Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.2/10 (322 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
14
24
60
71
103
21
15
7
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


322 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by ben_fairweather from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Drinkable mixed, but the after taste is really not great, even with coke.
I was introduced to rum & coke by a friend when I first started uni. He preferred Lamb's, but we both went for whichever of Captain Morgan's / Lamb's that bar had...can't remember which I actually tried first. I found it slipped down better than vodka / whisky and coke, so I got through my fair share as a student.
I didn't know any better until I stumbled across Sailor Jerry's at a local Wetherpoon's, due to it being 10p cheaper (how?).

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Tom from Canada with 7 ratings

Cheap rum for kids that only want to get drunk and throw up. This rum helps with the regurgitation burns on the way down and on the way up! Much better cheap choices. Thus is the thing my father warned me about he said spend a couple of extra dollars on a bottle you will save more than that on aspirin the next day. That describes this rum to a tee.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Benjamin Slätis from Finland with 7 ratings

Good for committing suicide, pleasing street bums or washing car rim's. Just don't bother otherwise.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Syrup and (over) burnt sugar on the nose. Quite alright, actually! Taste is rough, aftertaste horrible. Glad I bought a 5cl bottle...

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kevin Green from Canada with 6 ratings

I know this isn't the best rum, but it is my favourite, refreshing drink with coke when in a normal bar.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Somebody wrote that is good mixer....in my opinion even for mixing is bad....

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

What quite surprised how good this one was mixed. A good mixer rum at a cheap price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Only reviewing this because it needs to be improved or taken from pub shelves. Why do so many bars have this as their main dark rum option? I used to drink it in a tall glass three quarters full with coke. Didn't realise how sweet it was and didn't take notice of that sea foam froth it left behind. Stuff you drink in your 20s when you don't care. Wasn't long before I moved on from this to Jameson and coke, much better quality and taste for the same price. I'm turning into and OAP rum snob because of all these rum reviews and want for a finer rum, but besides that, it's fair comment that I won't drink this swill anymore. We're done Capn, it's over.

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Ash from Australia with 1 rating

Rum with a dash of coke - plenty of ice - has depth and doesn't gave traces of vanilla through it like most others - when we talk rum we mean Captain Morgan

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

A good one with cola, I drink it if I want to mix.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Eric O from Canada with 10 ratings

This will do in a pinch but nothing to write home about.