Posting your rating...
Monkey Spiced rum

Monkey Spiced

Caribbean | Spiced

6.8/10 (18 ratings)
Tasty, but not quite great

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
1
2
1
2
2
5
3

Rate Monkey Spiced

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


18 Monkey Spiced ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

First off let me be upfront...I wouldn't know Zane Lamprey if he _____[fill in your own "I wouldn't know" punchline here]_____ but dadgummit, this is a very, very good spiced rum he's selling.

First off the color is beautiful golden brown. And it has a wonderful aroma both from the bottle and in the snifter. I once again admit that I cannot adequately describe aromas but I can tell you that I really like this one.

Now apparently from what I've read the rum itself originates from Angostura in Trinidad and is aged two to three years in oak, filtered a bit and then blended with natural spices. The result is a delightful, well-balanced spiced rum. Surpisingly it does not taste overly sweet like a lot of cheaper spiced rums nor does it have an artificial chemical aftertaste. Immediately I detected coconut...real coconut along with a butteriness. There are other flavors subtly in the background. Kind of a vanilla/toffee thing going.

And it's quite smooth. Has a little burn to it that is nice and leads to a coconut finish. This is a remarkable spiced rum worthy of kicking back and sipping on its own. And of course it is most worthy of mixing in cocktails for a truly well-rounded adult beverage.

I have only two spiced rums that I'm willing to give a "9" rating (Siesta Key Spiced Rum and Old New Orleans Cajun Spiced Rum) so this makes the third.

Excellent job, Mr. Lamprey.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I don't like it very much as the flavors don't seem to be very intense nor expansive. Tastes like imitation ingredients causing a taste that isn't very enjoyable to me.

Ffffff

Posted 11 months ago by je_farley from United States with 107 ratings

A very different spice rum with coconut overriding the spices; makes a nice change. Like most Monkey rums there is not a dominant taste, the rum is hidden and the spice selections are definitely second tier. It is almost like they took the coconut and added some spice.

Too sweet for a sipper, just not enough body to carry but a solid mixer. Have not blended it yet but can think of some that this might be special in.

Not a stocker for me but can be a wonderful change of pace.

Ffffff

Posted about 1 year ago by Adreinke (PREMIUM) from United States with 17 ratings

This is one of the better spiced rims I’ve had. Works very well for cooking and especially love the flavor it adds to a rum cake!

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Monkey Spiced Rum on a very cloudy afternoon. Unique bottle and label design. Bright golden color. Alcohol, oak and plenty of vanilla flavored extracts to your nose and palate. Strong kick at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped.

Ffffff

Posted over 1 year ago by Robert from United States with 58 ratings

Nice vanilla flavor with almost no alcohol burn. Great for sipping or with cola.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Ian crystal from United States with 1 rating

Great barrel aged spiced rum that can be sipped straight.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 334 ratings

This one tastes a bit smoother than it's brother called Toasted Coconut, mainly from flavors of caramel and vanilla and a few strange spices. However, as a word of warning, a mere 50 ml can make for one miserable long drive the next day. For taste, this one also would get a rating of 5, but drops down to a 4 for its aftermath. See my review on Monkey Toasted Coconut for further details. I am not into duplicating my own reviews and then changing a few words. These two rums taste entirely different, but both have the same base.

As for starting out with a bad base such as this one, I have to reiterate a wild idea that I had years ago. I told a few wine snobs that my goal was to become a Thunderbird tycoon, as in taking rot gut Thunderbird Wine and then aging it in oak barrels to get the impurities out. Well, I even researched how that stuff is made and the executives at all companies that make "bum wine" such as Thunderbird won't even touch it. All kinds of nasty things get mixed in with the grapes (I will leave that to your imagination) and then it is made strictly for the consumption by the dirt poor with the only purpose of being to get stinking drunk. So once one puts crap into wooden barrels in the hopes of aging all impurities out, there are some awful things that will just never come out in the end. I don't think that the rum used for Monkey is nearly as bad as "bum wine", but it sure in hell is not good.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Bruce from United States with 1 rating

Starting from the bottle and the name both are great. The return shot glass from the bottom of the bottle. Neat idea. Will work on getting a collection. The aroma, taste, spice and smoothness are the best I have had.

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by matt from United States with 1 rating

I saw that this rum was rated highly on here and for the most part this site has never steered me wrong. But wow was this one way off. This might honestly be the worst rum I've ever tasted. Horribly over spiced with no flavor just alcohol burn and a mix of everything from the spice cabinet. How is this rated an 8.....

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Stroia from United States with 5 ratings

My favorite rum by far. Not too spiced, but wonderfully complex!