Posting your rating...
John Watling's Buena Vista rum

John Watling's Buena Vista

Bahamas | Aged

7.3/10 (14 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
3
3
1
3

Rate John Watling's Buena Vista

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 John Watling's Buena Vista ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Russ from United States with 85 ratings

Nose: Rubbing alcohol and a charred barrel
Pallet: Undeveloped and harsh, a sad and unsuccessful attempt at being a decent rum
Finish: Gasoline, some spice, a little table sugar, and a charred barrel

This is the "best rum" Watling's offers and its best used in a frozen drink. This is a $12 rum that's nicely packaged and sold for $40+

I was tempted to give it a 3 Rating but I was overwhelmed with disappointment. The government of Nassau should shut this place down. It's a national embarrassment!

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Michael Regular from Canada with 36 ratings

While cruising we decided to find our way to the Waitling's distillery. Decided to try the selection at the bar. This was the better of the three offered. The taste/after taste was a bit overwhelming. Left without purchasing any, thought it overpriced.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason from United States with 50 ratings

The caramelized flavors certainly come through, but not overbearingly so. Nicely balanced and solid enough to be sipped, although not as complex as others I've had. My favorite of their three offerings.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by sebastiana from United States with 2 ratings

Overall great rum. Tour was amazing in the beautiful Buena Visita estate.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Mikenedham from United Kingdom with 15 ratings

Bought as present from bahamas - light in the mouth, oaky plenty of caramel but found it better in a strong dark &stormy than as a sipper

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by Scott Nowicki from United States with 9 ratings

Picked this baby up on Exuma. Subtle caramel flavor. Well balanced. Easy sipping gem. And a nice looking bottle to boot!

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Phil from United States with 5 ratings

Just a really good sipping rum, not too harsh like some of the lower priced John Watling runs. Great with a cigar!

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Mike from United States with 2 ratings

Very beautiful color. Smooth start and finish. Not a mixing rum. Sip from glass neat or on rocks.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Arthur from France with 1 rating

My friend make me a gift with this rum, and it was a nice smooth. Thanks John

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Visited Nassau last year with a colleague of mine and we wondered to the John Watling's Distillery by accident. It is the only distillery in Nassau and the distillery tour itself is definitely worth the effort. At the end of the tour there is a tasting of their 3 main rums and the Single Barrel for a tiny extra fee. The Buena Vista rum sits just below the Single Barrel rum, but I was not convinced on the flavors at all. Very harsh aged rum and a nasty burn at the end.