Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark

Puerto Rico | Dark

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

4.4/10 (309 ratings)
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
12
21
59
68
101
20
15
6
7

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


309 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

9c0a83a5f16f565409736a6f08e6be4f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Daniel from Czech Republic with 118 ratings

Basic rum , also cheap good for workmans. not everybody can have an expensive rum. Even if I like Better rums, this one is good for me. i like taste stronger and barrel after whiskey. final smell in empty bottle is nice.good to drink everywhere. Not for special tasting.

56b70bef641fbbd79e78047fa45d3a8f.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by kevlar from United Kingdom with 7 ratings

I think this was the first rum i ever tried. I remember it being nice with coke and a slice of lime and it would leave a foam around the glass as you drank it. Wouldnt spend my money on it now though, far better rums out there

6c34036f6175742fe5825338405a2ce4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Very spicy and strong after taste of not-so-good rum

Bd0cba92b39dde93faef8f135320e303.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 5 years ago by YMHC from Netherlands with 160 ratings

Voor in een mix met Cola ia het oke rummetje. niets speciaals

Fd825f08bb8833fbc1f1f835cea6eab9.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 6 years ago by Piotr from Poland with 41 ratings

Sweet and contains ethanol (bit too much distinguishable), so in all it's drinkable with cola, but far from being a good rum. If you desperately feel like having a Captain, the Golden Spiced will be a better choice.

1fee1c0f4d8357779f095ebe5920d1af.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 1 day ago by Magakahn from Norway with 6 ratings

I have owned several bottles of dark Morgan over the years.

The first time when I was 17. The girl I was in love with then was hosting a pirate-party. Her older sister offered to buy some rum, and she game back with this. We mixed it with Pepsi, and 13 years later im not able to drink Pepsi.

Will edit later.

My dad once told me about a time in 82 when there was a strike blocking spirit-deliveries for 15 weeks. He and some buddies went to 6 different bars and the only booze anyone had left was a bottle of Morgan. When he woke up the next Morning, he knew what killed Bob Marley (his words).

TLDR: Not for drinking neat. Will ruin most drinks. Get something else.

Note: I have yet found a rum I like that is this dark. Maybe it's just not for my pallette?

C3fc671ee53b5f3767091e3aeae5dbed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by MozUK619 from United Kingdom with 6 ratings

Cant usually find decent rum around here so this is the go to as its still better than Myers. Sure everyones tried it one way or another so enough said

D190dedee92ecb775621f85558c88b52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 10 days ago by Foggyrumrunner from Canada with 25 ratings

Nose: not much of anything. It smells like rum but does not have any nuanced complexity. On the thin palate is a taste of burned sugar but not much else. This might be ok as mix with Coke but it’s no sipping rum.

D9a84109d9a73ef8ece6338cd2c24e52.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 14 days ago by Vagimir from Slovakia with 8 ratings

Príjemná jemná vôňa skôr sladká. Chuť jemne korenená no počase príjemná, záver dlhší, sladší. Celkom fajn

2e6f14ac315e53f658e0d5e15337adeb.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 25 days ago by Surge from Colombia with 18 ratings

Not really, though.
Had this at a local small restaurant in Japan, specifically between Higashi Kanagawa station and Tanmachi station. No clue, right?
Yeah, just like this rum!

1fab6f0c7c1e5fd48ef562b973315d50.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 28 days ago by kbill from Romania with 22 ratings

I always wonder how can this product command any price! There are way better products in its price range. Don't buy for personal consumption!