Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle) rum

Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle)

Caribbean | Aged

8.4/10 (137 ratings)
Now this is some good stuff

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
2
3
15
49
44
23

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle)

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


137 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle) ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Joola69 from United States with 2649 ratings

Well over 700 aged dark rums enjoyed and Plantation XO 20th Anniversary is easily on my Top 5 list after 15 years. It is sublime, super smooth, no burn at all and contains plenty of amazing flavors. If you haven't tried yet Plantation XO 20th Anniversary, go quickly and get a bottle since it will set a brand new benchmark for your personal rum list.

Nose: Hints of spicy oak on the nose with guava, plenty of coconut and dried banana.
Palate: Spiced, creamy palate entry, with sweet vanilla notes and a lot of caramel.
Finish: Caramel. Toasted oak. Caramel.

Here's my top 30 list:
1. Ron Tres Loco de Vinos from Vinoble Skanderborg
2. Ron Esclavo XO Cask Strength
3. Legendario Gran Reserva 15y
4. Cubaney Centenario 25-30y
5. Companero Panama
6. Ron Esclavo XO
7. Ron Millonario XO and 15y
8. Plantation Barbados XO 20th Anniversary
9. El Dorado 25y
10. Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva and Single Vintage
11. Presidente Marti 23y and 19y
12. Cubaney 18y
13. Pusser's 15y
14. Black Tot
15. El Pasador de Oro XO
16. Bavaro Black Ultra Premium
17. Punta Cana Esplendido
18. Edmundo Dantes 15y
19. Pampero Aniversario
20. Bacoo 12y
21. Ron Esclavo 15y and 12y
22. El Pasador de Oro Gran Reserva
23. Brugal Leyenda
24. Exquisito 1990 and 1995
25. Koloa Kaua'i Coconut
26. Plantation Gran Anejo Guatemala & Belize
27. Unhiq XO
28. Ron Hero 21y Solera
29. Punta Cana XOX
30. Ron Cartavio XO

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

noch immer fester Bestandteil meiner Sammlung.

Ein sehr komplexer Tropfen, welcher bei jedem weiteren Genuss neue Facetten aufzeigt und ein wirklicher Genuss ist. Der Rum ist ein Blend und beinhaltet immer Rum mit einem Mindestalter von 12 Jahren. Nur bereits für diese Tatsache ist dieser Preis unschlagbar! Nun zum Tasting:

Schon beim Öffnen steigen einem Gerüche in die Nase, welche Begeisterung beim Kenner auslösen. Man schmeckt stark die Banane, Kokosnuss und Vanille heraus, welche wunderbar zu einem edlen Getränk vereint wurden.

Ein Muss in jeder Hausbar, ihr werdet begeistert sein!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Christian from United States with 6 ratings

I found this to be a delicious sipping rum but in a blind taste test it lost out to plantations own 5year. Crazy!

Ffffff

Posted almost 3 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 55 ratings

This has everything you could want and more.
Oak, vanilla, chocolate, coconut and sweet, but not to sweet. No discernible burn and a long lasting aftertaste after the smooth rum is swallowed.
I have the squatter/smaller bottle, and was told when I bought it to not discard it, as it was indeed a decanter.
As you can see the bottle is very nearly done, I just can’t bring myself to finish it.( a replacement will not be long in taking its place).

I would like to give it a 10, but once I do, would that mean my rum journey is over?

Surely Plantations finest?

Graham.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I really wanted to love this rum, I really, really did! I've been eyeing the Plantation 20 since I first became a rum drinker a few years ago. Plantation was actually what got me on rum in the first place. Full disclosure: I am biased.
N - Just lovely! You've got that wonderful coconut, a little pineapple and cream underneath, and a pleasant vanilla to round it all out.
P - Sweet tropical fruit, all day. So, so nice, pleasant, other word for nice.
F - ...and there's the baking spice! What more could I ask for?
Honesty with myself. The baking spice comes in on the finish, but it keeps coming. It grows beyond it's bounds, and starts to overwhelm, and what started off a pleasant addition starts to become outright unpleasant. It ends up hurting you, but everything else about it great enough that you keep looking past that and come back to it. That's probably a little more insight into my personal life... I mean rum... than you wanted. But there it is.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

This is one of the loveliest rooms I've ever had the pleasure of sitting it's about twice the price of my favourite El Dorado 12-year-old. But it's just a touch smoother and nicer

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Robot Tiki from United States with 5 ratings

Smooth and nice taste (sugar) and slight fire after taste

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Really smooth, nice taste but short finish. Must have rum - price/value. Ready for beginners.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Martin Nielsen from Denmark with 9 ratings

Virkelig god rom til prisen. Den har alt og er både kompleks og afbalanceret. Jeg synes faktisk den kan konkurrere med min milionare og prisen gør den til et Best buy for mig.

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

dette er en god rom til en meget fin pris
flot smag

Ffffff

Posted about 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

The 20th Anniversary XO is a full bodied slip into heaven. I can die happily having drank this. Oak, caramel, coconut, cigars, and a hint of banana. Very well balanced, smooth rum. It's very reasonably priced ($85CAD where I live) for what you get. As an added bonus, the bottle is an attractive mainstay on the bar.