Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark rum

Plantation Original Dark

Caribbean | Dark

6.4/10 (100 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
11
32
39
10
2

Rate Plantation Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


100 Plantation Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 427 ratings

This is great with coke doesn't knock my socks off.... Excellent flavour...

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Steven Cooremans from Belgium with 41 ratings

Medium sweetness and quite easy. Smokey taste/smell, some ripe fruit (banana). Lacking aftertaste though.

Ffffff

Posted 1 day ago by El Cap from United States with 60 ratings

Plantation has some rums that I really enjoy.
This is not one of them.
This is made for drinking in your $13 Dole whip
Cup at Disney World.

Ffffff

Posted 18 days ago by Olaf from Netherlands with 59 ratings

This one has the typical plantation taste: raisins. A bit strong of a strong burn at the end though. But only for a short time.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Spud from Canada with 8 ratings

This is my go to for rum based cocktails, especially rum. Sours!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Amalas from United States with 65 ratings

Quick burn, but fades quickly. Flavor lingers a long time. Notes of caramel and vanilla.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Panos from Greece with 11 ratings

It’s my favorite cheap rum
It has great mix-ability for tiki cocktails or an old fashioned and it can be a cheap sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Carsten from Germany with 12 ratings

Mein 4. Rating:
Der Plantation Original Dark ist irgendwie abgefahren im Geschmack. Aber lest selbst...

Preis: ca. 14-18€

Geruch:
Ganz klar ist hier die Alkoholschärfe des 3-jährigen Havana Clubs zu riechen. Aber da wo dieser keine weitere Note aufweist, überrascht der Plantation Original Dark mit...was ist das?...Banane? Es riecht irgendwie fruchtig und dennoch schwer.

Geschmack pur (Note 3):
Der Geruchseindruck setzt sich hier fort. Allerdings kommt eine gewisse Süße hinzu. Dennoch nicht pur zu genießen, da der Alkohol klar im Vordergrund steht.

Geschmack in Cola (Note 5):
Okay, schmeckt wie beschrieben. Allerdings wird die Alkoholschärfe etwas milder und der Geschmack noch süßer in der Cola. Im Prinzip ist es ein etwas süßerer 3-jähriger Havana Club mit Bananengeschmack(?). Irgendwie anders und abgefahren. Von daher 5 Punkte insgesamt.
Kommt nicht an den Pampero heran.

Ffffff

Posted 5 days ago by dejvix from Slovakia with 26 ratings

Fľaša a etiketa je vizuálne vydarená a aj korkový uzáver je plusom. Vôňa je hrozienková. Chuť je polosladká (skôr sladšia). Cítiť vanilku, korenie, zázvor, jemnú zadymenosť. Záver je hrejivý, korenistý a alkoholový (až "surový"). Trošku sa obavám, že pri celovečernom pití by bol bolehlav. Kúpil som fľašu za 13€, určite stojí za vyskúšanie. V tejto cenovej hladine je určite nadpriemerný.

Ffffff

Posted 8 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 73 ratings

Ripe banana smell, banana and other ripe fruits are present in the body too, the unaged alcohol is partially masked by added demerrara sugar, but it still bites, and there is some unpleasant feeling on the tongue instead of an aftertaste, which stopped from trying to sip it. Simple mixer, not too bad for the money.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by btmg88 from United States with 8 ratings

The special thing about Plantation Original Dark is that it is versatile and affordable. Just a little bit of funk to go with the pineapple and banana on the aroma. Good mixed, neat, or over ice.