Posting your rating...
Naked Turtle White rum

Rate Naked Turtle White

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


24 Naked Turtle White ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted about 4 years ago by Derek Harris from United States with 30 ratings

I have yet to find another white rum that even comes close to this. This rum is an amazing addition to a fresh lemonade and has a great flavor to it. Not too strong or divisive, this is always a party favorite.

Posted over 2 years ago by Chad from United States with 6 ratings

Was a little against trying this clear rum as I am a fan of the dark rums. A friend suggested I give it a shot. I was totally amazed at the finish on this one. Great for mixed drinks or straight up..

Posted almost 3 years ago by Falcon91Wolvrn03 (PREMIUM) from United States with 424 ratings

I was a little skeptical about the current score of this rum (8.5), especially since it's made in the USA (whose rums aren't usually as good as those from the Caribbean), and it's only $12.99. But this is excellent!

I had this side by side with two of my other favorite light rums, the Vizcaya Cristal which has a similar rumratings score, and the Banks five Island, which is my current favorite light rum. I actually prefer this to both of those.

Similar to the Vizcaya Cristal, this has a little more sugarcane flavor, and is a bit less artificial tasting than that. It's very nicely sweet for a light rum, and easy to drink.

Smells and tastes of sugarcane, vanilla, and marshmallow. An AMAZING value!

As the stamp on the bottle says: "Don't worry, drink naked"!

A great light rum!

Posted 2 months ago by scallywagg444 from United States with 16 ratings

It's okay... has some sweet notes, but they don't taste natural. This stuff burns a bit, not the greatest to sip neat. Reminds me of Viscaya Crystal, but low quality.

Posted 3 months ago by jazz.tomtom from United States with 19 ratings

My favorite white rum at its price point. Far better tasting than Bacardi superior and usually only a dollar or two more.

Posted 5 months ago by Mike Pooch from United States with 35 ratings

I purchased this upon recommendation from a good friend, who actually enjoys sipping it, he was absolutely correct! It is smooth and has some character as well, I detect a bit of vanilla and some subtle fruit flavors. Alcohol is 40%, so it’s not too hot, definitely one of the best white rums I have tried and for only $11 that makes it a great value.

Posted 7 months ago by jamesshaffer (PREMIUM) from United States with 24 ratings

I bought a bottle of this wonderful clear rum for some mixed drinks. Not only did those taste wonderful, but I took a nip of the remainder and it was surprisingly tasty! This rum is packed with what I can only say to be a pure rum flavor. I usually end my reviews with how I only drink my rum with Coke...however, this rum will for sure be my go-to mixer when I need a light rum!

Posted 12 months ago by Dennis from United States with 15 ratings

Overall I found this ok. It had a bit of an after taste that reminded me of acetone/ nail polish remover. I did like the initial 'swig' though as it was smooth with hints of vanilla and citrus. I also liked that there wasn't a 'burn' associated with it.

Posted about 1 year ago by Joola69 from United States with 2555 ratings

Enjoyed a bottle of Naked Turtle Rum on a very cloudy afternoon. Unique bottle and label design. $10 a bottle. Clear color. Alcohol, citrus and slight vanilla to your nose and palate. Strong kick at the end. Better mixed than neat sipped, but still sippable.

Posted over 1 year ago by Oropeza from United States with 1 rating

This white rum is the best rum I've had to date. (I'm a bartender btw) I love how smooth it is and the smell as well. What a deal as well for any bacardi drinkers I suggest you get a bottle of this and I bet you won't go back. Aside from having it straight it also pairs well with juices. Haven't had it with cola but that's personal preference.

Posted over 1 year ago by SteveTheSnakeGuy from Canada with 12 ratings

Smooth, flavourful, inexpensive... the only hitch is availability. It’s currently only available in 8 states, plus its home of St. Croix.

Posted over 1 year ago by Joe from United States with 37 ratings

Bought this to self age. Figured I go with a white that had a good reputation. This is so good I’m afraid it must be dosed bigly. I don’t know, nor do I care. This tastes great right of the bat. Not a lot to the finish. But ok stuff.

