Posting your rating...
John Watling's Amber rum

John Watling's Amber

Bahamas | Gold

4.8/10
12 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
1
4
2
1
1

Rate John Watling's Amber

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

12 John Watling's Amber ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Small 1ad53a03 9844 4e80 a54e 555a7b289a4c

Posted 4 months ago by Jimmy Cliff (PREMIUM) from United States with 320 ratings

Traveling to Staniel Cay just for lunch was too rough to fish. Stumbled on John Whatling and remembered we had crossed paths before. Starts with a heavy classic pirate days like bottle. Opens to a funky hi ester Jamaican like rum. Unique rich flavor I don’t hate but don’t love. Stays with you maybe a bit too long. Left on the boat for my buddies to enjoy.

Ffffff

Posted 5 months ago by kevin_kaye from United States with 14 ratings

I'll say up front that I used this for mixing in an Old-Fashioned with a dash of simple syrup, splash of water, 4-5 shakes of orange bitters, and a muddled orange slice. Vanilla and oak notes blended well for an enjoyable cocktail, so better than average. I can't speak to how it would be for sipping.

Ffffff

Posted 9 months ago by Ropes86 from United States with 4 ratings

Tasted this rum at The Distillery in December of 2019, and bought a bottle to bring home. This was one of my favorite sippers

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Adreinke from United States with 16 ratings

Nice rum with a smooth start and nice finish. Nice hint of vanilla. I love small batch rum and this is a nice one.

Small 16177231947339156371870840487249

Posted almost 2 years ago by aztropic from United States with 28 ratings

Bought a bottle of Watlings amber rum on my last trip through the Bahamas.It's a very smooth blended rum,probably the best Bahamian branded rum,but due to its maturation in once used whiskey barrels,tastes more like whiskey than rum.I would not buy it again.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Brad from United States with 27 ratings

I picked up a bottle of Watling's Amber in Nassau recently after touring the distillery. Aroma is heavy on alcohol with some oak, citrus and maybe honey peeking through. Taste is also a little heavy on alcohol, but is fairly smooth with some oaky notes coming through. Burn is noticeable, but not offensively so. Not what I would look for as a sipper, but does make an excellent Piña Colada and is good mixed with cola or juice.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

This is the same train wreak as the Pale rum. What makes this worse is they actually wasted a barrel by putting fuel grade rum into it.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Dustin Doran from United States with 79 ratings

This stuff is mean! Definitely not a sipping rum, hardly a mixing rum. How can we kill this taste? A funky amalgamation that nearly induces vomiting on the initial smell alone. Drink this, if you want to taste it for the next day and a half. Not my favorite.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2839 ratings

Visited Nassau last year with a colleague of mine and we wondered to the John Watling's Distillery by accident. It is the only distillery in Nassau and the distillery tour itself is definitely worth the effort. At the end of the tour there is a tasting of their 3 main rums and the Single Barrel for a tiny extra fee. The John Watling's Amber rum is not a neat sipper, but has to be mixed with a soft drink. The flavor is very off putting as a neat drink and the burn is just intense.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

Maybe I missed something with all the rave reviews I read, but it was just OK. Maybe in a mixed drink? Hard alcohol taste to me.