Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.2/10 (315 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
13
21
60
70
103
20
15
6
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


315 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Not much better than supermarket dark rum for me. Better than nothing or the odd spiced rum that is ruined by spices that don’t suit me but that’s as much as I can say.

Ffffff

Posted about 4 years ago by Tom from Canada with 7 ratings

Cheap rum for kids that only want to get drunk and throw up. This rum helps with the regurgitation burns on the way down and on the way up! Much better cheap choices. Thus is the thing my father warned me about he said spend a couple of extra dollars on a bottle you will save more than that on aspirin the next day. That describes this rum to a tee.

Ffffff

Posted about 6 years ago by Benjamin Slätis from Finland with 7 ratings

Good for committing suicide, pleasing street bums or washing car rim's. Just don't bother otherwise.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Markus Lehto from Finland with 35 ratings

Syrup and (over) burnt sugar on the nose. Quite alright, actually! Taste is rough, aftertaste horrible. Glad I bought a 5cl bottle...

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Kevin Green from Canada with 6 ratings

I know this isn't the best rum, but it is my favourite, refreshing drink with coke when in a normal bar.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Adam from Poland with 91 ratings

Somebody wrote that is good mixer....in my opinion even for mixing is bad....

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Morten Matthes from Denmark with 75 ratings

What quite surprised how good this one was mixed. A good mixer rum at a cheap price.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Nathan from United Kingdom with 35 ratings

Only reviewing this because it needs to be improved or taken from pub shelves. Why do so many bars have this as their main dark rum option? I used to drink it in a tall glass three quarters full with coke. Didn't realise how sweet it was and didn't take notice of that sea foam froth it left behind. Stuff you drink in your 20s when you don't care. Wasn't long before I moved on from this to Jameson and coke, much better quality and taste for the same price. I'm turning into and OAP rum snob because of all these rum reviews and want for a finer rum, but besides that, it's fair comment that I won't drink this swill anymore. We're done Capn, it's over.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Ash from Australia with 1 rating

Rum with a dash of coke - plenty of ice - has depth and doesn't gave traces of vanilla through it like most others - when we talk rum we mean Captain Morgan

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Mikkel Nielsen from Denmark with 32 ratings

A good one with cola, I drink it if I want to mix.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Too hash to sip, it has nose and taste with dominant molasses, alcoholic aftertaste, makes decent rum and coke, but even for this amount of money you can find better mixers (think Myer's).