Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.8/10 (134 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
8
37
63
19
5

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


134 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9354c42e64180c5b4f8d1b44706ebe13.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by Halsey from United States with 25 ratings

Nice, slightly aromatic fairly light sipping rum.

Light slightly yellow color, pretty, delicate nose...very delicate. Well balanced mouth feel, with a touch of sweetness and evolves into banana and spice. Long rich finish. This is a nice well made rum, which I could happily drink quite a lot of.

7d48692319f089dc51f03ae08b6e9905.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 1 year ago by cliffe432 from United States with 1 rating

I picked up a bottle of this on the recommendation of a co-worker. Coming from bourbon country, I really enjoy the of Doorly’s 12, with the barrels and smoke coming though just enough in a balanced profile to make me think this is the missing link between rum and bourbon.

Eb74eb2cff748686301719db3438657b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

As I expected. Slight sweetness in smell. There is lot of body and very smooth to drink. In this price range, not many better rums.

37888dc4222fcd1104aab5e202358377.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Bob from United States with 72 ratings

Smoother than the Doorly's XO and significantly different - the younger Doorly's has more of a classic caramel/oak flavor while the elder has a deeper oaky flavor with hints of dried fruit. Both are delicious natural rums and some may call them "hot" compared to other sugary rums. The barrel aging really imparts a lot of flavor over the years. You get a lot of oaky bourbony flavor in this but it's not quite as sweet as bourbon itself. Update: I finally got a chance to try this side by side with MGXO which is lighter tasting, not as bold/sharp as the Doorly's 12 as well as being fruitier with more sweetness and vanilla. Doorly's 12 in comparison has more of a whiskey flavor and the age gives it a more funky wood/chocolate/dried fruit character. Update: loving this all over again, recently had real mccoy 12 year which helped me to taste the bourbon flavor in this rum even more and further notice the fruitiness not found in whiskeys. Time helps it so much as well. Can't beat it for the price, drink it neat!

748970cca3e0174b64c14b78eadf96bb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum.
i smell the great wide world of rum! grpe, raisins and chocolate! some spice.
i taste dark chocolate, some wine, fruity raisins and toffee with peppery notes.
10/10 - drop 5 points if diplomatico is a good rum for you!
medium body, full of the taste of the aging in olorosso casks. tons of fruit and choclate made this to a very special and tasty after dinner rum! wonderful!

great rum, low costs!

019476c071fd9a9e14faec5003bbcec3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Alan from United States with 83 ratings

As a huge fan of Foursquare, I had to try the Doorly's line and thought i would start with their aged sipper. I am not disappointed. The taste is drier than the sweet nose would imply. Lots of rich flavors combine in as smooth a sipper as they come.

F7d3175f31cd02224b356ba0a37894b9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 4 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 126 ratings

Rich, spicy, fullish bodied. The 8yo I thought was great, maybe a touch too oaky from the American Oak (but I like that) but the 12yo is a whole different level. Much more concentrated and complex, and while there are plenty of oak notes, it doesn't make such a prominent appearance. Dry, long and luscious.

A02aa8722f5b9774a93ce2ba13de0e10.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by laurent from France with 42 ratings

Plutôt doux et rond (pour un rhum non sucré, je précise!), j'y retrouve des caractéristiques typiques de la Barbade et de la distillerie Foursquare sans être non plus un copié-collé du RL Seale's 10 (que je préfère mais c'est plus une question de goûts personnels). Le prix est plus que correct pour un rhum de 12 ans. Bref un bon rhum, parfait pour découvrir ce qu'est un vrai rhum non trafiqué sans se ruiner.

Quite on the sweet side (for a non-sugared rum I mean). I found it typical from both Barbados and the Foursquare distillery. There are some features which remind me the RL Seales's 10y (which I still prefer - just personnal taste) but it is not just a clone, this one has his own caracter. The price is very attractive for a 12y rum, it is perfect if you want to discover "true, not sugar-wasted" rums.

Ead91749c5340c7d8100bb3579f3d79a.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by RumRunner from United States with 37 ratings

I considered giving this an 8, but looking at others that I’ve given an 8, it falls a little short. It’s a very smooth rum with a good balance. It’s dry but not too dry. Unless you like VERY sweet rums, you’ll like this one. I couldn’t give it an 8 because it lacks character and depth. Others seem to disagree, so perhaps I need to try another bottle. The only distinctive flavor or smell is the oak, which is pleasant and not overpowering. I could drink Doorly’s 12 year-old as a sipper but it just isn’t distinctive enough to love. But, if I had $25 and needed an excellent bottle of rum, I think this just beat out Bacardi 8 as my first choice.

9924f88b00eb14d3783e76e30aff5556.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Soweek from Czech Republic with 71 ratings

Maybe it is too soon to review, but this was no special experience for me. Next week I won't even remeber that I had it.

716132e430cd9eef9be718b1aad28fb1.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

This is decent tasting for the price. Not very sweet but not super dry either, goes down well, its drinkable, the only negative for me is in the finish as you can taste a little of that rubbing alcohol note, Doorlys XO is better in my opinion.