Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark rum

Plantation Original Dark

Caribbean | Dark

6.4/10
113 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
11
35
45
13
3

Rate Plantation Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

113 Plantation Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Frank mac from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

this rum has a nice dark colour,it has quite a strong after taste which for me is no bad thing, ok as a sipper but better with coke and ice.

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 42 ratings

Medium sweetness and quite easy. Smokey taste/smell, some ripe fruit (banana). Lacking aftertaste though.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 368 ratings

The nose is strong for only 40%.
I get the typical Jamaica fruits like it the Plantation Overproof OFTD. Could it be a diluted version of the OFTD?

The nose is full of molasses and dry fruits. I get also the red fruits like in the OFTD. Then some dark flavours of barrel and wood. There is also some sweetness of caramel or dry fruits.
It's a mellow version of OFTD.

The taste is also like a mellow OFTD. It starts with caramel, dry and red fruits. Then sweet with burned sugar and molasses. It turns spicy at the end of initial taste.
The middle is also spicy with burned sugar, red fruits and molasses.
The finish is also spicy with flavours of molasses, red fruits and caramel.

It's still intensive, spicy and mellow. I like it, I would rate it with 75 points.

Nose: caramel, dry and red fruits, molasses, barrel and wood, some vanilla
Taste: caramel, dry and red fruits, burned sugar, molasses, spice
Middle: spice, burned sugar, red fruits, molasses
Finish: spice, molasses and red fruits, caramel, vanilla

Sweetness: 2/5
Fruits: 3/5
Spice: 3.5/5
Mildness: 3/5
Complexity: 3/5
Value (14€): 4/5

Small img 20200720 204523

Posted 8 months ago by Loxias from Czech Republic with 170 ratings

Dried fruit in the nose. Taste again with driet fruit, banana, vanilla.
It can be sipped easily, but excels as a mixer for really good value

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Plantation has some rums that I really enjoy.
This is not one of them.
This is made for drinking in your $13 Dole whip
Cup at Disney World.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 72 ratings

This one has the typical plantation taste: raisins. A bit strong of a strong burn at the end though. But only for a short time.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Spud from Canada with 8 ratings

This is my go to for rum based cocktails, especially rum. Sours!

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Quick burn, but fades quickly. Flavor lingers a long time. Notes of caramel and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It’s my favorite cheap rum
It has great mix-ability for tiki cocktails or an old fashioned and it can be a cheap sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 4. Rating:
Der Plantation Original Dark ist irgendwie abgefahren im Geschmack. Aber lest selbst...

Preis: ca. 14-18€

Geruch:
Ganz klar ist hier die Alkoholschärfe des 3-jährigen Havana Clubs zu riechen. Aber da wo dieser keine weitere Note aufweist, überrascht der Plantation Original Dark mit...was ist das?...Banane? Es riecht irgendwie fruchtig und dennoch schwer.

Geschmack pur (Note 3):
Der Geruchseindruck setzt sich hier fort. Allerdings kommt eine gewisse Süße hinzu. Dennoch nicht pur zu genießen, da der Alkohol klar im Vordergrund steht.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 5):
Okay, schmeckt wie beschrieben. Allerdings wird die Alkoholschärfe etwas milder und der Geschmack noch süßer in der Cola. Im Prinzip ist es ein etwas süßerer 3-jähriger Havana Club mit Bananengeschmack(?). Irgendwie anders und abgefahren. Von daher 5 Punkte insgesamt.
Kommt nicht an den Pampero heran.

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by shindler from Poland with 24 ratings

I’ve got in love with it. I feel raisins, I feel cognac in the background. I’m not a fan of English rum style but this one I love. Not too smooth, not to sharp. Great blend. Just great in this price range. Great to be sipped