Posting your rating...
Doorly's 12-Year rum

Doorly's 12-Year

Barbados | Aged

7.9/10
170 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
9
41
85
27
6

Rate Doorly's 12-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

170 Doorly's 12-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael from Ireland with 8 ratings

Not bad at all and relatively smooth but lacks a certain depth...I couldn't discern any stand out flavour either but that could be me...

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Bob from United States with 74 ratings

Smoother than the Doorly's XO and significantly different - the younger Doorly's has more of a classic caramel/oak flavor while the elder has a deeper oaky flavor with hints of dried fruit. Both are delicious natural rums and some may call them "hot" compared to other sugary rums. The barrel aging really imparts a lot of flavor over the years. You get a lot of oaky bourbony flavor in this but it's not quite as sweet as bourbon itself. Update: I finally got a chance to try this side by side with MGXO which is lighter tasting, not as bold/sharp as the Doorly's 12 as well as being fruitier with more sweetness and vanilla. Doorly's 12 in comparison has more of a whiskey flavor and the age gives it a more funky wood/chocolate/dried fruit character. Update: loving this all over again, recently had real mccoy 12 year which helped me to taste the bourbon flavor in this rum even more and further notice the fruitiness not found in whiskeys. Time helps it so much as well. Can't beat it for the price, drink it neat!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 470 ratings

For the low price of only $24.99 (Total Wine & More), I didn't expect this rum to live up to it's rating (currently an 8.1). But it does.

Smells and tastes of caramel, a peppery spice, bourbon, and oak. I rate it a solid "8", which for the price is a bargain!

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Steve from United Kingdom with 18 ratings

As I expected. Slight sweetness in smell. There is lot of body and very smooth to drink. In this price range, not many better rums.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Rum-Schnacker from Germany with 131 ratings

molasses. dry rum.
i smell the great wide world of rum! grpe, raisins and chocolate! some spice.
i taste dark chocolate, some wine, fruity raisins and toffee with peppery notes.
10/10 - drop 5 points if diplomatico is a good rum for you!
medium body, full of the taste of the aging in olorosso casks. tons of fruit and choclate made this to a very special and tasty after dinner rum! wonderful!

great rum, low costs!

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by jmoak from United States with 4 ratings

Sipping on Doorlys 12 for the first time and it is a very nice rum. Has a sweeter taste and easy sipper. Will definitely be adding this to the rotation. Great rum for the price of around $25

Small 621e696e 569f 4f12 a55a b39bbb717650

Posted 4 months ago by geroji from United States with 26 ratings

Vanilla and oak-like notes make the price point unbelievable. As a sipper, this is fantastic; a favourite bottle of mine.

Small chalino sanchez pistola

Posted 4 months ago by choligo from United States with 6 ratings

I am currently on my rum journey coming from both tequila and whisk(e)y, and this has got to be my favorite so far! 12 years and the price is an absolute BARGAIN. It is very smooth and tasty! It's my first natural rum as well, no sugar and no sweeteners. Very trusted brand and I'm very satisfied to have tried this. I love it. I am looking forward to trying more high end rums.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Russ from United States with 98 ratings

The fact that Foursquare can make a rum this good but is also affordable is amazing. On the nose you definitely get the oaky notes but it gives way to dried fruit, vanilla and a little cinnamon. The first taste goes down way too easy even though there's a lot of oak and smokiness coming through. A very nice aftertaste that stays with you for a long time.

For this price this one will definitely become part of my regular rotation for evening drams.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by BingChen from Taiwan, Republic Of China with 24 ratings

Toasted toffee , banana and some salinity. the aroma is quite good for a 12 yr rum. Not sweet

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by blowpez from United States with 21 ratings

Blown away by this. I’m usually a fan of the sweeter sippers but this is an exception. Taste is brown sugar dominant not nearly as sweet as the likes of diplomatico or plantation XO. Close to no burn, this is easy to drink. Will definitely keep around.