Posted almost 2 years ago by Border Rum Guy from United States with 64 ratings

its a notch above Bacardi, and I like turtles, but this a bit rough maybe just a bad batch by all means try it!

Posted over 2 years ago by Paul B (PREMIUM) from United States with 297 ratings

This white rum from the U.S. Virgin Islands has never seen the inside of a wooden barrel, which is where the name comes from. Somehow through filtration, it tastes fairly good with no burn. I was very reluctant to try this $12 white rum until I saw it being used as one of the complex ingredients in a signature bar drink. The barmaid's hand was not faster than my eye, so I caught it. I already have a list of other white rums that make better mixers, so the only reason to buy it again would be to save the sea turtles. Each sale has some of the profits going to this good cause. However, the barrel sponges may be in uproar over this because I once saw a sea turtle take a large bite out of a barrel sponge at about 90 feet deep in Belize. I had no idea that sponges make good turtle food.

As an after note, this white rum wound up being the lowest ranked out of the 27 that I have rated, all between a 5 and an 8. There are only two white rums that are worse. Bacardi Superior would be a 3 and the vile Wray & Nephew Overproof has been rated as a 2.

Posted almost 3 years ago by David Risner from United States with 1 rating

This rum is as smooth as spring water. A very light, sweet sugar cane taste with pleasant floral notes. I just LOVE this rum. I consider it the best value in spirits.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

Sweet, smooth with some floral and fruity notes. Nice, inexpensive white rum that can be enjoyed both ways. Price is nice at roughly $20.
One of the better white rums without paying double for higher quality rums comparable to it. Should be a house white staple!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Chris Garrahan from United States with 4 ratings

Smooth texture, floral notes and a hint of sweetness. Great in daiquiri or mai tai. Everyone of my friends are hooked on this. Great price point

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from United States with 25 ratings

I went to the store for some cheap white rum for mixing. I usually by flor de cana extra dry. Picked this up on a whim, hey I like turtles and nudity. It was $20 for a 1.75l and it's really good. Some sweetness, vanilla and coconut nose and pretty well balanced flavor. I probably wouldn't drink it neat but it mixes well with coke and also coconut water. Good find!

Posted about 3 years ago by Eric from United States with 1 rating

Sweet and smooth. Best with crushed ice, Dasani coconut pineapple flavoring and water in a Kysek or Yeti cup.

Posted over 3 years ago by Skippy32123 from United States with 3 ratings

Tried this rum after I read reviews here. Didn't disappoint - I can think of a better way to spend $11.00. I drink rum as a mixer - fantastic smooth and easy drinking. I recommend.

Posted over 3 years ago by Lonely Coast from United States with 16 ratings

As a white rum, this is pretty hard to beat. While I wouldn't buy this to drink neat, you certainly could. I got a bottle of this on clearance at Walmart for less than 12 bucks. It has been sitting on my bar unopened for months. What a mistake. On the nose, a sleight alcohol and strong vanilla. In the mouth, not complicated, smooth, sweet, right on cusp of being very sweet, but not syrupy, and again strong vanilla. Maybe a hint of coconut. Some alcohol burn, but not overpowering. Consistent through the aftertaste. Given it's sweetness, I would be interested to know the sugar in it. Regardless, this is a quality white rum, and as a mixer you just can't go wrong with it. This may just become my full time white mixer rum.

Posted almost 4 years ago by nomad from United States with 125 ratings

Nose- alcohol, sugar, coconut, vanilla. I read elsewhere cream soda and that is very accurate.
Taste- smooth, sugar, coconut and some alcohol burn. Syrup. A good fairly long aftertaste too.

Sugar test- ?

Posted over 4 years ago by Eric from United States with 10 ratings

just really smooth white rum... no overpowering flavor (good or bad), almost no burn drinking it straight... nicely balanced and well priced. I like it.

Posted about 5 years ago by lmolinajr from United States with 17 ratings

I had this in florida at captain curts,on seista key..i like it with 7-up and lime.