Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.2/10 (321 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
14
23
60
71
103
21
15
7
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


321 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 6 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Smagte den i Gløgg, og piftet den dejlig op.
Kan kun anbefales at pifte Gløggen op med lidt mørk Rom. 😀

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by CaptainMorgan.07 from Poland with 10 ratings

I'm not a Dark rum lover, but this one stole my hart. Great smell and good taste. For me better then famous Kraken

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Daniel Lether from Netherlands with 67 ratings

This actually tastes like an aged rum. Best capt morgan so far. Stillnot really my taste. Has a pot still taste to it.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by ogybass from Hungary with 14 ratings

Soft Rum, só light, so Soft, so a Rum, not my Favorit

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Goldigger from Greece with 8 ratings

My local bar has it and I try it from time to time. It's not my favourite but I don't find it that terrible

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by tomcoolen from Belgium with 4 ratings

cheap supermarket rum, chemical sweet taste, don’t like drinking it
i use it for cooking or for cocktails

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Ahusbands from United Kingdom with 8 ratings

Better than spiced. More taste to it but same as spiced in the sense it is what it is.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Magakahn from Norway with 11 ratings

I have owned several bottles of dark Morgan over the years.

The first time when I was 17. The girl I was in love with then was hosting a pirate-party. Her older sister offered to buy some rum, and she game back with this. We mixed it with Pepsi, and 13 years later im not able to drink Pepsi.

Will edit later.

My dad once told me about a time in 82 when there was a strike blocking spirit-deliveries for 15 weeks. He and some buddies went to 6 different bars and the only booze anyone had left was a bottle of Morgan. When he woke up the next Morning, he knew what killed Bob Marley (his words).

TLDR: Not for drinking neat. Will ruin most drinks. Get something else.

Note: I have yet found a rum I like that is this dark. Maybe it's just not for my pallette?

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by MozUK619 from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

Cant usually find decent rum around here so this is the go to as its still better than Myers. Sure everyones tried it one way or another so enough said

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 38 ratings

Nose: not much of anything. It smells like rum but does not have any nuanced complexity. On the thin palate is a taste of burned sugar but not much else. This might be ok as mix with Coke but it’s no sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Vagimir from Slovakia with 14 ratings

Príjemná jemná vôňa skôr sladká. Chuť jemne korenená no počase príjemná, záver dlhší, sladší. Celkom fajn