Posting your rating...
Plantation Original Dark rum

Plantation Original Dark

Caribbean | Dark

6.3/10 (103 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
3
3
11
34
40
10
2

Rate Plantation Original Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


103 Plantation Original Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Makhao from Thailand with 15 ratings

Even though I am not a big fan of Plantation this rum is somehow drinkable, considering the rather low price. But for me its not more and not less than that.
Btw: I tried the new version with the sticker "original dark" on top of the label (see picture from Ramon on 7 Aug '16 ).

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Brian Casali from Italy with 13 ratings

Not the best of the brand but still a good one....

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by tortemd from Germany with 66 ratings

für Cocktails prima geeignet und sollte als Standard in keiner Bar fehlen

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by Pedro1987 from Portugal with 6 ratings

Not a smoth easy drink for me as a rum should be. At this price level we cannot ask for more. Still better than others in same price range.

Ffffff

Posted 10 months ago by peter75 from Netherlands with 16 ratings

Rokerige smaak. Niet te zoet. En een redelijke lekkere nasmaak die helaas niet lang blijft hangen.

Ffffff

Posted at Hidden Harbor 10 months ago by beeporama (PREMIUM) from United States with 23 ratings

Almost certainly artificial vanilla, slightly off, but there is a nice rum under that. Subtle hints of clove, orange peel, and burnt almond are almost lost under the sugar. Not bad for the price, but I wouldn't return to this.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Rumrotsevni from Netherlands with 1 rating

Darkish rum medium thick body. However finish disapears a bit fast.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Sheff Ma Zi from Russian Federation with 13 ratings

Not the best idea to put cocktail rum to the congac casks. Brandy aroma mixed with molases doesn't work great if you mix it with juices. It's okay with cola, ginger beer, but not good for mixing, especially if you trying to represent unique tiki mix.
Another point is striking smooth aroma and weak taste and more weak aftertaste.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Oleh from Ukraine with 13 ratings

It is quite smooth and sweetie. You will recognize Jamaica from the first sip. But it is really good for just drinking in company or mix. Slightly fruity afterburn..

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 336 ratings

Aroma is complex and nice withy sweet wood and black tea tones. Taste is sweet and fruity with plums and cherries.
Aftertaste is average and fruity.

Ffffff

Posted 12 months ago by JT from Norway with 34 ratings

god smak med et lite hint av røyk, som jeg liker veldig godt i Rom