Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Dark rum

Captain Morgan Dark rum is a blend of five different rums from Jamaica, Guyana and Barbados. The blended rum mixture is distilled in a two part process using both pot stills and continuous stills and then aged for 2 to 7 years in charred oak barrels.

Since 2011, the Captain Morgan rum brand has used the slogan ""To life, love and loot."

Rate Captain Morgan Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


296 Captain Morgan Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 4 years ago by Chris L from United Kingdom with 78 ratings

OK for a very low budget rum, but a little bit harsh

Posted almost 5 years ago by Screech from Canada with 5 ratings

Bought a liter for 14 dollars in Malaysia, mixed it with sprite and lime, couldn't have been happier. Nothing special, obviously, but it deserves a higher ranking than Bacardi black anyhow.

Posted almost 5 years ago by snowlock from Czech Republic with 10 ratings

I can not imagine it otherwise than to drink it with a coke.

Posted almost 5 years ago by W1tchfind3r from Croatia with 6 ratings

This rum reeks of ethanol. It should be consumed only with cola, and I mean lots of cola. If you have little money and you really want to drink some rum then buy yourself Captain Morgan Original Spiced Gold which is far better than this.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Lasse Bloch from Denmark with 59 ratings

det kan næsten ikke blive være, smager "næsten" ikke engang godt sammen med cola.

Posted almost 5 years ago by hanz.kubat from Czech Republic with 19 ratings

This was suprisingly good, when I poured it into bowl of chocolate cereal with milk. So ideal breakfast ingredient. It would be also good for baking.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Taurox from Czech Republic with 9 ratings

Good Cuba Libre.

Straight up - not so good - 3/10
With cola - so good - 7/10

Average - 5/10

Posted almost 5 years ago by Clark from United States with 4 ratings

when there are no other choices this is a good standby. Good run is still hard to come by everywhere. Always consistent.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Mikedub from France with 26 ratings

Un rhum avec un goût et une odeur super forts. Je n.ai pas aimé.

Posted about 5 years ago by Gareth from Curacao with 93 ratings

just a simple mix drink rum contains ethanol far from a good rum

Posted about 5 years ago by boogieevert from Poland with 9 ratings

Strong taste, fine smell, beautiful color..

Great for drinks, a little worse straight up or on the rocks, but if you like strong rums you'll find it lovely.

Posted about 5 years ago by Jariii from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

S kolou je to celkem dobrý a levný drink, když se chce člověk zcákat. Ještě jsem ho zkusil smíchat s Cpt. Morgan Spiced a dohromady je to lepší :)

Posted over 5 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

this rum is typical of the rums in most local pubs in the uk, fine with coke and ice.

Posted over 5 years ago by Nathan Hevenstone (PREMIUM) from United States with 27 ratings

This was the rum that kick-started my interest in rum, but that took a long time to simmer, and so I'm a noob to it.

I do like this rum, but Captain Morgan has better rums. I'm sure my rating will change as I make my way through the world of rum.

Posted over 5 years ago by Phil from United Kingdom with 29 ratings

Not bad for a drink in the pub... Not one I would keep handy for my own collection though as I would prefer the flavour of the spiced version. This would be a good 'everyday' rum though with coke but overall is really nothing special

Posted over 5 years ago by Aarvaag from Norway with 32 ratings

A little bit better than the Spiced edition but still nothing for people that really likes good rum

Posted over 5 years ago by El Julian from United States with 20 ratings

I spent 29 years in the military and as we drank coffee in the morning to start the day, we drank the Captain at night or during port calls. In essence the Captain offers me comfort and will always taste great to me. On the grand scheme of things is it the best I've had? No, but for an "everyday" rum it is decent tasting and economically friendly when buying. Also, this is my first rating for this site! Glad to be a part of it :)

Posted over 5 years ago by Dobso from Slovakia with 40 ratings

Akože asi najlepší lacný tmavý rum s mierne korenistou chuťou.

Posted over 5 years ago by Thijs Vrijburg from Netherlands with 17 ratings

valt tegen had er meer van verwacht.

Posted over 5 years ago by Jeroen from NL with 14 ratings

German discount, only 9.99... Not my rum....last time...

Posted over 5 years ago by HunterRomario from Czech Republic with 285 ratings

Od kamaráda jsem dostal ochutnat tento komerční výrobek, dobarvovaný karamelem, podporovaný masívní reklamou.
Zraje rok v dubových sudech.

Alkohol: 40 %
Původ: Jamajka
Aroma: Kdybych neviděl tu tmavou barvu a nevěděl bych, že jde o rum, tak bych přemýšlel nad tím, že je to snad nějaká velmi levná a nevýrazná blended whisky. Na rozdíl od whisky pak ale aroma inklinuje do čokolády a karamelu.Vyloženě rumového zde necítím nic. (65 b)
Chuť: Chuť je plochá, nudná, nezáživná, dřevitě karamelová s mírně nahořklým dozníváním. (60 b)
Body: 62
Shrnutí: Pravděpodobně nejhorší karibský rum, co jsem kdy ochutnal, opravdová bída s nouzí, ničím mě nezaujal, a protože v sobě z rumu snad ani nic nemá, nedal bych si ho ani do míchaných drinků jako Cuba libre, to už by snad lépe posloužil Tuzemák. Z mého pohledu naprosto zbytečný produkt na našem trhu, ale aspoň vedle něj vyniknou kvality i těch "průměrných" karibských rumů, jako mi přišel poslední dobou třeba Centenario Conmemorativo 9y, které jsou sice průměrné oproti těm špičkovým, ale pořád o obrovský kus před podobnými nechutnostmi. A cenově od sebe daleko nejsou.

Posted over 5 years ago by Joshua Cook from Canada with 13 ratings

It's ok, certainly better than Captain Morgan White, it's an alcoholics dream rum :p

Posted over 5 years ago by Stig Wolff from Denmark with 152 ratings

En fin mørk rom jeg har købt til brug i mad og kage.

Posted over 5 years ago by Linas from Norway with 33 ratings

Good dark Rum .Smell better than Captain Morgan Spiced. Good to mix.

Posted over 5 years ago by Martin Grönvall from Denmark with 115 ratings

Smagte den i Gløgg, og piftet den dejlig op.
Kan kun anbefales at pifte Gløggen op med lidt mørk Rom. 😀