Posting your rating...
Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino rum

Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino

Guatemala | Aged

8.8/10(39 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
10
15
13

Rate Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

39 Ron Zacapa Centenario XO Premio Platino ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Greg Jackson from United States with 6 ratings

I’m glad I upsold myself from zacapa 23 to zacapa xo! The extra $5/shot was well worth it.
Amazing intense nose of sugar cane and vanilla. On the palate, molasses and vanilla, maybe even a bit of orange peel. No burn whatsoever, amazingly smooth. I need to add a bottle to my inquiry cabinet!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

Very smooth, rich, very little burn. The cognac casks it was finalized in gives it a unique palette for a rum. Delicious. Newer bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Achim Emmenegger from Germany with 69 ratings

Nach dem black Label,30 Anniversaro und white Label einer der besten alten Zacapas.
Man merkt deutlich die 2 Jahre längere Reife gegenüber dem 23 Anos oder auch white Label,er ist dadurch noch etwas ausdrucksstärker und hat einen sehr sehr schönen langen Abgang. Die Aufmachung von Flasche und Karton auch Top wenn da nicht der Preis wäre. 250-300 Euro muss man mindestens in 2016 dafür hinlegen ,trotzdem habe ich mir einige Flaschen zur Seite gelegt,dass ist ein Rum den es so wohl nicht mehr geben wird.Daher trotzdem 10 Punkte

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Hornet from Germany with 18 ratings

This is a very good zipper. Mild sweetness. Beats a Cognac hands down for me.

Ffffff

Posted 11 days ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 291 ratings

Now, I have the very expensive Zacapa Platino in the glas. I'm excited to taste this stuff.

The nose is a little bit shy, less sweet than the current XO.
I can smell mandarine, vanilla and herbs, because there is less caramel. It reminds me of Ron Botran 1983. Then I got some melon, with sweet notes of sugar syrup and the typical herbs.
This nose is less interesting for me, the new XO is more complex, more tasty. The Platino goes more in the direction of Ron Botran.

The taste starts with mandarine and vanilla, turns sweet with aromas of sugar syrup like Monin.
Then I get herbs and wood at the end of initial taste. This is a huge difference to the current XO.
The middle has more of mandarine, melon, vanilla and sugar syrup with herbs and some wood at the end. The new XO is more heavy with stronger aromas of wood. I would say this is a Botran if this would be a blind tasting. 🙈
The finish is very mild, some spice there. Then I get again the mandarine, sugar syrup, some herbs and melon.

This is not what I have expected overall. There is also no comparison to Anniversario 30. Maybe this is a young XO where the experiment have started. But this is not comparable to Zacapa XO of the current time. The sweetness is not complex, the aromas are good but not concentrated or old. There is a lack of complexity. I would rate this one with 82 points.
We don't need to talk about the price, for 700€ this is just nonsence.

Nose: mandarine, vanilla, woood, herbs, some caramel
Taste: mandarine, vanilla, sugar syrup, herbs, wood
Middle: mandarine, melon, vanilla, sugar syrup, herbs, wood
Finish: some spice, mandarine with sugar syrup and some herbs, melon

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 1/5
Mildness: 4/5
Complexity: 2/5
Value (700€): 0/5

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tinyhunter from Switzerland with 26 ratings

I had this as I was curious and had it after an amazing beef wellngton in London. It was suprise to me and I started to enjoy good and better rum from there on..

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Ramon from United States with 76 ratings

I was dining at a pretty high end establishment which happened to have an extensive list of rums on their menu. This one jumped out at me, it was the highest price on the list soon thought I would splurge. It was a nice full flavored rum, a bit of a bourbon flavor but not overwhelming. Not sure it was much better than the other rims I have tried for half the price, but it was a good experience to order the top shelf stuff.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Makhao from Thailand with 15 ratings

Yes, this one really shows, what it has. Full flavour with little sweetness, smooth and fully developed.
Not easy to stop sipping, very nice...

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Ryan W from United States with 8 ratings

Had this straight up and it was outstanding. Smooth as can be.

Small dsc 0175

Posted 10 months ago by Dimitris from Greece with 79 ratings

I have not taste Premio Platino but Centenario XO. There are 2 versions this is second version and it has mix bourbon, cherrys & cognac aging (nice combination). Two of them are equaly good but little different. Any way the initial flavor is very nice, with chocolate, caramel, coffe, honey, bourbon-cognac oak & all of them together with medium sweetnes & well balanced with zacapa botanical blend. But it is well overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Juanlaginia from United States with 50 ratings

Slightly smoky, very well balanced and not too sweet, definitely a rum to sip but if you want to use for a cocktail, the old fashioned will be the way to go!