Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan Black Spiced rum

Rate Captain Morgan Black Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


255 Captain Morgan Black Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted almost 5 years ago by Ben from Canada with 58 ratings

Thats my best mixer with cola and limes so far. Cheers

Posted about 1 year ago by Jleveille from Canada with 17 ratings

I didn’t like this one as much as I thought I would. This one is better mixed as a regular drink. Maybe it was the colour that threw me.

Posted about 1 year ago by Hedlund from Sweden with 36 ratings

Riktigt god drinkrom. Perfekt med cola eller i en dark and stormy.

Posted about 1 year ago by I3R0K3N7FEET from United Kingdom with 63 ratings

Was interested in trying this when I first saw it released, but managed to find a good deal on a 1l bottle so thought I would grab it.

This is clearly a rum that has been made to compete with Kraken, lets not beat it round the bush. We get a decent dash of vanilla and various other spices. Though the finish doesn't last long, and doesn't quite seem as full bodied as it should especially considering its a little stronger.

Straight or mixed, it is just underwhelming, and while not at all bad, considering its pricing, its just not something that can be recommended over Kraken, and doesn't even compete with the King of Rums right now (Rumbullion). There will likely be people that find this rum very easy to consume, and may even prefer it over Kraken, I totally get that, and so in that instance, its worth trying, I just dont think its worth the price.

Posted about 1 year ago by Fozzy from Sweden with 10 ratings

Smells like a pirate cany shop! This is my all time favorite mixing rum. Tastes great in a cuba libre. Sweet, fruity, vanilla, caramel, banana and some smokey oak. Could even works as a sipping rum but its best in a drink.
Meesa liiikey!!

Posted about 1 year ago by cocacola99 from Canada with 19 ratings

Bought this ON SALE last August ...it is now ..March.....finally opened it .....MMMMMMMMMM...what a VANILLA hit on the front ....WOW !!!
If you like rum from Captain Morgan ....do yourself a favour and buy it ...

Posted over 1 year ago by Jaf from Czech Republic with 11 ratings

Sweeter spiced taste - like this kind of rums.
Not so smooth as the Kraken rum, but very similar.
Good as the pleasant end of the night before you say goodbye to your friends.

Posted over 1 year ago by DuoDex from United States with 10 ratings

Rather tasty, although lacking in subtlety & distinct flavourings. I personally found it goes down well both neat and mixed. Cap'n Coke surprised me with how well the two combined.

However, it leaves a bit of an oily sensation in the mouth that eventually overpowered me.

Posted over 1 year ago by Kubit from Czech Republic with 32 ratings

Tenhle pan kapitán ok, pokud chcete nasládlou záležitost. Koření, vanilka, skořice. Jistá podobnost s Krakenem, ale za mě mezi těmito lahvemi bych sáhl asi po této. Řadím do kategorie babské pití, což neznamená nic špatného. Salut Mr. Captain Morgan

Posted over 1 year ago by jingis from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Zakúpené v tescu a následne zdegustovane v príjemnej spoločnosti. Na mňa príliš sladký.

Posted over 1 year ago by jiri.tutsch from Czech Republic with 24 ratings

Vanilka. Vanilka. Vanilka.
A s kofolou je z toho uzasny drink plné chuti a vuně sladkeho koreni.
Samotne to moc na piti neni.
Vytecne take a jablecnym mostem.

Posted over 1 year ago by 78monk from Australia with 12 ratings

I might have had a bad bottle but I found this to be undrinkable. Smelt like ethanol and bush fire. Tastes like sweet dirty charcoal. Harsh to swallow.

Posted over 1 year ago by rjohnston6 from Canada with 2 ratings

Much better than Kraken. Goes perfect with sprite and sitting around a camp fire.

Posted over 1 year ago by John kalodoukas from Greece with 4 ratings

The best spiced rum i have tasted (straight) so far ,but the list isnt long.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

...which is understandable. There are certainly some similarities.

Personally, I'd put this below Kraken, though feel that those who like this style of rum should try Black Magic, which is, in my opinion, superior to both.

Posted over 1 year ago by SVK_Klobasa from Slovakia with 7 ratings

Nothing special. Ordinary basic rum for start. I think most comercialized rum. Another rum for normal day

Posted over 1 year ago by Jara from Czech Republic with 35 ratings

Ostřejší, kořeněný rum, podobný Jasgermaisterovi. Sice o něco lepší než klasický Dark Jamaica, no ale to není zrovna bůhvíco.

