Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.8/10(167 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
41
82
27
6

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

167 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La verdad no esperaba mucho de este ron, sin embargo es un gran ron pensando en la relación de precio va sabor. Tiene la escénica de Barbados, un no tan dulce, ron seco con notas a caramelo.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by butWHYistherumgone from United States with 17 ratings

Bought this since it was the only aged rum they had left. Thought I was overpaying but I was pleasantly surprised. Unfortunate that it's all gone now.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by abrarey from United States with 34 ratings

I think they are doing harm themselves with this one.
Same flavor you get from premium Foursquare at a fraction of price. Even though i will keep buying the other stuff.
Excellent for its price.

Small 20210117 180423

Posted 1 month ago by Majrad from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

Also a rum for those who like the taste of smoke and wood. Nice aftertaste too. I found the taste sharper than Mount Gay XO, which is why I tend to add a small dash of water. This Doorly's is way cheaper so perhaps a better value for money compared to MG XO. A "7" because I gave an "8" to MG.

Small 20210227 173716

Posted 4 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 83 ratings

Der Doorly's 12 years ist ein Rum der Foursquare Distelerie von Barbados und ein Blend aus Pot und Column Stil Rums. Er durfte 12 Jahre in Weißeichefässern lagern und wird mit 43% Trink Stärke abgefüllt. Natürlich ohne Zusatzstoffe. Die Flasche kommt im Foursquare typischen Stil aber mit etwas verspieltem Karibik Flair. Alles top soweit.

Ich habe den Rum mit den beiden Konkurrenten von Barbados in der Preisklasse verglichen. In der Nase ist der Doorly's schon irgendwie typisch Barbados. Leicht und frisch hat er Aromen von Karamel, Eiche und Frucht. Alkohol ist nicht wahrnehmbar. Alles sehr ausgewogen und dem Mount Gay sehr ähnlich. Der Cockspur ist hingegen schwerer und hat mehr würzige Noten. Am Gaumen ist der Doorly's erstmal leicht und zeigt etwas Frucht wie Banane und tropisches Obst. Dann folgt Vanille, Röstaromen und Karamel. Im Abgang wird der Rum schwerer mit viel Würze wie Holz, Pfeffer und auch etwas Bitterstoffen. Der Nachklang ist lang genug uns macht Lust auf mehr.

Im Vergleich ist der Mount Gay XO etwas ausgewogener und mit den Tabak Noten minimal Komplexer. Aber meine Flasche hatte auch schon Zeit zu atmen. Der Cockspur fällt für mich klar ab, da er weniger ausgewogen und eindimensionaler ist, mit viel Würze wie z.b. Pfeffer. Der Doorly's ist noch etwas kantiger als der Mount Gay XO und die Zeit wird zeigen ob er Rund wird. Dann ist er für ca. 40Euro ein absolutes Preis Leistungs- Monster. Ich bin mir da eigentlich jetzt schon sicher. Insgesamt bin ich sehr zufrieden. Absolut top und lecker. Barbados bleibt ein Mekka für gute Rums.

The Doorly's 12 years is a rum of the Foursquare Distillery of Barbados and a blend of pot and column style rums. He was allowed to store in white oak barrels for 12 years and is bottled with 43% drinking Strength. Of course, without additives. The bottle comes in the Foursquare typical style but with some playful Caribbean flair. Everything top so far.

I compared the rum with the two competitors of Barbados in this price range. In the nose, the Doorly's is already somehow typical Barbados. Light and fresh, it has aromas of caramel, oak and fruit. Alcohol is not perceptible. All very balanced and very similar to Mount Gay. The Cockspur, on the other hand, is heavier and has more spicy notes. On the palate, the Doorly's is light for the first time and shows some tropical fruit like banana. Then comes vanilla, roasted aromas and caramel. In the finish, the rum becomes heavier with a lot of spice such as wood, pepper and also some bitter substances. The ending is long enough and we want more.

In comparison, the Mount Gay XO is slightly more balanced and minimally more complex with the tobacco notes. But my bottle already had time to breathe. The Cockspur XO clearly falls off for me, as it is less balanced and one-dimensional, with a lot of spice notes such as pepper. The Doorly's is more edgy than the Mount Gay XO and time will tell if it will get round. Then it is an absolute price-performance monster for about 40Euro. I'm already sure about that. Overall, I am very satisfied. Absolutely top and delicious. Barbados remains a mecca for good rums.

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 5 months ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Sweet aroma of brown sugar and canded fruit.
Taste is smooth rich and oaky with hints of chocolate and rasins. Pleasant natural sweetness and long finish.
This is a great rum

Small screenshot 20201222 212119 facebook

Posted 5 months ago by Decky from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

It's not bad but for the price I'd much rather have the El Dorado 12 Year and a good few Pounds in my pocket.

Not the easiest to sip. Has a caramel flavour but it doesn't come through much. Similar to an American whiskey like Jack Daniels.

Small 20201229 185402

Posted 5 months ago by Christian from Luxembourg with 24 ratings

This is what a good rum is all about. It's so nice in the nose after a few minutes of breathing. Nice notes of caramel, a bit of chocolate. On the tongue the alcohol is present but not disturbing. Great pleasure. Don't forget to smell the empty glass...a delight

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by PineWood from Belgium with 19 ratings

Golden color. Nose of blonde sugar, vanilla and caramel. Strong taste (I had the version bottled at 43%), but not agressive. Completely dry but with a pleasant note of butterscotch throughout the taste. Fantastic value.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by Willem from Netherlands with 17 ratings

wow, not what I expected, but very pleasant surprise for what I paid for.

Small 0ba1f782 a36e 48ea 98c9 7e562942bb41

Posted 7 months ago by filipec from Czech Republic with 112 ratings

taste - 7.5/10
smell - 7.5/10
sweetness - 6.5/10
price/value rating - 7.5/10