Posting your rating...
Monkey Toasted Coconut rum

Monkey Toasted Coconut

Caribbean | Flavored

6.9/10 (14 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
2
1
1
2
4
2

Rate Monkey Toasted Coconut

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


14 Monkey Toasted Coconut ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Stroia from United States with 5 ratings

Not sickening sweet (like Malibu) but well balanced and just the right amount of coconut. I like to drink it straight like their spiced rum, but its great with a splash of coke or gingerale.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 448 ratings

I like this coconut rum.

I gave it a 6, because I like aged rums a lot more than flavored rums. But if you like coconut, you might like this one.

Tastes of toasted coconut and spice.

Better still, in my opinion, is the Koloa Coconut. :-)

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by mistercoughy from United States with 239 ratings

After reading the rave reviews for this rum I thought, "Scooter would have loved this stuff". Scooter was my pet colobus monkey, who met his untimely demise after a rather loud accident involving a lit cigarette and an open bottle of Stroh 160. But that's a tale for a different day...

This is very tasty rum, to be sure. I still prefer the rich, fruity flavor of Koloa Coconut to this Monkey rum, but they're both better - by a mile - than the commercial stuff on the shelves. Speaking of which, Monkey Rum isn't on most shelves, certainly not where I live. But these people will ship to any state in the US, no questions asked: http://www.holidaywinecellar.com. You're welcome!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by MikeyA53 from Canada with 34 ratings

I have several coconut rum in my bar including Malibu, Parrot Bay and Monkey Toasted Coconut is far superior. Use it in cocktails.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

Wanted to like this, believe there is a need for a better coconut rum. Just the faintest hint of coconut when brought to the nose and not much more when sipped. A burn strong prevents me from considering this a sipper. Mixed the coconut does not carry, the “toasting” leaves an after taste that is not helpful. Blended the coconut is lost and the rum is not good enough to carry the drink. With some of the great reviews this had I expected much more...

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2662 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Monkey Coconut Rum on a very cloudy afternoon. Unique bottle and label design. Syrupy clear color. Alcohol, oak and plenty of coconut flavored extracts to your nose and palate. Strong kick at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Candy from United States with 1 rating

This Rum is so smooth, no fake taste and not overpowering. I could do shots of this (and I don't usually like Rum at all) YUM Great stuff. Think about a pineapple next :)

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 66 ratings

It's a different vain of the coco/rum family but it does live up to its billing. I was most intrigued and delighted with the roasted flavor as it is finishes of a very good coconut rum in its own regard. Enjoy its a great mixer and should make for interesting conversation among friends.

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 347 ratings

I only tried one little 50 ml bottle of this, along with the same size of it's brother, Monkey Spiced. That was all I had one evening is 50 ml of each. So glad that I did not buy more.

The aroma is incredible, but that is where the pleasure ends since the taste just does not measure up due to excessive burn. Normally, I would rate this as a 5, but I have never had such a tiny amount of rum do such a number on my system the next day. If you have a long drive the next day, then don't touch this stuff. Since I had the Spiced and Toasted Coconut in one evening, it is difficult to determine which seasoning was the culprit. However, I would tend to think that it is from the cheap Trinidadian rum that both started out with and then aged for only 2-3 years. Start with crap and then there is no hope in the aging process.

Update: After trying Siesta Key Toasted Coconut and Spiced, Koloa Toasted Coconut, Blue Chair Bay Coconut, and Don Q Coconut, the coconut and spice is not to blame for the aftermath from this tiny little bit of Monkey. Therefore, I stick with my original assumption that a cheap Trinidadian rum base is the culprit for the ill effects the next day.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by KJ from United States with 24 ratings

There are so many coconut rums out there and many of them are great, so it was difficult to think that someone could make something new but just as good. It's not as sweet as Malibu, but has more flavor than Cruzan...and it taste stronger than both of these. Not to be too over done, you should infuse it with something you like. This summer, I infused it with watermelon. I made a watermelon lemonade then added some of the infused watermelon to it. It was really good.