Posting your rating...
Bajan Estate XO rum

Bajan Estate XO

Barbados | Gold

7.3/10
27 ratings
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
13
9
2

Rate Bajan Estate XO

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

27 Bajan Estate XO ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Phil Northcott from United Kingdom with 16 ratings

I find the aroma of this rum misleading as it smells very dull. Upon tasting however it explodes in the mouth with an initial sweet vanilla and caramel hit. The rum then makes the tongue and tonsils tingle before leaving you with a warm liquorice after taste. I'm not an expert but the flavours in rums always seem better when sipped neat and at room temp rather than over ice which can make the rum rather harsh. Love this and the price is very reasonable.

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by pocasi from Czech Republic with 18 ratings

Koupil jsem v akci za cca 450 Kc, vzal jsem si rovnou 2 kusy. Chut je hodne podobny k Plantation XO. Vune je prijemna.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Charles M from United Kingdom with 139 ratings

I am pretty sure that this is just a rebranded version of their previous Bajan rum, with labelling being similar to the Guyanese and Jamaican rums that they released. Overly sweet, and somewhat unbalanced, although I can't quite work out whether is now has more cognac notes on it. I do feel that it would be better to cut out the sugar, but Ch Ferrand does like to sweeten their rums.

TBH there aren't that many traits that I would associate as a rum. If it didn't say rum on the label, then I might not even consider it to be one due to the sugar masking the fruit.

But......

It struck me this evening why I give it a 7 rather than something lower (which it really should have). It is very easy to drink and tonight I am in the mood to have a rum (of sorts!) that isn't going to test the taste-buds. I find myself reaching for this by default whenever I have it in the cupboard. Therefore it has a certain "je ne sais quoi" about it.

I seem to have finished my bottle pretty quickly and got another one. I am ever more convinced that it is a rebranded M&S Bajan rum of old.

Ffffff

Posted 2 years ago by Wilburo from United Kingdom with 3 ratings

It’s not clear to me whether this is a repackaged version of M&S’s Bajan Estate XO, or a new blend. It smells similar, and certainly continues to be Plantation in disguise: I bought a bottle today (reduced to £20), and it scanned as ‘Ferrand Caribbean Plantation.’

Whether it’s the exact same blend of not, it smells amazing (I think this may be the cognac barrels), and is great with lime and sugar. There is subtlety to enjoy here, some of which can be lost with bolder mixers; so best enjoyed relatively unadulterated, where that amazing smell can really be appreciated. An excellent rum, and well worth the price.

Small 20210106 185826

Posted over 2 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 45 ratings

M&S own label Barbados rum.
Double matured with a second round in ex-cognac barrel, giving it a strong Vanilla note.
A bit more restrained than Botucal/Diplomatico but 2/3 the price.
It's smooth, sweet (3/5) and user friendly, but a sweetened blend with average character.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Kieron wood (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 475 ratings

When reading up about this rum plantation came up a lot , due to the similar flavour profile , however the fatrumpirate had it confirmed that's it definitely not from plantation ...

It's woody and dry , not a great r hit drinkable on ice ...for the price you can get a decnet bottle to drink on ice but it's passable as a sipping rum , you can certainly taster the oak from the barrel and not much else ... Simple rum but ok

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2737 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Marks & Spencer Twin Barrel Aged XO Bajan Estate Rum while vacationing in Malta. Very nice and fresh bottle and label design. Light brown color, darker than golden. Reasonably priced at EUR 37 a bottle. My very first experience with Marks & Spencer distributed rum. Super dry and plenty of woodiness to both nose and palate. Quite a burn at the end. Add 2 points if you like your rums dry and woody. Not my cup of tea.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Steven Richardson from United Kingdom with 124 ratings

Barbados never disappoints for rum. Kudos to Marks & Spencer’s for stocking this. Great mixer, good sipper.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by mattrensa (PREMIUM) from United Kingdom with 21 ratings

What a star purchase, was online purchasing the M&S 10yr Guyanese single estate and this was on special at under £20 yes less than £20 a bottle and it's worth so much more. Read the other reviews and glad I did as and I have to agree it's is really good value. Yes it had added sugar and colour, which it states on the label, it's honest but equally bloody good. Smooth, rich, lovely nose, stands on its own against rums that are £10 plus more expensive. Fine (even good) as a sipping rum, but fab as a mixing rum with ginger ale and a slice of lime.
Buy a bottle take a chance, I usually prefer sweet notes on my rums (El Dorado, Abuelo, Pampero, Plantation etc) and this one is much of that ilk. Am now off to see if its still on special, if not still only £24 a bottle.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Craig from United Kingdom with 1 rating

It tastes great on its own. Smooth and kinda sweet.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Bill from United Kingdom with 86 ratings

Just about good enough to drink neat. Very good value when on offer in M&S. Worth a try definitely