Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Spiced rum

Captain Morgan Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

Captain Morgan Spiced Rum is made by combining yeasts, molasses, water and mash, which are then distilled in a continuous still. The rum is aged for up to 1 year followed by the addition of spices and flavors indigenous to the Caribbean Islands.

Captain Morgan Spiced is owned by Diageo and produced in Puerto Rico by the famous Destilieria Serralles, Inc. The company Captain Morgan is named after the 17th-century Welsh privateer of the Caribbean, Sir Henry Morgan was an admiral in the Royal British Navy who earned a knighthood in 1674.

5.1/10 (422 ratings)
Easily consumable in a bind

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
17
20
39
69
110
95
42
13
5
12

Rate Captain Morgan Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


422 Captain Morgan Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Filip from Sweden with 82 ratings

I tasted it straight, but perhaps it would do better as a mixer.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Georgia603 from United Kingdom with 9 ratings

There is worse. Can tell that this is the rum beginners drink when they say they like rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by acschiller25 from United States with 5 ratings

This si my favorite generic bar rum. Not a sipping rum but good in a mixed drink

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Jamcan69 from Canada with 13 ratings

Strong vanilla taste...
OK mixer if you need a drink in your hand...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 331 ratings

I have refused to go back more than 30 years to the Captain, but I figured that I now needed to find out just how bad this stuff is compared to all of the other rums that I have rated. I picked up a very small bottle of this at a gas station.

It is surprisingly smooth and I have had a lot worse. However, it does not even taste like rum, but more like thin snow ball syrup. It only has 14 gpl of added sugar, which qualifies it as being semi-dry. I only taste vanilla and caramel, with no wood or tropical spices.

So for those of you who secretly hate rum and like this one, keep the Captain's distiller happy. I surely won't.

As an after note, this was not released to the USA until a few months after I graduated from college in December of 1983. So what did we do on weekends in college before The Captain? It was really quite simple back then. We would have a keg of beer every Friday and then play tackle football with no equipment and beat the living crap out of each other. Blame those tough professors for this insane behaviors that makes The Captain drunks seem pale in comparison!

The bottom line is that is this some awful shit that can only be tamed by about twice as much cola being added to it. And it is not even the worse rum that I have tried!!! Shudder in fear!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by scoot555 from United States with 21 ratings

"Ah yeah I'll have a Captain and Coke". It's the bar choice for the masses. Not the worst, but it just doesn't give you anything to write home about.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

Nose- instant cocoa! Not as in notes of cocoa hit you immediately, as in tear open a packet of Swiss Miss, it's almost identical.
Flavor- more of that Swiss Missy goodness, along with hints of cinnamon against a very generic "rum" backdrop.
Finish- Fruity. Again, not like mangos and pears fruity, like offensively pink tutti-fruity.
Basically, this stuff comes across as cheap and fake. But, as much as I hate hate HATE to admit it, this cheap fake stuff is pretty tasty...

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Captain and diet ginger ale: Vanilla Coke. Hey! This is pretty tasty. Maybe I should try an aged rum. Neat. Sorry Capitan you’re gonna have to walk the plank. It was real meeting you. Avast!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Daniel from United States with 5 ratings

Has a vanilla aroma. Kind of sweet, not super smooth, it has a little harsh aftertaste but not too bad. It’s definitely what I would consider a mixer, not a rum I would recommend neat. But to be fair it’s not terrible, it’s what I’d call mediocre. If you want to find something under $20 to mix in your coke or cocktail you could definitely do worse.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Berger from France with 28 ratings

je n'aime pas les rhum épicés, trop trafiqués, trop sucrés

Ffffff

Posted about 2 years ago by John from United Kingdom with 1 rating

This rum is ok with a mixer.
Not very good for sipping