Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Black Spiced rum

Rate Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


255 Captain Morgan Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Titomm from Canada with 59 ratings

with other blank spiced rhum. Personnally prefer the sailor jerry. for drinks only.

Posted about 4 years ago by Krater from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

I find it smoother than a black rum from Kraken. Haven't tried it mixed. Not bad straight.

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The charred barrels do this common one some good. While very similar to kraken, this is a bit thicker and with less menthol and more cassia flavor. The only CM I'll drink.

Posted over 4 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoy Captain Morgan Black for mixing. It is a bit harsh drinking neat, I figure the 94 proof does this. I prefer Dr. Pepper as a mixer over Coke for this one. Also, good with Red Bull that is similar to a Jager bomb, but I like this version better. I see a lot choose Kraken over the Black, but I like the finish of vanilla notes better on the Black as a mixer. A bit more going on than the Kraken and I feel smoother also.

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

Nice warm and spicy feel. Can be drinked any way you want. Neat, on rocks or in drink. I like its caramel taste with no overwhelming licore like others black rums. Thick and melow in mouth.

Posted about 4 years ago by Octavian from Romania with 14 ratings

It has a nice strong aroma. It is allowis nice to ingeoi a glass of this rum after work. It is also very good in cocktails

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian Hackney from United States with 8 ratings

This was once my go-to rum when I didnt know any better and was only drinking Dark & Stormy's. Now that I'm all about sipping with my cigar, I cant even look at this bottle.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

If you could just sit and smell one rum all day this would be it, lots of vanilla and spices. As a sipping rum it will serve you, but better if mixed with something.

Posted about 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 251 ratings

Not so sweet like Gold Spiced with good aroma, but in taste I feel something like Jagermeister 😒

Posted about 3 years ago by Lars Ivarius from Sweden with 7 ratings

Not much to say, perfect for The Coke!
But a stronger and more powerful taste than Spiced Gold.

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

As the name implies, this is a very dark rum. As a relatively new rum drinker, this tool me by surprise. Color aside, in a mixer this is a rich tasting, smooth drink. I prefer it over CM original spiced. Glad I bought the 1.75L.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Lawson from United States with 56 ratings

McDonald's would do the same. As others have said very similar to Kraken. Just a mass production take on things. Lots of vanilla and certainly a lot of sugar. Will do as a mixer and that's about it. But Hey it's alcohol so drink up.

Posted about 4 years ago by koon from Germany with 13 ratings

Eigentlich nur gekauft weil das Label ansprechend war. Doch super Überraschung. Zimtig und Karamell. Selbst Lakritze und Beeren vermag ich zu schmecken. Sollte man mal machen. (V1.0.)

Posted about 4 years ago by Kent Henriksson from Sweden with 17 ratings

Well obviously a try to cash in on the popularity of Kraken. Its a good mixer with a nice vanilla note.

Posted 4 days ago by darrenfitzp from United Kingdom with 13 ratings

Was given this as a gift, and I must say I was surprised by it. I saw some reviews saying it was better than Kraken, and I'd have to agree, not by a distance, but definitely edges it.

Posted 5 days ago by AW from Poland with 2 ratings

Very spiced and tasty. Sweet and dark. Good finish

Posted 6 days ago by Morgan from Russian Federation with 11 ratings

It has quite soft taste and rich aftertaste. I would recommend it for buying.

Posted 25 days ago by craigbenj from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

Personally I wouldn't recommend it straight, but mix in with some coke and there's a reason it's a classic.

Posted about 1 month ago by MadMadamGaetane from Belgium with 2 ratings

Nice, spicy rum... Very heavy on the aromas, which overrules the taste sometimes... More wintery

Posted about 1 month ago by Serbanik15 from Romania with 7 ratings

A good black spiced rum. A very good aroma. Better than Jamaican Rum version.

Posted about 1 month ago by Pricky55 from Australia with 6 ratings

Saturday is Rum Day.
I first tried this rum with soda and lime, way too fruity. Next I tried it with soda and it was still sweet with a strong taste of vanilla. I haven’t tried this rum with coke, it would be very sweet. As the ice melted, the Black Spiced became very tolerable and not as sweet as it was at first.

Posted 2 months ago by Metalli from Finland with 12 ratings

Caramel flavored spiced rum. Overly sweet, and cheap tasting, might work as a part of a cocktail, but I wouldn't use this as the main ingredient. I wouldn't recommend drinking this straight.

Posted 3 months ago by Frank van Rossum from Netherlands with 18 ratings

Deze best zoete rum vond ik echt niet lekker niet gemixt, niet met ijs

Posted 3 months ago by NobleEskimo from Canada with 11 ratings

There’s nothing wrong with it, there’s just nothing great about it. For my taste, it tasted for too much like caramel which drowned out much of the spice, which is what I like most in a Spiced Rum. There are far better Rums for a far better price

Posted 3 months ago by Marty from Czech Republic with 65 ratings

Ok, but nothing spec. .