Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Trinidad rum

Rate Plantation 2001 Trinidad

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


29 Plantation 2001 Trinidad ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 3 years ago by Tinyhunter from Switzerland with 26 ratings

Was a lovely round rum, for every day..Better than the 20th aniversary rum. I prefer still the three island version even better.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Tried the Plantation Trinidad 1999 and 2001 back-to-back and they are surprisingly similar in both flavor profile and taste. A lot of the Plantation rums are very different from one vintage to another, but with the case of the Trinidad 1999 and 2001, you would be hard pressed to tell the difference between each other. Luckily I poured them in different colored glasses, so it was easy to remember which is which. Both have the same one thing come to my mind, the word 'mellow'. Not a lo of Plantation rums should be called mellow, but both Plantation Trinidad 1999 and 2001 are mellow as one can be. Smell has a surprisingly strong alcohol to it, but the flavor profile is very bleak and hardly any burn at the end. Mellow like I said.

Posted over 3 years ago by Hans-Durstig from United Kingdom with 43 ratings

Very nice looking bottle with a cork stopper - does well for a present.
Colour is a pale straw, suggesting little, if any, added caramel.
Bouquet reasonably full with a clear hint of a tobacco note.
This is even stronger on the palate, similar to the tarry note of a Doorley's XO, but not as overpowering as the medicinal note of the Angostura rums. However here it is well balanced by a moderate sweetness (3/5) due to the Plantation double-ageing and the combination works for me.
I like it as an alternative Zacapa 23 or the Mars & Spencer Guatemalan Cana Negra.

Posted about 4 years ago by Gondwana from Austria with 7 ratings

Nose: dried Bananas, Cane Sugar,Paw Paws, Mangoes
Taste: dried Bananas, ripe Paw Paws Cane Sugar some sweet Tobacco, light oily, some bitterness from the cask
Finish: long lasting finish

Reminds me hanging in a Hammock at Rumpoint on the Cayman Islands B.W.I

Posted about 1 year ago by Calmar from Russian Federation with 25 ratings

В аромате строгий и весьма дубовый, вкус более сладкий, пряный и травянистый, с нотками изюма и восточных сладостей, в целом неплохое впечатление производит, хотя и слегка субтилен. 8/10

The aroma is strict and very oak, the taste is more sweet, spicy and grassy, with hints of raisins and oriental sweets, as a whole makes a good impression, although it is slightly subtle.

Posted over 1 year ago by Razia from Netherlands with 12 ratings

Lots of smell, lots of taste, aftertaste not so much though. Good rum for any moment.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Coen Jaakke from Netherlands with 2 ratings

Not overly sweet and a bit too much of an alcohol taste for me but overall a good choice.

Posted over 2 years ago by Lembu from Finland with 7 ratings

Not overly sugar flavored like some other plantation bottles, this one has some nice dried fruit and alcohol smell, very balanced, long taste and revarding herbs and liqourice notes at finnish.

Posted over 2 years ago by Card from United States with 62 ratings

You definitely get a hit of strong alcohol that stays with you. It really dominates the taste. Good smell like other plantation rums with a nice sweet bouquet but hard to get past the strong alcohol dominance

Posted over 2 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Very Nice sipper rum.... sweet But not sugar sweet....
Nice and very drinkeble

Posted almost 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 38 ratings

It's a tasty sipper without any burn on the nose or in the mouth. I can't put my finger on it but it feels like molasses heavy with almond and vanilla flavors. I will not be mixing this but I rather store it for times when I want something in the medium range of tastes.

Enjoy... I paid 22 for this bottle so I'm biased.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Plantation is known for its award winning rum from various islands in single year aging and production. Their Trinidad rum is no exception. Mixture of fruit, oak with some baking spice thrown in to create a flavorful rum that is meant to be enjoyed neat. A higher end mixer and moderate range sipper that will set you back about $40 or so.

