Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Black Spiced rum

Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

6.1/10 (270 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
4
14
28
47
63
61
31
13
8

Rate Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


270 Captain Morgan Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Joel from Canada with 6 ratings

It's a very solid mixer, and not too bad straight either. Like the title says, Captain Morgan's Black Spiced is also a grand alternative to Kraken. Although they share many similar characteristics, Captain has a far better balance than its squiddy counterpart.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Krater from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

I find it smoother than a black rum from Kraken. Haven't tried it mixed. Not bad straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The charred barrels do this common one some good. While very similar to kraken, this is a bit thicker and with less menthol and more cassia flavor. The only CM I'll drink.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoy Captain Morgan Black for mixing. It is a bit harsh drinking neat, I figure the 94 proof does this. I prefer Dr. Pepper as a mixer over Coke for this one. Also, good with Red Bull that is similar to a Jager bomb, but I like this version better. I see a lot choose Kraken over the Black, but I like the finish of vanilla notes better on the Black as a mixer. A bit more going on than the Kraken and I feel smoother also.

Ffffff

Posted about 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

Nice warm and spicy feel. Can be drinked any way you want. Neat, on rocks or in drink. I like its caramel taste with no overwhelming licore like others black rums. Thick and melow in mouth.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Octavian from Romania with 14 ratings

It has a nice strong aroma. It is allowis nice to ingeoi a glass of this rum after work. It is also very good in cocktails

Ffffff

Posted 3 days ago by Seko from Czech Republic with 70 ratings

Significantly more refined than Captain Dark, sippable. In coke it seems a bit lost. If anything, it resembles Kraken, but has a tad less sugar. On the nose it is vanilla, spices, the taste The taste itself is not complicated, vanilla, caramel, the aftertaste is shortish but pleasant, with a hint of oak. Not actually bad for the money.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by 04700562 from South Africa with 1 rating

tried iet for the first time . I got a hint of vinalla and you can deffinately tastethe clover. this is the first spirit that I can drink stait and wil recommend this for everyone to try

Ffffff

Posted about 1 month ago by Jday0001 from United States with 6 ratings

I'm the first to say that my palate is not very refined. I've only been expanding my rum taste for a few years, but I've been drinking Morgan Black for ten or fifteen years. When I pick a loser it's always there to wash the bad taste out of my mouth.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Brian Hackney from United States with 8 ratings

This was once my go-to rum when I didnt know any better and was only drinking Dark & Stormy's. Now that I'm all about sipping with my cigar, I cant even look at this bottle.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

If you could just sit and smell one rum all day this would be it, lots of vanilla and spices. As a sipping rum it will serve you, but better if mixed with something.