Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.8/10
172 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
42
86
27
6

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

172 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Not bad at all and relatively smooth but lacks a certain depth...I couldn't discern any stand out flavour either but that could be me...

Small pirate

Posted 6 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 19 ratings

This disappeared quite quickly. Both my wife and I liked it very much. It has character and a very fine aroma and it was great neat. A very good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 73 ratings

This is my first foray into the rums of RL Seale...and oh my what a delight! I bought this bottle for $23 from Total Wines in Georgia in what I now believe to be the deal of the decade. This is an absolutely incredible rum for the price. The nose is wonderfully aromatic with heavy orange and banana notes along vanilla, toffee, and floral essences. The first taste to hit your tongue is bananas with leather and spice. Mid palate, the leather disappears and is replaced by a lovely combination of Banana, vanilla, orange, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The finish is mostly oak with a lovely undertone of caramel. It is definitely on the drier side with no viscosity at all, but it really is wonderful. I never expected a rum with 0 sugar added and a $23 price tag to be so wonderfully complex - and with almost all my favorite flavors to match. A 12 year rum with this flavor complexity and depth at $23 is simply stunning! The only criticism at all is that the aftertaste is so short - I want more of it. Regardless this is now going to become my default rum when I am in the mood for something drier. It is a crying shame that only Total Wine carries this brand. Oh well, at least I live close to one.

*Edit* I am just going to say it: this is the best $25 bottle of rum on the planet. 4 months in and I am bumping this one up to a 10 on the value alone. I have paid twice and much more for far inferiors rums. This is just a slight notch below Foursquare 2007 and I paid $80 for that (Foursquare 2007 is indeed better but not by a whole lot).

Given the price to quality ratio, this is absolutely a 10

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 10
Price: 10

Total: 9.5

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

As a huge fan of Foursquare, I had to try the Doorly's line and thought i would start with their aged sipper. I am not disappointed. The taste is drier than the sweet nose would imply. Lots of rich flavors combine in as smooth a sipper as they come.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

Rich, spicy, fullish bodied. The 8yo I thought was great, maybe a touch too oaky from the American Oak (but I like that) but the 12yo is a whole different level. Much more concentrated and complex, and while there are plenty of oak notes, it doesn't make such a prominent appearance. Dry, long and luscious.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by laurent from France with 50 ratings

Plutôt doux et rond (pour un rhum non sucré, je précise!), j'y retrouve des caractéristiques typiques de la Barbade et de la distillerie Foursquare sans être non plus un copié-collé du RL Seale's 10 (que je préfère mais c'est plus une question de goûts personnels). Le prix est plus que correct pour un rhum de 12 ans. Bref un bon rhum, parfait pour découvrir ce qu'est un vrai rhum non trafiqué sans se ruiner.

Quite on the sweet side (for a non-sugared rum I mean). I found it typical from both Barbados and the Foursquare distillery. There are some features which remind me the RL Seales's 10y (which I still prefer - just personnal taste) but it is not just a clone, this one has his own caracter. The price is very attractive for a 12y rum, it is perfect if you want to discover "true, not sugar-wasted" rums.

Small img 0953

Posted 10 days ago by MerMama from United States with 30 ratings

I finally made it to a Total Wine to track this down (8 hour drive for me). I am pleased with the quality of this rum for the price. I find myself gravitating to Bajan rum and this fits the bill. I really need to move to Barbados.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Rsvec from Austria with 80 ratings

Nice and not to complicated. Best consumed under palm trees in the early afternoon

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Carbon from Denmark with 23 ratings

A little slow to get out of the glass on the nose. But once you get a taste it's absolutely amazing. Toffee, vanilla, light coconut, some oak and a nice buttery texture. As my introduction to Barbadan rum, I must call this love at first taste. Can't wait to get a hold of the more powerful Foursquare bottlings...

Small screenshot 2020 09 05 at 09.58.03

Posted 3 months ago by Boyse69 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Working my way though the Doorly's Brand So Far been very impressed on what's on offer !

Great Value products out class many for their price points In the UK please don't change £34
Blender is doing a fine job not to sweet A very good RUM

I mainly drink Rum neat or over ice
Bourbon and Madeira Cask 90 /10 43% ABV. I would choose this any day of the week !
I own a bottle and only rate what I have bought

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 3 months ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 42 ratings

Only $25, not very complexed but very tasty, smooth, the taste profile reminds on Appleton 12 rare blend without the spiciness. Typical rum flavors(molasses, citrus fruit, vanilla). The rum is the best bargain rum ive ever encountered in the U.S. Definitely add this to your pandemic rum survival kit.