Posting your rating...
Monkey Spiced rum

Monkey Spiced

Caribbean | Spiced

6.8/10
20 ratings
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
1
1
2
1
2
2
5
4

Rate Monkey Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

20 Monkey Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A very different spice rum with coconut overriding the spices; makes a nice change. Like most Monkey rums there is not a dominant taste, the rum is hidden and the spice selections are definitely second tier. It is almost like they took the coconut and added some spice.

Too sweet for a sipper, just not enough body to carry but a solid mixer. Have not blended it yet but can think of some that this might be special in.

Not a stocker for me but can be a wonderful change of pace.

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 472 ratings

This is one of the better spiced rums I've tried. Sweet molasses, vanilla, and an unusual spice that is not as sharp as most spiced rums, but I'm not sure what it is. Hints of oak and coconut as well.

Feels a bit stronger than the 35% it is, but not overpowering. A nice spiced rum!

Ffffff

Posted almost 2 years ago by Adreinke from United States with 16 ratings

This is one of the better spiced rims I’ve had. Works very well for cooking and especially love the flavor it adds to a rum cake!

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ian crystal from United States with 1 rating

Great barrel aged spiced rum that can be sipped straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bruce from United States with 1 rating

Starting from the bottle and the name both are great. The return shot glass from the bottom of the bottle. Neat idea. Will work on getting a collection. The aroma, taste, spice and smoothness are the best I have had.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

I don't like it very much as the flavors don't seem to be very intense nor expansive. Tastes like imitation ingredients causing a taste that isn't very enjoyable to me.

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Stroia from United States with 5 ratings

My favorite rum by far. Not too spiced, but wonderfully complex!

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Elliott from United States with 2 ratings

Great product ! Smooth with a nice balanced spice level ! This was a big hit with my Memorial Day party ! Just about emptied out with the Capt Morgan close 2nd ! Jack Daniel was right on track as well humping Morgan ! Can't go wrong on this one !

Ffffff

Posted 5 years ago by Kevin Guske from United States with 6 ratings

I'd love to know the spices in this delicious sipping rum, but I'm sure the competition would too. It's smooth and tasty, would mix well, but tastes great neat. The up cycle your bottle into a nice glass is nifty, but that gimmick doesn’t detract from this excellent choice, and neither should the low cost

Ffffff

Posted over 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off let me be upfront...I wouldn't know Zane Lamprey if he _____[fill in your own "I wouldn't know" punchline here]_____ but dadgummit, this is a very, very good spiced rum he's selling.

First off the color is beautiful golden brown. And it has a wonderful aroma both from the bottle and in the snifter. I once again admit that I cannot adequately describe aromas but I can tell you that I really like this one.

Now apparently from what I've read the rum itself originates from Angostura in Trinidad and is aged two to three years in oak, filtered a bit and then blended with natural spices. The result is a delightful, well-balanced spiced rum. Surpisingly it does not taste overly sweet like a lot of cheaper spiced rums nor does it have an artificial chemical aftertaste. Immediately I detected coconut...real coconut along with a butteriness. There are other flavors subtly in the background. Kind of a vanilla/toffee thing going.

And it's quite smooth. Has a little burn to it that is nice and leads to a coconut finish. This is a remarkable spiced rum worthy of kicking back and sipping on its own. And of course it is most worthy of mixing in cocktails for a truly well-rounded adult beverage.

I have only two spiced rums that I'm willing to give a "9" rating (Siesta Key Spiced Rum and Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced Rum) so this makes the third.

Excellent job, Mr. Lamprey.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by BrianC from United States with 2 ratings

Zane Lamprey's foray into a premium distilled spirit is no disappointment. I love how smooth the spiced rum is with a very welcome hint of vanilla and spices. I normally enjoy spiced rums with diet coke, but this one has so much flavor and character, I enjoy it on the rocks. You really must try this one.