Posting your rating...
Plantation 2001 Trinidad rum

Plantation 2001 Trinidad

Caribbean | Aged

7.2/10 (30 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
2
2
15
10
1

Rate Plantation 2001 Trinidad

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


30 Plantation 2001 Trinidad ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted almost 5 years ago by Beukeboom from United States with 305 ratings

In the interest of full disclosure I have to admit Plantation is definitely one of my favorite brands of rum. I have really liked, by varying degrees, each of the rums I've sampled thus far from them. I wish I had a source for more of the different kinds they produce.

First thing I noticed is the pleasant aroma lacking any noticeable sting. The taste is sweet with hints of vanilla, molasses, and butterscotch along with a butteriness coating the tongue. The sweetness isn't overpowering and doesn't seem to be an additive like some other rums. Not much of a burn. Rather a mild warmth. There is a presence of oak to the flavor but not a harsh one. This is a smooth rum and would make for a good sipping rum.

Ffffff

Posted 3 years ago by Ronnie bo jensen from Denmark with 27 ratings

Very Nice sipper rum.... sweet But not sugar sweet....
Nice and very drinkeble

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Gerome from United States with 40 ratings

It's a tasty sipper without any burn on the nose or in the mouth. I can't put my finger on it but it feels like molasses heavy with almond and vanilla flavors. I will not be mixing this but I rather store it for times when I want something in the medium range of tastes.

Enjoy... I paid 22 for this bottle so I'm biased.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 230 ratings

Plantation is known for its award winning rum from various islands in single year aging and production. Their Trinidad rum is no exception. Mixture of fruit, oak with some baking spice thrown in to create a flavorful rum that is meant to be enjoyed neat. A higher end mixer and moderate range sipper that will set you back about $40 or so.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Evgenii from Russian Federation with 19 ratings

Plantation Trinidad 2001 42%

Color: light amber, slightly darker than straw. The legs are slightly oily, the body is not dense.
Aroma: light smoke, tobacco notes, coffee / cocoa, sugar cane, tender, dried fruits
Taste: light, soft, small sweetness, honey and herbaceous notes, oak, rather dry.
Aftertaste: short, sweetness replaced by pepper, herbaceous

Light and spicy rum. English style, something you can not find here. From the Plantation line is simple, just try it. Pleasant. Someone will have this style to taste, where there is no heavy oak, excessive bitterness or sweetness. Moderately sweet, moderately dry. Just sip the rum on a hot day

75 points.

Ffffff

Posted over 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Joseph Blossman from United States with 40 ratings

I love Jamaican Rums, and This Plantation was the rum that made me look further into the Jamaican Rums. However, this rum didn't taste like I remembered it tasting, and also I didn't get a big Jamaican feel from it. I think it tasted more like the Zacapa Rum (which I tried after tasting this one). I am wondering if my pallet has changed since I last had this bottle years ago, or if Plantation has another Jamaican Rum. Don't get me wrong, it was a taste treat with its subtle sweet flavors of creamy vanilla and body opens up your trout finishing with a slandered rum aftertaste with a hint of bittersweet molasses. As a rum I would give it a 7/10, but I don't get a Jamaican feel from this one. Which is disappointing.

Ffffff

Posted almost 4 years ago by Klaus from Germany with 61 ratings

Deutlicher Karamellgeschmack. Weich, angenehm süß. Etwas Bitterschokolade, komplexe Aromen. Langer Nachhall.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Jason from United States with 13 ratings

This could be a good aged rum for a scotch drinker to start with. Has a smokey element.

Ffffff

Posted 4 years ago by Lo Zio from Italy with 25 ratings

Ottime note fruttate e di canna da zucchero per questo Plantation.
Buona persistenza, si spegne bene sul palato senza retrogusti.
Promosso!

Ffffff

Posted over 4 years ago by Bastian from Germany with 14 ratings

One of the fruitiest rums, I ever tasted. Since I love fruits, I enjoyed it, but maybe a little bit too much on the sweet side.