Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 100 rum

Captain Morgan 100

Puerto Rico | Spiced

4.7/10
100 ratings
Flawed with a glimmer of hope

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
6
7
7
23
18
23
9
6
1

Rate Captain Morgan 100

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!



Advert Image

Advertisement | Go Premium to remove

100 Captain Morgan 100 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted over 2 years ago by Hollister from United States with 4 ratings

This is my go to mixer for Diet Coke. I love the vanilla notes.

Ffffff

Posted over 6 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

Originally posted on my blog...

First taste… WOW! That will wake you up. At 100 proof it can also put you down in a hurry. There is no hiding that strength. No Captain Morgan rum has ever been accused of being shy. There is some burn of course, but much less than many weaker rums i have tried. Captain Morgan 100 proof reminds me of drinking vanilla extract. There’s a little more going on of course. But Captain Morgan is a simple drink. Even with the burn I wouldn’t call this rum rough at all though. It doesn’t smack your face like Captain Morgan Black Spiced does. Oh you do know this alcohol, no doubt about it. More importantly with all that sweet vanilla you know you are drinking RUM. After getting Captain Morgan Black Cask nice and chilled it was actually a very pleasant sipper. I had it nice and neat in a little glass jar. No ice, no water. There was no bitter aftertaste in the finish whatsoever. The finish is short and dry but that’s not really a bad thing. This Captain Morgan doesn’t linger on the tongue except for a mild vanilla aftertaste. Mixed with diet cola it was pretty much Vanilla Coke with some punch…and kick… Really though, i preferred it straight up.
I can’t see any reason to bother with the 70 proof version other than just to compare the two. This is a good rum. Is it a delciate balance of fine aged rum and spices? NO! What is it then? Captain Morgan Spiced 100 Proof is smooth, tasty, and STRONG. It’s a simple and uncomplicated high proof rum. This makes it fun and easy to drink, which is probably why the brand is so popular. I find this rum to be a perfectly acceptable sipper. There are better sippers for sure, but don’t underestimate this one. On top of that Captain Morgan Black Cask Spiced 100 mixes wonderfully in cola and tea. The tea was an accident, but a happy accident indeed.
The Captain has earned his spot in the marketplace by being accessible and consistent. Introducing a smooth more potent big brother to the classic is a huge step in the right direction! Captain Morgan Black Cask 100 Proof Rum will always have a home in my liquor cabinet.

Ffffff

Posted almost 7 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

This is a powerful rum very strong strictly for Hunch Punch

Ffffff

Posted 7 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

Not sure the point of this offering from the Capt. but sampled none the less. It was fine, but I usually do not drink to get drunk, and I have to wonder if this is its purpose? Taste almost identical to Original Capt. and because of the extra $$, I would just stay with the original. I did not sample straight, only with coke.

Ffffff

Posted almost 6 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

No mixing, no ice, no coke. Just a case of the stuff. I don't even need glasses.

Ffffff

Posted 3 months ago by Geohead from Slovakia with 2 ratings

Absolutely terrible taste, terrible unnatural light color. There is something poisonous in that rum. Even when I mixed it with a 0.5l of coca cola and added a lime, I felt that awfull taste. My mother used to add a cheapest rum inside her Christmas pies and even this tuzemský um (that's name of that cheap rum) taste better that captain Morgan spiced.

Ffffff

Posted 4 months ago by Dom9496 (PREMIUM) from United States with 7 ratings

Better than the classic but nothing too special about it. Has a stronger proof which is great.

Ffffff

Posted 6 months ago by littonsteve1 from United States with 21 ratings

This is the best of the captain Morgan line that i have tried so far. Much better taste than the original.

Ffffff

Posted 7 months ago by sebastospud from United States with 16 ratings

Yeah, I guess this was my intro, like so many others. But. It burns. It's sickly sweet. It's just... ok where you need it for some spiced sweet mixers, but otherwise...

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by cantongamer from United States with 11 ratings

Used to be my go to rum for my version of Cuba Libre until I found Sailor Jerry.

Ffffff

Posted 1 year ago by Jordan.carlson from United States with 1 rating

A good classic go-to rum for a drink after work. A decent rum to sip, and a good mixer with cola