Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark rum

Plantation Original Dark

Caribbean | Dark

6.3/10 (103 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
11
34
40
10
2

Rate Plantation Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


103 Plantation Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ron Borkent from Netherlands with 9 ratings

I find it most enjoyable in the right mix. Don't use to much. In the right amount it's great in a coke.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Smovens from United States with 94 ratings

My pour of this had a strong fusel alcohol taste and flavor to it. So much so that it might have been a bad bottle or something else

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by TY from Austria with 56 ratings

Alkoholisch, aber nicht scharf, fruchtig, feinwürzig, lieblich.
Evtl. gut mit Cola zu mischen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by rkralik89 from Austria with 21 ratings

Geschmacksvoll, fruchtig, süß, aber nicht lieblich. Alkoholgeschmack gleich stark vertreten, wie die süß-fruchtigen Aromen.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by abrarey from United States with 26 ratings

I like the smell, some caramel notes. Flavor wise is OK for sipping again caramel can be perceived, banana and some orange hints.
Where it really shines is for mixing. Cuba Libre, Old Fashioned rum, you named.
Excellent price.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Pete034 from Australia with 21 ratings

One to enjoy. not quite to the standard of some of the better proof rums but good value none the less.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Kuuorava from Finland with 2 ratings

This was my first rum to start experiencing the world of rums. Didn't really like the taste at first but when I got to the end of my 0,7 litre bottle (consumed in about a month not at once :D) my tongue got used to it. Really hard to rate as this was my first rum so I didn't really have a good comparison.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jaybird from United States with 48 ratings

Aroma and flavor are both muted. Soft molasses, slightly medicinal. Soft sweetness. Did a decent job as a mixer in a cocktail but it is the least impressive member of the Plantation family that I've had so far. Respectible as a mixer. Not recommended as a sipper at all. Affordable but there are better rums in this price range that are both much better sippers and much more flavorful in cocktails. I give a generous 6 but more of a 5.5.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by BlackP2 from United States with 12 ratings

This stuff tastes like it is of much higher proof than it actually is, so if that's your game this one for you. Very affordable and I like it quite a bit as a "Dark & Stormy". The ginger ale cools it off and allows for the back flavors to come out. I got floral and orange flavors while my buddy said he got almonds and caramel, go ?

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Engwild from United States with 153 ratings

On my tops list for sippable rums with lots of flavor.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

Not sure if I’m disappointed or not.
Not as dark in the glass as expected, with plenty going on in the aromas.
Smooth enough with little if any burn, and what really lets it down is the almost total lack of aftertaste.
Not tried it as a mixer yet, but who knows, it might come into its own then.
Probably the only Plantation rum that has in some way disappointed.
Enjoy, graham.