Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.9/10 (159 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
38
78
25
7

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

159 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 64 ratings

This is my first foray into the rums of RL Seale...and oh my what a delight! I bought this bottle for $23 from Total Wines in Georgia in what I now believe to be the deal of the decade. This is an absolutely incredible rum for the price. The nose is wonderfully aromatic with heavy orange and banana notes along vanilla, toffee, and floral essences. The first taste to hit your tongue is bananas with leather and spice. Mid palate, the leather disappears and is replaced by a lovely combination of Banana, vanilla, orange, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The finish is mostly oak with a lovely undertone of caramel. It is definitely on the drier side with no viscosity at all, but it really is wonderful. I never expected a rum with 0 sugar added and a $23 price tag to be so wonderfully complex - and with almost all my favorite flavors to match. A 12 year rum with this flavor complexity and depth at $23 is simply stunning! The only criticism at all is that the aftertaste is so short - I want more of it. Regardless this is now going to become my default rum when I am in the mood for something drier. It is a crying shame that only Total Wine carries this brand. Oh well, at least I live close to one.

*Edit* I am just going to say it: this is the best $25 bottle of rum on the planet. 4 months in and I am bumping this one up to a 10 on the value alone. I have paid twice and much more for far inferiors rums. This is just a slight notch below Foursquare 2007 and I paid $80 for that (Foursquare 2007 is indeed better but not by a whole lot).

Given the price to quality ratio, this is absolutely a 10

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 10
Price: 10

Total: 9.5

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

OK, it taste like a Barbadian rum, but there's something unique. Ash? pickles? IDK, but whatever it is, it's good. Dry with cherries and the requisite Barbados bananas, also a nice long finish that dare I say, is better than the R L Seale. The more I come back to this the more I like it, especially paired with the XO.

sugar test results-0

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Marty from United States with 103 ratings

Thank you Richard Seale. Thank you Total Wine. Thank you for bringing great rums to the masses for an affordable price. This is my new number one and only $25! If you have a chance, get some. Just a bit deeper that the XO, which is also fantastic. I'm not about the sugar and additive controversy, but what a great way to show the industry how it's done without them. Another home run from Seale, Foursquare, Doorlys.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by David from Germany with 74 ratings

The screw-cap is a turn off and when I filled my first glass I regarded the scent more neutral than rounded but after taking my first sip I was in love. This is the essence of Barbados rum. A great everyday sipper. But just slightly rounder than the XO.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

The more rums I sample from R.L. Seale & Co. the more impressed I am with Richard Seale. There seems to be something almost mythical about the man in the rum world. I read so many positive things about him and how he produces rum. Nothing hidden. No semantics games on the labels. No additives. It is what it is.

Also the use of macaws, parrots, et al on the labels is a bonus for me. I have a very spoiled cockatiel named Cheech who would love to be on a Doorly's label.

But I digress...

The color is a rich amber and is very clear. No murkiness or spottiness at all. It demonstrates excellent legs in my snifter when swirled. Leaving droplets that eventually make their way to the bottom of the snifter. The aroma is excellent and inviting. Again I must confess that I cannot distinguish individual odors but will tell you the aroma is one that I like.

The flavor is outstanding. A slight sweetness on the outset with a little butteriness. The oak is present but mild. This is a smooth rum well deserving to be a sipper's rum. However versatile enough to work well as a mixer. And at $25 a bottle it is a great bargain for the high quality rum. I detect some hints of vanilla and other subtle flavors. Rather complex but not overwhelming. The finish is a combination of the molasses from the cane and the tannins from the oak. A rather interesting balance. And a very smooth rum.

Doorly's continues to be a brand worth seeking. No one locally sells it. I had to go to Jacksonville to discover it. Well worth it. Definitely will pick up a spare bottle when I am in that neck of the woods. I recommend this rum highly.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by martin jeppesen from Denmark with 245 ratings

This rum incorporates everything I love about the Barbadian style. Elegant, characteristic, "pure" and well priced. The nose is lovely with a bit of sweet coconut, vanilla, oak, and a hint of nougat and orange. In the mouth I pick up a lighter, juicy character consisting of oranges, banana, vanilla and light oak. It's very "fresh" and clean with a subtle and natural sweetness. The finish is warming, tingling and a little spicy, but not very lengthy. Considering the price though, it's just beautiful rum. Once again, hats of to mr. seale.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 311 ratings

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Barbados
Aroma: Opět ten kokosový styl. Oproti předchozímu Relicariu je vůně méně sladká. Kůže, exotické dřevo, propolis, strouhaný kokos, cedr, hřebíček. Voní intenzivně. (88 b)
Chuť: V chuti hodně suchý, až svíravě vysychající, hodně dřeva, silná hořká čokoláda, dubové taniny. V dochuti trochu větrový. (84 b)
Body: 86
Shrnutí: Ochutnal jsem již několikrát, mám doma lahev. Kdo hledá méně sladkosti, je na dobré adrese.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Nathan French from United States with 20 ratings

Surprisingly delicate and light on its feet for 12 years of age. Fun to taste, this is a cognac lover's rum, with floral aromas and flavors. Eminently sippable, and fun to ponder over. Punches well above its price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Earl Elliott from Canada with 201 ratings

Sugar: 0-5 GPL. There is no added sugar in most if not all Bajan rums and any sweetness occurs naturally. This one is no exception. This is a very good Bajan rum and I tasted butterscotch, oak, a trace of chocolate and fruits, perhaps coconut and banana. The strongest taste was the butterscotch and oak. Overall it's very dry and the tastes fade with the burn of a pure rum. I added a drop of water to open it up and take the edge off the burn. Mix or sip depending on your tastes.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by cliffe432 from United States with 1 rating

I picked up a bottle of this on the recommendation of a co-worker. Coming from bourbon country, I really enjoy the of Doorly’s 12, with the barrels and smoke coming though just enough in a balanced profile to make me think this is the missing link between rum and bourbon.

Small 403c5f11 2f48 4dea 8823 9856dfa4a809

Posted 2 years ago by Stefan Persson (PREMIUM) from Sweden with 196 ratings

Another well tasting rum from Barbados. I really like the rum from R.L. Seale’s.
Picture: My Bajan shelf.