Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.2/10 (322 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
14
24
60
71
103
21
15
7
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


322 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Harry from South Africa with 40 ratings

Only if you're planning on sleeping on the couch tonight...

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Dan-Fix from Sweden with 113 ratings

If you care about taste and smell in rums this is not the rum for your. Pointless rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Philip Rademaker from Curaçao with 50 ratings

Somebody once said: Rum doesn't have to be good, it just has to be plentiful. I suppose he meant this one.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Arno from Germany with 10 ratings

Don't try pure, but it has definite qualities in coke or cocktails. I use it for cocktails that need a somewhat sweeter rum taste.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Madis from Estonia with 13 ratings

Okey for coctails. Its the rum when you want to go safe with a low price.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by kevlar from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I think this was the first rum i ever tried. I remember it being nice with coke and a slice of lime and it would leave a foam around the glass as you drank it. Wouldnt spend my money on it now though, far better rums out there

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very spicy and strong after taste of not-so-good rum

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Voor in een mix met Cola ia het oke rummetje. niets speciaals

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Sweet and contains ethanol (bit too much distinguishable), so in all it's drinkable with cola, but far from being a good rum. If you desperately feel like having a Captain, the Golden Spiced will be a better choice.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Limsn from Poland with 14 ratings

When buying a cheap mixer, the only thing you can expect is to have a kind of low quality enjoyment after flooding it with coke. Unfortunately, mixing did not improve the flavour, CM Dark was still barely drinkable. Not for recommendation, unless you are planning a party with people who do not have any expectations regarding the quality of rum provided for drinking.

Ffffff

Posted 17 days ago by Lelly72 from United Kingdom with 17 ratings

How much do I not like this! Not going to pull any punches here, it’s vile! It smells disgusting and tastes even worse. Not even using loads of Coca-Cola as a mixer can save this rum and make it anywhere near enjoyable. But in my opinion, Captain Morgan as a brand, has a much bigger problem to deal with, than just this particular rum. With the explosion in popularity of rum, especially spiced and flavoured ones, small independent rum distilleries are popping up left right and centre, creating brand new and exciting flavoured rums that are on another level to anything that Captain Morgan has, or is currently producing. And because of these funky up and coming rum distilleries, offering us the consumer the opportunity to be a part of this rum revolution, they are making Captain Morgan rums look ordinary, bland and outdated by about 20 years.