Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


295 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 1 year ago by jingis from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Kúpené v tescu na kostovku. No stačilo raz. Sú oveľa lepšie rumi.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from Canada with 7 ratings

Cheap rum for kids that only want to get drunk and throw up. This rum helps with the regurgitation burns on the way down and on the way up! Much better cheap choices. Thus is the thing my father warned me about he said spend a couple of extra dollars on a bottle you will save more than that on aspirin the next day. That describes this rum to a tee.

Posted over 4 years ago by Kevin Green from Canada with 6 ratings

I know this isn't the best rum, but it is my favourite, refreshing drink with coke when in a normal bar.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Benjamin Slätis from Finland with 7 ratings

Good for committing suicide, pleasing street bums or washing car rim's. Just don't bother otherwise.

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 32 ratings

Syrup and (over) burnt sugar on the nose. Quite alright, actually! Taste is rough, aftertaste horrible. Glad I bought a 5cl bottle...

Posted almost 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

What quite surprised how good this one was mixed. A good mixer rum at a cheap price.

Posted over 2 years ago by Adam from Poland with 86 ratings

Somebody wrote that is good mixer....in my opinion even for mixing is bad....

Posted over 3 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Only reviewing this because it needs to be improved or taken from pub shelves. Why do so many bars have this as their main dark rum option? I used to drink it in a tall glass three quarters full with coke. Didn't realise how sweet it was and didn't take notice of that sea foam froth it left behind. Stuff you drink in your 20s when you don't care. Wasn't long before I moved on from this to Jameson and coke, much better quality and taste for the same price. I'm turning into and OAP rum snob because of all these rum reviews and want for a finer rum, but besides that, it's fair comment that I won't drink this swill anymore. We're done Capn, it's over.

Posted over 4 years ago by Ash from Australia with 1 rating

Rum with a dash of coke - plenty of ice - has depth and doesn't gave traces of vanilla through it like most others - when we talk rum we mean Captain Morgan

Posted over 4 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

A good one with cola, I drink it if I want to mix.

Posted about 1 year ago by jennissa from Switzerland with 28 ratings

schmeckt mann überall raus aus jedem gemixten drink hat so einen eigenen geschmack! pur geht gar nicht! ich mag ihn einfach nicht sorry..

Posted over 1 year ago by Havanafan from Gibraltar with 17 ratings

To make this short - if you're just looking to get pissed drinking cheap crappy booze, go for it. But if you want to taste rum, don't bother. Industrial alcohol, sugar, colorant, and artificial flavors.

Posted about 2 years ago by Wynand Pretorius from South Africa with 11 ratings

Captain Morgan is my rum of choice when I go out or travel. I prefer to drink CM with Sprite Zero and enjoy roughness of the rum when being social with friends and family.

Posted over 2 years ago by Snookerman from United Kingdom with 121 ratings

It's not up to much but is probably one of the best known and first tried rums for most people. I dare say it switches off as many people as it turns on. It's like a fairly tasteless dark, alcoholic syrup with a burn. It's sweet in a cloying way, has a certain spice that is undistiguishable and bland. And strangely...it does taste ok in cola or Dr Pepper. That's about it. I find it hard to drink neat. It's way too rough and uninteresting.

Posted over 2 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Cred că e bun în prăjituri... Sau să speli ceva cola sau... Atât.

Posted over 2 years ago by Thomas Breuning from Denmark with 180 ratings

It's very good mixed with Coca-Cola, but not suitable for drinking it straight. To much taste of spirit, but I prefer this over the spiced one.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

If you care about taste and smell in rums this is not the rum for your. Pointless rum.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Somebody once said: Rum doesn't have to be good, it just has to be plentiful. I suppose he meant this one.

Posted about 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

Don't try pure, but it has definite qualities in coke or cocktails. I use it for cocktails that need a somewhat sweeter rum taste.

Posted about 3 years ago by Madis from Estonia with 13 ratings

Okey for coctails. Its the rum when you want to go safe with a low price.

Posted over 3 years ago by kevlar from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I think this was the first rum i ever tried. I remember it being nice with coke and a slice of lime and it would leave a foam around the glass as you drank it. Wouldnt spend my money on it now though, far better rums out there

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very spicy and strong after taste of not-so-good rum

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Voor in een mix met Cola ia het oke rummetje. niets speciaals

Posted almost 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 40 ratings

Sweet and contains ethanol (bit too much distinguishable), so in all it's drinkable with cola, but far from being a good rum. If you desperately feel like having a Captain, the Golden Spiced will be a better choice.

Posted 14 days ago by Joey7415963 from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

It's reasonable, maybe a little rough and there's certainly a big difference between this rum and others for a few pounds more.




#