Posted about 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Plantation Trinidad 2001 42%

Color: light amber, slightly darker than straw. The legs are slightly oily, the body is not dense.
Aroma: light smoke, tobacco notes, coffee / cocoa, sugar cane, tender, dried fruits
Taste: light, soft, small sweetness, honey and herbaceous notes, oak, rather dry.
Aftertaste: short, sweetness replaced by pepper, herbaceous

Light and spicy rum. English style, something you can not find here. From the Plantation line is simple, just try it. Pleasant. Someone will have this style to taste, where there is no heavy oak, excessive bitterness or sweetness. Moderately sweet, moderately dry. Just sip the rum on a hot day

75 points.

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted over 3 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I love Jamaican Rums, and This Plantation was the rum that made me look further into the Jamaican Rums. However, this rum didn't taste like I remembered it tasting, and also I didn't get a big Jamaican feel from it. I think it tasted more like the Zacapa Rum (which I tried after tasting this one). I am wondering if my pallet has changed since I last had this bottle years ago, or if Plantation has another Jamaican Rum. Don't get me wrong, it was a taste treat with its subtle sweet flavors of creamy vanilla and body opens up your trout finishing with a slandered rum aftertaste with a hint of bittersweet molasses. As a rum I would give it a 7/10, but I don't get a Jamaican feel from this one. Which is disappointing.

Posted over 3 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Deutlicher Karamellgeschmack. Weich, angenehm süß. Etwas Bitterschokolade, komplexe Aromen. Langer Nachhall.

Posted over 3 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

This could be a good aged rum for a scotch drinker to start with. Has a smokey element.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lo Zio from Italy with 25 ratings

Ottime note fruttate e di canna da zucchero per questo Plantation.
Buona persistenza, si spegne bene sul palato senza retrogusti.
Promosso!

Posted almost 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

One of the fruitiest rums, I ever tasted. Since I love fruits, I enjoyed it, but maybe a little bit too much on the sweet side.

Posted about 4 years ago by Marc Cardinal from Belgium with 401 ratings

After passing through the jamaica , we are here in Trinidad with a 2001 vintage that is more in pastry with notes of vanilla, butterscotch and oak that is always present . The finish leaves appear aromas of leather. It's okay but this rum will not let me unforgettable memories

Posted over 4 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

In the interest of full disclosure I have to admit Plantation is definitely one of my favorite brands of rum. I have really liked, by varying degrees, each of the rums I've sampled thus far from them. I wish I had a source for more of the different kinds they produce.

First thing I noticed is the pleasant aroma lacking any noticeable sting. The taste is sweet with hints of vanilla, molasses, and butterscotch along with a butteriness coating the tongue. The sweetness isn't overpowering and doesn't seem to be an additive like some other rums. Not much of a burn. Rather a mild warmth. There is a presence of oak to the flavor but not a harsh one. This is a smooth rum and would make for a good sipping rum.

Posted over 4 years ago by Chevalivier from Canada with 15 ratings

Tasted this particular vintage last November in a tasting of a few different Plantation products. This was the first one on the list.
24 hours fermentation, distilled in column stills and then aged 10 years in bourbon casks in Trinidad. The special part about this one is the 3 years (a quite long time even in Plantation standards) finish in small Cognac casks.
The end result is delicious, with distinctive notes of citrus, vanilla and a touch of cinnamon. Smooth mouth feel with some nuts aromas and a nice leathery finish.

Posted over 4 years ago by Per Rosenhave from Denmark with 173 ratings

Forkert billede til titlen, øv.
Må se at få stablet en dansk side på benene :)

Puha, der er godt nok mange Plantation rum og når man nu er en skør samler som jeg er, vil man jo gerne have dem alle :)

Posted over 4 years ago by Niclas Carlman from Sweden with 77 ratings

Unlike its Barbados cousin this have some wood and spice in addition to its sweetnes. Also it has a longer afterburn.




#