Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.2/10 (321 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
14
23
60
71
103
21
15
7
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


321 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Legru Fabian from Belgium with 20 ratings

Avec du coca on sent bien les épices de ce rhum. Je le préfère comme ça que pure

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Somebody once said: Rum doesn't have to be good, it just has to be plentiful. I suppose he meant this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

Don't try pure, but it has definite qualities in coke or cocktails. I use it for cocktails that need a somewhat sweeter rum taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Madis from Estonia with 13 ratings

Okey for coctails. Its the rum when you want to go safe with a low price.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by kevlar from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I think this was the first rum i ever tried. I remember it being nice with coke and a slice of lime and it would leave a foam around the glass as you drank it. Wouldnt spend my money on it now though, far better rums out there

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very spicy and strong after taste of not-so-good rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Voor in een mix met Cola ia het oke rummetje. niets speciaals

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Sweet and contains ethanol (bit too much distinguishable), so in all it's drinkable with cola, but far from being a good rum. If you desperately feel like having a Captain, the Golden Spiced will be a better choice.

Ffffff

Posted 6 days ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

How much do I not like this! Not going to pull any punches here, it’s vile! It smells disgusting and tastes even worse. Not even using loads of Coca-Cola as a mixer can save this rum and make it anywhere near enjoyable. But in my opinion, Captain Morgan as a brand, has a much bigger problem to deal with, than just this particular rum. With the explosion in popularity of rum, especially spiced and flavoured ones, small independent rum distilleries are popping up left right and centre, creating brand new and exciting flavoured rums that are on another level to anything that Captain Morgan has, or is currently producing. And because of these funky up and coming rum distilleries, offering us the consumer the opportunity to be a part of this rum revolution, they are making Captain Morgan rums look ordinary, bland and outdated by about 20 years.

Ffffff

Posted 24 days ago by Pirate from Greece with 23 ratings

Liked it even less than Morgan's spiced, but i used to drink that stuff many years ago. Wouldn't bother, ever again.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by TheoAu from Norway with 3 ratings

I bought a bottle of this after I threw away my 2nd empty bottle of CM Spiced gold. Mixed it (not drowning it) with cola and lime, and with ginger beer and lime to test it out.
Definently tasted better with the ginger beer than cola.
Thought it would taste better than the spiced gold, but it didn't