Posting your rating...
Captain Morgan 100 rum

Rate Captain Morgan 100

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


95 Captain Morgan 100 ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Rodrigo from Mexico with 115 ratings

Es de los peores rones, no lo recomiendo ni para coctelería, no me gustan los rones con especias y miel

Posted over 5 years ago by Sammie from United States with 15 ratings

Originally posted on my blog...

First taste… WOW! That will wake you up. At 100 proof it can also put you down in a hurry. There is no hiding that strength. No Captain Morgan rum has ever been accused of being shy. There is some burn of course, but much less than many weaker rums i have tried. Captain Morgan 100 proof reminds me of drinking vanilla extract. There’s a little more going on of course. But Captain Morgan is a simple drink. Even with the burn I wouldn’t call this rum rough at all though. It doesn’t smack your face like Captain Morgan Black Spiced does. Oh you do know this alcohol, no doubt about it. More importantly with all that sweet vanilla you know you are drinking RUM. After getting Captain Morgan Black Cask nice and chilled it was actually a very pleasant sipper. I had it nice and neat in a little glass jar. No ice, no water. There was no bitter aftertaste in the finish whatsoever. The finish is short and dry but that’s not really a bad thing. This Captain Morgan doesn’t linger on the tongue except for a mild vanilla aftertaste. Mixed with diet cola it was pretty much Vanilla Coke with some punch…and kick… Really though, i preferred it straight up.
I can’t see any reason to bother with the 70 proof version other than just to compare the two. This is a good rum. Is it a delciate balance of fine aged rum and spices? NO! What is it then? Captain Morgan Spiced 100 Proof is smooth, tasty, and STRONG. It’s a simple and uncomplicated high proof rum. This makes it fun and easy to drink, which is probably why the brand is so popular. I find this rum to be a perfectly acceptable sipper. There are better sippers for sure, but don’t underestimate this one. On top of that Captain Morgan Black Cask Spiced 100 mixes wonderfully in cola and tea. The tea was an accident, but a happy accident indeed.
The Captain has earned his spot in the marketplace by being accessible and consistent. Introducing a smooth more potent big brother to the classic is a huge step in the right direction! Captain Morgan Black Cask 100 Proof Rum will always have a home in my liquor cabinet.

Posted almost 6 years ago by Chris from United States with 21 ratings

This is a powerful rum very strong strictly for Hunch Punch

Posted about 6 years ago by Alden Mosher from United States with 16 ratings

Not sure the point of this offering from the Capt. but sampled none the less. It was fine, but I usually do not drink to get drunk, and I have to wonder if this is its purpose? Taste almost identical to Original Capt. and because of the extra $$, I would just stay with the original. I did not sample straight, only with coke.

Posted almost 5 years ago by B from United States with 23 ratings

No mixing, no ice, no coke. Just a case of the stuff. I don't even need glasses.

Posted 9 days ago by Jordan.carlson from United States with 1 rating

A good classic go-to rum for a drink after work. A decent rum to sip, and a good mixer with cola

Posted 2 months ago by VodkaRumTabs from United States with 4 ratings

Found a whole bottle I forgot I had bought and it was unopened too, had been a while since I’ve drank 100 proof rum so I thought it might be pretty harsh cuz I’ve been drinking 80 proof mount gay recently but no, it was amazing, and it’s good to swig, sip and mix.

Posted 3 months ago by Petnek from Czech Republic with 8 ratings

Good for Coke or other coctails. For drinking? Nope!

Posted 6 months ago by apaniagua from Spain with 40 ratings

Es un sucedaneo de ron especiado que parece ron de verdad y no esta malo.
Mejor con cocacola.

Posted 12 months ago by Ifitsbrokenfixit from United States with 12 ratings

How does the extra proof make this go from tolerable to absolutely bleh... how... Its like captain mixed with rubbing alcohol... stick to the OG if you have to

Posted about 1 year ago by Janne68 from Sweden with 13 ratings

Not directly my first choice in terms of rum, works marginally with Coke or in any drink.

Posted about 1 year ago by Amauri from United States with 29 ratings

Dont really like the taste of this rum. I prefer not spicy or flavoured rum either.

Posted over 1 year ago by lprgcfrank from United States with 20 ratings

Will only drink if this is all the establishment has...

Posted over 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

What an awful experience Captain Morgan 100 Spiced Rum really was. Cheap bottle and label design. Cheap at $12 per bottle. Artificially golden color. Strong vanilla mixed with a plethora of artificial spices and pure alcohol to your nose and palate. Nasty and long lasting burn at the end. Run away from this one!

Posted over 1 year ago by Mark from United Kingdom with 20 ratings

Kinda what I expected, not great. I've tried it once so don't need to again.

Posted over 1 year ago by Hector from United States with 59 ratings

This is ovbously not simethig you want drink straight or even mixed unless you want to get polluted, I use it to making flaming drinks like a flaming Dr. Pepper, is not as strong as 151 but it still lights up!!

Posted over 1 year ago by Hollister from United States with 4 ratings

This is my go to mixer for Diet Coke. I love the vanilla notes.

Posted over 1 year ago by Dabbixc70 from Iceland with 1 rating

I've usually had a bottle near by for quick captain and coke. I usually have other rums that i dring either neat or on the rocks. But Captain and Coke never gets old and does not hurt you're wallet

Posted about 2 years ago by Robert Ferron from United Kingdom with 166 ratings

At 37.5 It's not rum but a rum based drink taste is articial vanilla, heavily sweetened, cinnamon, clove etc young and unadulterated! Yuk

Posted about 2 years ago by Dean from United States with 6 ratings

This is rum that tastes like chemicals were added to give it an añejo flavor. Too sweet, but chicks dig it

Posted about 2 years ago by Iván Plata from Mexico with 32 ratings

Recuerdo haber cogido gusto por el ron con esta presentación.
Ideal para realizar cócteles amateur y para complacer a tu bolsillo.

Posted about 2 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I tried this alongside the regular Captain Morgan Spiced, and I slightly preferred that one.

Like the regular Captain Morgan, this smells and tastes of vanilla, honey, and marshmallow, but lacks a solid core rum flavor. A little harsher than the regular Captain Morgan (as expected for a 50%abv rum), and the flavors don't come out as well. I'd stick with the regular Captain Morgan Spice.

Posted over 2 years ago by Michael N from United States with 69 ratings

This should be the standard for a mixing spiced rum. Who can argue with a 100 proof rum and coke.

Posted over 2 years ago by Dan from United Kingdom with 32 ratings

A rum that's perfectly drinkable, but isn't going to blow anybody away.

Posted over 2 years ago by James from United States with 29 ratings

Just a the title says - this is a mixing rum. Harsh amd rough flavor that is not,oleasant on the,nose or palate.