Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark rum

Plantation Original Dark

Caribbean | Dark

6.3/10 (102 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
11
34
39
10
2

Rate Plantation Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


102 Plantation Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Alo from Estonia with 13 ratings

When its cheap (~15€) its good rum for value, but at the regular (~25€) price there are better rums.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 42 ratings

Medium sweetness and quite easy. Smokey taste/smell, some ripe fruit (banana). Lacking aftertaste though.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by El Cap from United States with 62 ratings

Plantation has some rums that I really enjoy.
This is not one of them.
This is made for drinking in your $13 Dole whip
Cup at Disney World.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

This one has the typical plantation taste: raisins. A bit strong of a strong burn at the end though. But only for a short time.

Ffffff

Posted 2 months ago by Spud from Canada with 8 ratings

This is my go to for rum based cocktails, especially rum. Sours!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Quick burn, but fades quickly. Flavor lingers a long time. Notes of caramel and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It’s my favorite cheap rum
It has great mix-ability for tiki cocktails or an old fashioned and it can be a cheap sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 4. Rating:
Der Plantation Original Dark ist irgendwie abgefahren im Geschmack. Aber lest selbst...

Preis: ca. 14-18€

Geruch:
Ganz klar ist hier die Alkoholschärfe des 3-jährigen Havana Clubs zu riechen. Aber da wo dieser keine weitere Note aufweist, überrascht der Plantation Original Dark mit...was ist das?...Banane? Es riecht irgendwie fruchtig und dennoch schwer.

Geschmack pur (Note 3):
Der Geruchseindruck setzt sich hier fort. Allerdings kommt eine gewisse Süße hinzu. Dennoch nicht pur zu genießen, da der Alkohol klar im Vordergrund steht.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 5):
Okay, schmeckt wie beschrieben. Allerdings wird die Alkoholschärfe etwas milder und der Geschmack noch süßer in der Cola. Im Prinzip ist es ein etwas süßerer 3-jähriger Havana Club mit Bananengeschmack(?). Irgendwie anders und abgefahren. Von daher 5 Punkte insgesamt.
Kommt nicht an den Pampero heran.

Ffffff

Posted 19 days ago by CaptainMorgan.07 from Poland with 9 ratings

For me it is the Best chep Dark rum, that you can find in supermarket.

Ffffff

Posted 28 days ago by Jimmy Cliff from United States with 199 ratings

Nice mixing rum quite a bit of depth for entry level selection. Try it with ginger beer or pineapple juice.

Ffffff

Posted 1 month ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 27 ratings

Fľaša a etiketa je vizuálne vydarená a aj korkový uzáver je plusom. Vôňa je hrozienková. Chuť je polosladká (skôr sladšia). Cítiť vanilku, korenie, zázvor, jemnú zadymenosť. Záver je hrejivý, korenistý a alkoholový (až "surový"). Trošku sa obavám, že pri celovečernom pití by bol bolehlav. Kúpil som fľašu za 13€, určite stojí za vyskúšanie. V tejto cenovej hladine je určite nadpriemerný.