Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.8/10 (160 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
39
77
26
7

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

160 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smoother than the Doorly's XO and significantly different - the younger Doorly's has more of a classic caramel/oak flavor while the elder has a deeper oaky flavor with hints of dried fruit. Both are delicious natural rums and some may call them "hot" compared to other sugary rums. The barrel aging really imparts a lot of flavor over the years. You get a lot of oaky bourbony flavor in this but it's not quite as sweet as bourbon itself. Update: I finally got a chance to try this side by side with MGXO which is lighter tasting, not as bold/sharp as the Doorly's 12 as well as being fruitier with more sweetness and vanilla. Doorly's 12 in comparison has more of a whiskey flavor and the age gives it a more funky wood/chocolate/dried fruit character. Update: loving this all over again, recently had real mccoy 12 year which helped me to taste the bourbon flavor in this rum even more and further notice the fruitiness not found in whiskeys. Time helps it so much as well. Can't beat it for the price, drink it neat!

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by svarszegi from Hungary with 13 ratings

This disappeared quite quickly. Both my wife and I liked it very much. It has character and a very fine aroma and it was great neat. A very good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Mujuru from United States with 64 ratings

This is my first foray into the rums of RL Seale...and oh my what a delight! I bought this bottle for $23 from Total Wines in Georgia in what I now believe to be the deal of the decade. This is an absolutely incredible rum for the price. The nose is wonderfully aromatic with heavy orange and banana notes along vanilla, toffee, and floral essences. The first taste to hit your tongue is bananas with leather and spice. Mid palate, the leather disappears and is replaced by a lovely combination of Banana, vanilla, orange, cinnamon, and nutmeg. The finish is mostly oak with a lovely undertone of caramel. It is definitely on the drier side with no viscosity at all, but it really is wonderful. I never expected a rum with 0 sugar added and a $23 price tag to be so wonderfully complex - and with almost all my favorite flavors to match. A 12 year rum with this flavor complexity and depth at $23 is simply stunning! The only criticism at all is that the aftertaste is so short - I want more of it. Regardless this is now going to become my default rum when I am in the mood for something drier. It is a crying shame that only Total Wine carries this brand. Oh well, at least I live close to one.

*Edit* I am just going to say it: this is the best $25 bottle of rum on the planet. 4 months in and I am bumping this one up to a 10 on the value alone. I have paid twice and much more for far inferiors rums. This is just a slight notch below Foursquare 2007 and I paid $80 for that (Foursquare 2007 is indeed better but not by a whole lot).

Given the price to quality ratio, this is absolutely a 10

Nose: 10
Palate: 10
Aftertaste: 8
Smoothness: 9
Versatility: 10
Price: 10

Total: 9.5

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 87 ratings

As a huge fan of Foursquare, I had to try the Doorly's line and thought i would start with their aged sipper. I am not disappointed. The taste is drier than the sweet nose would imply. Lots of rich flavors combine in as smooth a sipper as they come.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 135 ratings

Rich, spicy, fullish bodied. The 8yo I thought was great, maybe a touch too oaky from the American Oak (but I like that) but the 12yo is a whole different level. Much more concentrated and complex, and while there are plenty of oak notes, it doesn't make such a prominent appearance. Dry, long and luscious.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Plutôt doux et rond (pour un rhum non sucré, je précise!), j'y retrouve des caractéristiques typiques de la Barbade et de la distillerie Foursquare sans être non plus un copié-collé du RL Seale's 10 (que je préfère mais c'est plus une question de goûts personnels). Le prix est plus que correct pour un rhum de 12 ans. Bref un bon rhum, parfait pour découvrir ce qu'est un vrai rhum non trafiqué sans se ruiner.

Quite on the sweet side (for a non-sugared rum I mean). I found it typical from both Barbados and the Foursquare distillery. There are some features which remind me the RL Seales's 10y (which I still prefer - just personnal taste) but it is not just a clone, this one has his own caracter. The price is very attractive for a 12y rum, it is perfect if you want to discover "true, not sugar-wasted" rums.

Small screenshot 2020 09 05 at 09.58.03

Posted 11 days ago by Boyse69 from United Kingdom with 27 ratings

Working my way though the Doorly's Brand So Far been very impressed on what's on offer !

Great Value products out class many for their price points In the UK please don't change £34
Blender is doing a fine job not to sweet A very good RUM

I mainly drink Rum neat or over ice
Bourbon and Madeira Cask 90 /10 43% ABV. I would choose this any day of the week !
I own a bottle and only rate what I have bought

Small 3136f450 fba0 49d6 b236 49db4cd74120

Posted 12 days ago by RumGuy1 from United States with 42 ratings

Only $25, not very complexed but very tasty, smooth, the taste profile reminds on Appleton 12 rare blend without the spiciness. Typical rum flavors(molasses, citrus fruit, vanilla). The rum is the best bargain rum ive ever encountered in the U.S. Definitely add this to your pandemic rum survival kit.

Ffffff

Posted 21 days ago by Greengator25 from United States with 10 ratings

Again I read a lot of reviews so when I saw it on sale at Total Wine I pounced. I like sweeter rums, this is drier but was very smooth with little burn. It wouldn’t be my go to, but if you like drier rums and don’t want to spend the extra $ for Brugal 1888, this one is for you.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by Ponge from Belgium with 7 ratings

Very enjoyable rum. Will have to try the other Doorly rums.

Small img 20201109 183045

Posted 1 month ago by Michal Ernest from Czech Republic with 48 ratings

Za mne velice podobný XO, který je po novu lahvován na 43%, dříve 40%. Chutě se vyrovnaly. Přednost dám asi spíše XO 40%, který je podle mne jemnější.