Posted over 1 year ago by Phil Johnson from United Kingdom with 5 ratings

Very good as a mixer not to bad on the rocks either not quite as good as a kraken nicely spiced not to heavy good with Pepsi max

Posted over 1 year ago by pbelevtsev from Ukraine with 4 ratings

If you are just started your rum journey or even experienced one and not tasted it, believe me it worth to give a try...

Posted over 1 year ago by shaacul from Czech Republic with 78 ratings

Captain Morgan Black Spiced je pro rum to čím je Gambrinus pro české pivo. Ve velkém vyráběný průměr který neurazí.

Posted over 1 year ago by Tcrum from United Kingdom with 11 ratings

I purchased this on a boat, felt like a pirate until purchasing the cola required for this rum. Not great neat but an adequate smoky taste when mixed. Does a job.

Posted over 1 year ago by NewMenace from Romania with 13 ratings

This one is worse mixer than Kraken but it is a better option for people who like drinking rum straight. Nice warm and spicy feel. It is a few league above compared to the cheaper options from CM.

Posted over 1 year ago by Root-theory from Poland with 45 ratings

To już trzeci opisywany no blogu rum spod bandery Kapitana. Tym razem pozycjonowany oczko wyżej, ciemny (można nawet bez wstydu dodać: czarny) rum z dodatkiem przypraw. Występuje w dwóch wersjach, pierwsza trudniej dostępna ma moc 47,3% oraz zamykana jest gumowym korkiem (dostępna w USA), druga z oficjalnej polskiej oraz europejskiej dystrybucji opiszę Wam dzisiaj. Gdzieś w internecie natknąłem się też na odmianę 37,5% która posiada inną butelkę. Co do wyglądu natychmiastowo wzrok przyciąga ładna, nieregularna a'la pergaminowa etykieta z wyczerpującą ilością informacji. Całość pokrywa szczegółowa grafika oraz rysunki przypominające pisane czarnym atrametem. Zwieńczeniem całości są miedziane zdobienia napisów, embossing oraz niespodzianka po opróżnieniu butelki - patrz zdjęcie. Bardzo mi się podoba - mocne 7,5/10 za samą prezencję opakowania

szczegółową grafiką oraz rysunkami, tlem przypominającymi atrametn a zwienczeniem są miedziane napisy oraz stempel. Bardzo mi się podoba - mocne 7/10 za prezencje opakowania, korek byłby tu małą kropką nad I

ZAPACH: Czekolada, toffi, prażone orzech laskowe, dość gryzący alkohol, oraz trochę dębiny na końcu.

SMAK: Toffi, wanilia - na pierwszym planie jest słodko. Dalej palony cukier, cynamon, mleczna czekolada. Smak można opisać jako bogaty ale nie ciężki.

Można łatwo stiwierdzić że całość jest zbyt waniliowo-cynamonowa jak na prawidłowy, leżakowany rum (no i oczywiście zbyt ciemna, wręcz smolista) - dlatego dopisek na etykiecie spiced rozwiewa nam wszystkie wątpliwości. W stosunku do opisywanego na blogu rumu z kategorii spiced - SAILOR JERRY SPICED który to wydaje się być konkurecnją dla Kapitana można powiedzieć iż ten dzisiejszy jest delikatnie słodszy oraz gładszy właśnie dzięki pokładom wspomnianej wanili oraz toffi - całość można porównać do lodów. Jednak mam wrażenie że ten trunek jest mocno ugłaskany - przyprawy są wysokiej jakości co mocno wpływa na odczucia a pod ich pierzynką jednak skrywa się trunek który nie spędził w beczkach dość długo czasu lecz jej wpływ jest już wyczuwalny.

Cóż czas spróbować odmiany Captain Morgan Private Stock. Jestem również ciekaw porównania z Kraken lub Black Magic. Muszę zatem na nią rozpocząć sklepowe "polowanie".

OCENA: 65/100

Posted over 1 year ago by Alexey from United States with 25 ratings

disappointing expected more clear barrel taste but I v got spice box

Posted over 1 year ago by Martin Kennedy from Australia with 194 ratings

Has a lovely nose to it , i could smell this for a while.. very nice. Tried it straight and although quite sippable it tasted very sweet and artificial.. nice spices and a bit of liquorice. When mixed with cola it tasted like perfume ?? Not that im a big fan of Kraken but that would be my choice..