Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Black Spiced rum
Captain Morgan Black Spiced rum

Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Puerto Rico | Spiced

6.1/10 (259 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
3
14
27
45
60
60
29
12
8

Rate Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


259 Captain Morgan Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

6ba16867159dd861191be79d83f71ca2.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Krater from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

I find it smoother than a black rum from Kraken. Haven't tried it mixed. Not bad straight.

8ab69c63206f9d2f597f46bf6ebc8839.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Adam from Canada with 22 ratings

The charred barrels do this common one some good. While very similar to kraken, this is a bit thicker and with less menthol and more cassia flavor. The only CM I'll drink.

63f3daccfac1a644b8690264cd3d13dd.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Matt from United States with 27 ratings

I enjoy Captain Morgan Black for mixing. It is a bit harsh drinking neat, I figure the 94 proof does this. I prefer Dr. Pepper as a mixer over Coke for this one. Also, good with Red Bull that is similar to a Jager bomb, but I like this version better. I see a lot choose Kraken over the Black, but I like the finish of vanilla notes better on the Black as a mixer. A bit more going on than the Kraken and I feel smoother also.

8a50f1fad8f250236b8860bd6eaa2728.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ghandimaster from CZ with 29 ratings

Nice warm and spicy feel. Can be drinked any way you want. Neat, on rocks or in drink. I like its caramel taste with no overwhelming licore like others black rums. Thick and melow in mouth.

1fd2fd8fcba294fda277fffff9a0d7b4.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 4 years ago by Octavian from Romania with 14 ratings

It has a nice strong aroma. It is allowis nice to ingeoi a glass of this rum after work. It is also very good in cocktails

F25e1048243303fec78b136f402ee38e.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Brian Hackney from United States with 8 ratings

This was once my go-to rum when I didnt know any better and was only drinking Dark & Stormy's. Now that I'm all about sipping with my cigar, I cant even look at this bottle.

E1a66718348d29da27ab39720c7e9498.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 3 years ago by Bruno from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

If you could just sit and smell one rum all day this would be it, lots of vanilla and spices. As a sipping rum it will serve you, but better if mixed with something.

535a8966b5071bfe8443074d22889836.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 3 years ago by Michal Micko (PREMIUM) from Czech Republic with 258 ratings

Not so sweet like Gold Spiced with good aroma, but in taste I feel something like Jagermeister 😒

F44bb51fd9520441b6c11d3d16fa99d3.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Lars Ivarius from Sweden with 7 ratings

Not much to say, perfect for The Coke!
But a stronger and more powerful taste than Spiced Gold.

79b2e938b97e9d05ab438df2e7502fba.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Patrick Schommer from United States with 13 ratings

As the name implies, this is a very dark rum. As a relatively new rum drinker, this tool me by surprise. Color aside, in a mixer this is a rich tasting, smooth drink. I prefer it over CM original spiced. Glad I bought the 1.75L.