Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.9/10 (161 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
40
77
26
7

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

161 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smoother than the Doorly's XO and significantly different - the younger Doorly's has more of a classic caramel/oak flavor while the elder has a deeper oaky flavor with hints of dried fruit. Both are delicious natural rums and some may call them "hot" compared to other sugary rums. The barrel aging really imparts a lot of flavor over the years. You get a lot of oaky bourbony flavor in this but it's not quite as sweet as bourbon itself. Update: I finally got a chance to try this side by side with MGXO which is lighter tasting, not as bold/sharp as the Doorly's 12 as well as being fruitier with more sweetness and vanilla. Doorly's 12 in comparison has more of a whiskey flavor and the age gives it a more funky wood/chocolate/dried fruit character. Update: loving this all over again, recently had real mccoy 12 year which helped me to taste the bourbon flavor in this rum even more and further notice the fruitiness not found in whiskeys. Time helps it so much as well. Can't beat it for the price, drink it neat!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 61 ratings

This is decent tasting for the price. Not very sweet but not super dry either, goes down well, its drinkable, the only negative for me is in the finish as you can taste a little of that rubbing alcohol note, Doorlys XO is better in my opinion.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

La verdad no esperaba mucho de este ron, sin embargo es un gran ron pensando en la relación de precio va sabor. Tiene la escénica de Barbados, un no tan dulce, ron seco con notas a caramelo.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

Nice bottle and beautiful amber color, this rum. This rum has very pastry aromas with almonds, vanilla and spices. It is very soft but the finish is not very long. Excellent value for money but it's not me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

Very pure Barbadian rum. No added sugar or anything artificial. Very subtle aromas. Dry and smooth, a little bit of vanilla and oak. Also very distinct notes from the Sherry/Madeira casks. Very good and a fantastic value for the money.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Chet from United States with 193 ratings

After drinking the Doorly's XO I thought I would give it a shot. The XO I would consider a budget rum, but hey the stuff is pretty dang tasty and a good bang for the money spent! The 12 year is a lot better and is notably smoother with lots of good tastes to slap upside your tongue. Slight burn at the finish and has a multitude of flavors as you sit back and say..... "Very Nice". Good price for a very good rum.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

Seale's Real McCoy 12yo and Seale 10yo are better rums, in my opinion, because the flavors sing in delicious harmony. This one, on the other hand, doesn't quite pull it all together. The flavors lack balance, and the result is less rich, less complex. Acetone in the finish is disappointing. It's a very good rum, to be sure, but that's the point: Mr. Seale has spoiled me so much that I expect a masterpiece from him every time I try a bottle from his magnificent ouevre. The price of genius, I suppose...

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by Majrad from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

Also a rum for those who like the taste of smoke and wood. Nice aftertaste too. I found the taste sharper than Mount Gay XO, which is why I tend to add a small dash of water. This Doorly's is way cheaper so better value for money compared to MG XO. A "7" because I gave an "8" to MG.

Small 20201223 122508

Posted 2 months ago by Mr. Rumantic from Germany with 69 ratings

Der Doorly's 12 years ist ein Rum der Foursquare Distelerie von Barbados und ein Blend aus Pot und Column Stil Rums. Er durfte 12 Jahre in Weißeichefässern lagern und wird mit 43% Trink Stärke abgefüllt. Natürlich ohne Zusatzstoffe. Die Flasche kommt im Foursquare typischen Stil aber mit etwas verspieltem Karibik Flair. Alles top soweit.

Ich habe den Rum mit den beiden Konkurrenten von Barbados in der Preisklasse verglichen. In der Nase ist der Doorly's schon irgendwie typisch Barbados. Leicht und frisch hat er Aromen von Karamel, Eiche und Frucht. Alkohol ist nicht wahrnehmbar. Alles sehr ausgewogen und dem Mount Gay sehr ähnlich. Der Cockspur ist hingegen schwerer und hat mehr würzige Noten. Am Gaumen ist der Doorly's erstmal leicht und zeigt etwas Frucht wie Banane und tropisches Obst. Dann folgt Vanille, Röstaromen und Karamel. Im Abgang wird der Rum schwerer mit viel Würze wie Holz, Pfeffer und auch etwas Bitterstoffen. Der Nachklang ist lang genug uns macht Lust auf mehr.

Im Vergleich ist der Mount Gay XO etwas ausgewogener und mit den Tabak Noten minimal Komplexer. Aber meine Flasche hatte auch schon Zeit zu atmen. Der Cockspur fällt für mich klar ab, da er weniger ausgewogen und eindimensionaler ist, mit viel Würze wie z.b. Pfeffer. Der Doorly's ist noch etwas kantiger als der Mount Gay XO und die Zeit wird zeigen ob er Rund wird. Dann ist er für ca. 40Euro ein absolutes Preis Leistungs- Monster. Ich bin mir da eigentlich jetzt schon sicher. Insgesamt bin ich sehr zufrieden. Absolut top und lecker. Barbados bleibt ein Mekka für gute Rums.

The Doorly's 12 years is a rum of the Foursquare Distillery of Barbados and a blend of pot and column style rums. He was allowed to store in white oak barrels for 12 years and is bottled with 43% drinking Strength. Of course, without additives. The bottle comes in the Foursquare typical style but with some playful Caribbean flair. Everything top so far.

I compared the rum with the two competitors of Barbados in this price range. In the nose, the Doorly's is already somehow typical Barbados. Light and fresh, it has aromas of caramel, oak and fruit. Alcohol is not perceptible. All very balanced and very similar to Mount Gay. The Cockspur, on the other hand, is heavier and has more spicy notes. On the palate, the Doorly's is light for the first time and shows some tropical fruit like banana. Then comes vanilla, roasted aromas and caramel. In the finish, the rum becomes heavier with a lot of spice such as wood, pepper and also some bitter substances. The ending is long enough and we want more.

In comparison, the Mount Gay XO is slightly more balanced and minimally more complex with the tobacco notes. But my bottle already had time to breathe. The Cockspur XO clearly falls off for me, as it is less balanced and one-dimensional, with a lot of spice notes such as pepper. The Doorly's is more edgy than the Mount Gay XO and time will tell if it will get round. Then it is an absolute price-performance monster for about 40Euro. I'm already sure about that. Overall, I am very satisfied. Absolutely top and delicious. Barbados remains a mecca for good rums.

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 3 months ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Sweet aroma of brown sugar and canded fruit.
Taste is smooth rich and oaky with hints of chocolate and rasins. Pleasant natural sweetness and long finish.
This is a great rum

Small screenshot 20201222 212119 facebook

Posted 3 months ago by Decky from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

It's not bad but for the price I'd much rather have the El Dorado 12 Year and a good few Pounds in my pocket.

Not the easiest to sip. Has a caramel flavour but it doesn't come through much. Similar to an American whiskey like Jack Daniels.