if there was a rum machine that spit out rum bacardi would given it 1 crank and C morgan (diego) gives it 2 cranks. Its a step up but still not that good. In the glass it smells like vanilla and alcohol and that it about it. Drinking it straight gives you a large blast of vanilla, sweetness from honey and a harshness of alcohol and a spiced tinge at the end. Not very complex in flavor so as a sipper you would missing out on a lot of life. In coke it gives you a rum in coke that is something you would expect from production rums. Vanilla extract hit and some sweetness with some alcohol lurking in the back and even then its fairly faint. My real problem with C morgan is for whatever reason after more than 1 rum and coke it starts tasting very bitter to the point were I switch to gin. Captain Morgan's biggest strength is you can find it anywhere, so even at wits end you still have some sort of okay rum at a bar.

Posted over 5 years ago by znowx from France with 22 ratings

Vanilla and caramel taste but also weird industrial chemical sugary taste that makes it good when lime and coke. I would look for Havana 7yo first though.

Posted over 5 years ago by RandyN from United States with 5 ratings

What can I say, I love drinking Captain Morgan with Coke.

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin from United States with 6 ratings

Definitely not for sipping neat or on the rocks. Mixing very well with coke. Too much alcohol smell and taste. Not enough flavor...

Posted over 5 years ago by DelectaBlee from United States with 59 ratings

Recently tasted this straight, at room temp and the word "fuel" came to mind. While there are better choices for mixers, it is good with root beer... or better yet, mix with root beer schanpps and pour over vanilla ice cream. Update: this is now my second choice with root beer. The dark version is better.

Posted over 5 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

At most local bars and restaurants, there will be a bottle of Bacardi Superior and Captain Morgan. It's pretty much the "standard" in the rum section. The entry level spiced rum for the category.

It doesn't taste bad, but it doesn't taste good either. If it wasn't on the shelf of every local bar, I would forget it existed. When I get really desperate, I order this with some cranberry and pineapple juice. You know, a drink to hold as I stand dreaming about finer spirits.

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven Bertsche from United States with 4 ratings

Ill always have a place for the captain since this is the 1st rum I ever tried but honestly its only good for mixing

Posted over 5 years ago by KING_MACK from United States with 5 ratings

light. kinda harsh. alcohol taste and after taste. if you put in freezer taste tons better.

Posted over 5 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

Mais l'associe parfait du cuba libre ! Ne pas en abuse, mal de crane quasi assuré !

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeroen from NL with 14 ratings

Rum waarmee het rum drinken begonnen is. Betaalbare rum, in de aanbieding slecht 10 EUR. Perfect om mee te mixen

Posted almost 6 years ago by Benjamin Slätis from Finland with 7 ratings

A honest and fast way to get drunk. Just add hot water. It works. As long as you're expectations don't exceed that then you won't be disappointed. For those resons I kind of like this rum.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leslie1710 from Germany with 13 ratings

Der starke Vanille Geschmack macht diesen Rum eher zu einem Gelegenheits-Rum. Manchmal hat man einfach Lust drauf und in Cocktails oder am besten mit Cola schmeckt er richtig gut.
Man hat den Geschmack aber schnell über und so greift man schnell wieder zu einem anderen Rum.
Wie gesagt, lecker, aber man muß wirklich Lust drauf haben.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Don Hanini from Norway with 13 ratings

Kjøpt på Flesland

Posted almost 6 years ago by m keating from United States with 31 ratings

Ok, so it is not a aged sipping rum, just mix it. It will stand up to ice and coke and add something in addition to a nice burn. Keep on hand for a party or when you want a drink, not a sip.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

Truly a classic good straight and even better with coke

Posted almost 6 years ago by Leon from Germany with 34 ratings

Cm spiced gold tastes like solid cheap rum with loads of genuine vanilla. Thats more than Oakheart has to offer. With Coke this flavored rum is quite enjoyable. The class of havana 3 anos or better is never reached.

Posted about 6 years ago by Michael Evans from United Kingdom with 81 ratings

Probably one of the cheapest and widespread rums around. Satisfactory mixed but definitely not a sipper.

Posted about 6 years ago by Pronk from Denmark with 15 ratings

Mixer rom

Posted about 6 years ago by jørgen from Denmark with 26 ratings

Tjaa

Posted about 6 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

Always have a bottle of original Capt. in the Cabinet. I like mixing with Coke and do not drink straight. I have mixed with Dr. Pepper and Ginger Ale and enjoyed the flavor. The spices are well mixed and not anyone (vanilla or cinnamon) is stand outish.

Posted about 6 years ago by ChrisBarker from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Better than the regular Captain Morgan, fine neat or mixed.

Posted about 6 years ago by Sam from United States with 8 ratings

Good with cola

Posted about 6 years ago by Jasm1 from France with 31 ratings

Un rum épicé, avec un gout sucré et agréable ... (glace citron vert et cola)

Posted about 6 years ago by forrest loftis from United States with 13 ratings

Can't say how much of the Captain I drank before I knew what good rum was. Cuba Libres , Rum Runners , etc. All great fun. Still a good mixer. Another 6.

Posted about 6 years ago by miro from Bulgaria with 9 ratings

spice