Posting your rating...
Fair Gold 5-Year rum

Rate Fair Gold 5-Year

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


26 Fair Gold 5-Year ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 3 years ago by Francois from France with 82 ratings

First of all, this is a 5y old rum without added sugar/caramel, so it is pretty dry compare to the usual "premium" rums. It is finished in Kentucky bourbon barrels.
That said, it is pretty smooth with no after burn, which is a 10 for that kind of rum.
The nose is amazing, notes of chocolate, coffee and grilled bananas.
The taste then will give you a hint of vanilla, but then maybe the bourbon finishing is a bit too present for me to feel more aromas,
Overall, best 5y old rum I have tested so far. Very nice rum for an even better price, fair you said? ;)

Posted over 4 years ago by Jimmyan from KR with 19 ratings

as most rum brands strive to reach premium by slotting longer aged liquid to make deep character, it's rather uncommon for a good rum to come from a single digit years of aging. mass produced products can benefit from their available vast sources of liquids to blend but small craft brands must strive for a little differentiated character of their own. this rum affords such with only short 5 years of aging but shows great potential if aged few more years. rather good choice if you are into organic ingredients, fair trade certifications and small batch craft rum.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jagsroy (PREMIUM) from Canada with 153 ratings

I recently spotted bottles of Fair Gold 5 yr Rums at our local liquor stores and was intrigued by this product from Belize. Upon reading reviews on Rumratings and learning that this product does not contain any added sugar, I decided to splurge ($55 CAD) and try it for myself.

My initial impression was that of a dry rum similar to most Bajan rums yet, with a natural sweetness as opposed to rums altered with added sugar or other additives, with distinct notes of vanilla and oak. In spite of its young age, I found this rum to be very smooth, enjoyable and unique (to me). Being fairly new to the rum world and unfamiliar with the taste of bourbon, this unique flavour may very well be a result from aging in bourbon barrels as reported by other reviewers.

In my view, this rum is indeed a good sipper and I now wish older offerings were available for purchase in my area. Well done.

Posted over 3 years ago by Tomy from Romania with 388 ratings

It has a distinctive taste, You can feel the purity of the rum. When we talk about the taste You can feel, This rum has a diffrent approach from the classic rum producers. If it would just stay for a bit longer in properly aged barrels, a great finnesse would acompany the allready rich taste. You can only love or hate this rum, but for me it was a pleasant surprize.

Posted 24 days ago by s3rg3d from France with 4 ratings

40€ à la maison du whisky.
On sent bien le fut de bourbon et c’est équilibré. J’aime beaucoup !

Posted about 2 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 116 ratings

Beau rhum à déguster avec une glace pour seulement un 5 ans.De plus il est produit par une coop (fairtrade)

Posted 4 months ago by Mo McGurk from United States with 159 ratings

A 5.5 on my scale. A little bit of oak. A lot more burn than I would have liked at the end. Mixed okay. Co-op grown in Belize. Wonderful motto: Think Human, Drink Fair.

Posted 4 months ago by Scott from United Kingdom with 30 ratings

Love this rum, really smooth and pleasurable. All fair trade sugar cane too, whats not to like?

Posted 9 months ago by M.R.J. from Finland with 203 ratings

This is a simple, ok rum of good quality. Nothing to go on and rant about, but it is an honest rum. vanilla, bourbon spices, wood. No added sugar, thank God.

Posted about 1 year ago by Nemo072009 from France with 4 ratings

Un rhum qui a mon goût reste cherpoir ce qu'il rend en therme de saveur...

Posted over 1 year ago by Bart from Belgium with 48 ratings

Real nice rum, present from my firstborn, and she's got good taste. Fruity, woody

Posted over 1 year ago by mroverdoz from France with 3 ratings

Légèment vanillé, ce rhum est plutôt léger. Peu sucré également il accroche un peu en bouche.

Posted over 1 year ago by Gadesboa from France with 4 ratings

Beautiful gold color, dry rum, a bit strong at the end even if there are some smooth flavors in the middle.

Posted over 2 years ago by max from Canada with 27 ratings

Fair rhum aged 5 years
40%
750ml
Nez : Cire d’abeille, fruit exotique,
Bouche : fruits exotiques, cire, goût de fumé avec une finale semblable au bourbon.
Très bon cinq ans, complexe mais il pourrait bénéficier de quelques années supplémentaires.

Posted over 2 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

FAIR 5y from Belize has a unique bottle design but very bland label. Color is pure gold, very typical for a 5y old rum. Smell is strong rubber, quite offputting and very typical to the rums coming from Jamaica, but haven't experienced this before with rums from Belize. Taste test reveals a very dry rum, but plenty of exciting flavors. Long finish with a strong alcohol burn at the end.

Posted over 2 years ago by Nicoakr from France with 99 ratings

Interesting product as it is garanteed without added sugar or sweeteners. More on the mineral side with tropical fruits in mouth and wood towards the finish.

I need to try it again.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Pascal from Canada with 181 ratings

superbe rhum comme je les aimes. Son gout est surprenant pour un 5 ans. Une longue finale boisée et on décèle le baril de bourbon. On goute légèrement les fruits tropicaux, peut être même une note de chocolat.

Posted almost 3 years ago by jolly_roger from Canada with 11 ratings

This is a nice looking rum. The aroma is very soft and not overpowering.
This rum is aged in bourbon barrels and I believe the bourbon flavour is over-present in this offering.
I like my sipping rums with cigars, and this rum makes me think if I wanted bourbon, I would pour a bourbon, not a rum. It is a good product just not something I will keep on my shelf rotation.

Posted about 3 years ago by Zilch from Singapore with 7 ratings

Very clean flavour for a gold rum, hardly any aroma, burns down the throat and absolutely do not remember anything special out of this

Posted over 3 years ago by Loldelagohelle from France with 157 ratings

Superbe rhum avec beaucoyp de gout comme tjs au belize ou a la barbade.Mais rhum assez fin avec des gouts de peche leger allant sur l abricot.le finish bourbon est bien present.il y a une vraie maitrise du produit.dans ces prix c est un tres bon travail.note 8.5 j ai vraiment hesitè a mettre 9.cela vaut le coup pour les amateurs de rhum.sec mais pas trop.bon produit.

Posted over 3 years ago by Mihai from Romania with 206 ratings

Arome ușoare pt un rom de 5 ani.. Acceptabil ca preț și destul de fin dar fără pretenții. Poate în mixuri e mai potrivit decât straight.

Posted over 3 years ago by Knaky from France with 45 ratings

Bu chez un camarade amateur de bons breuvages dont un membre de la famille revenait de vacances avec ce flacon, très à mon goût : boisé, sec et gouteux, parfums riches, trés plaisant. Petite production, beau design. Great rum !

Posted over 3 years ago by deuf from France with 20 ratings

Jolie surprise au nez. En bouche on retrouve le boisé et bourbon. Beaucoup d'arômes. Le final est long gras et puissant.

Posted almost 4 years ago by Thomas from France with 22 ratings

Quel jolie surprise. Excellent rapport qualité prix et tres agréablement surpris. Je recommande sans problème