Posting your rating...
Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle) rum

Rate Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle)

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


136 Plantation XO 20th Anniversary (old bottle) ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Posted over 2 years ago by Jan from Czech Republic with 13 ratings

Complexity of aged rum, perfect balance of tastes plus coconut flavor. Especially coconut is the taste that makes this rum so different. For me nr. 1.

Posted over 2 years ago by Schmid from Switzerland with 52 ratings

noch immer fester Bestandteil meiner Sammlung.

Ein sehr komplexer Tropfen, welcher bei jedem weiteren Genuss neue Facetten aufzeigt und ein wirklicher Genuss ist. Der Rum ist ein Blend und beinhaltet immer Rum mit einem Mindestalter von 12 Jahren. Nur bereits für diese Tatsache ist dieser Preis unschlagbar! Nun zum Tasting:

Schon beim Öffnen steigen einem Gerüche in die Nase, welche Begeisterung beim Kenner auslösen. Man schmeckt stark die Banane, Kokosnuss und Vanille heraus, welche wunderbar zu einem edlen Getränk vereint wurden.

Ein Muss in jeder Hausbar, ihr werdet begeistert sein!

Posted over 2 years ago by Christian from United States with 6 ratings

I found this to be a delicious sipping rum but in a blind taste test it lost out to plantations own 5year. Crazy!

Posted over 2 years ago by Graham Davie from United Kingdom with 53 ratings

This has everything you could want and more.
Oak, vanilla, chocolate, coconut and sweet, but not to sweet. No discernible burn and a long lasting aftertaste after the smooth rum is swallowed.
I have the squatter/smaller bottle, and was told when I bought it to not discard it, as it was indeed a decanter.
As you can see the bottle is very nearly done, I just can’t bring myself to finish it.( a replacement will not be long in taking its place).

I would like to give it a 10, but once I do, would that mean my rum journey is over?

Surely Plantations finest?

Graham.

Posted over 2 years ago by "Samuel Brunello" from United States with 78 ratings

I really wanted to love this rum, I really, really did! I've been eyeing the Plantation 20 since I first became a rum drinker a few years ago. Plantation was actually what got me on rum in the first place. Full disclosure: I am biased.
N - Just lovely! You've got that wonderful coconut, a little pineapple and cream underneath, and a pleasant vanilla to round it all out.
P - Sweet tropical fruit, all day. So, so nice, pleasant, other word for nice.
F - ...and there's the baking spice! What more could I ask for?
Honesty with myself. The baking spice comes in on the finish, but it keeps coming. It grows beyond it's bounds, and starts to overwhelm, and what started off a pleasant addition starts to become outright unpleasant. It ends up hurting you, but everything else about it great enough that you keep looking past that and come back to it. That's probably a little more insight into my personal life... I mean rum... than you wanted. But there it is.

Posted over 2 years ago by Jake from Canada with 7 ratings

This is one of the loveliest rooms I've ever had the pleasure of sitting it's about twice the price of my favourite El Dorado 12-year-old. But it's just a touch smoother and nicer

Posted almost 3 years ago by Robot Tiki from United States with 5 ratings

Smooth and nice taste (sugar) and slight fire after taste

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin from Slovakia with 20 ratings

Really smooth, nice taste but short finish. Must have rum - price/value. Ready for beginners.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Martin Nielsen from Denmark with 9 ratings

Virkelig god rom til prisen. Den har alt og er både kompleks og afbalanceret. Jeg synes faktisk den kan konkurrere med min milionare og prisen gør den til et Best buy for mig.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jesper Mazanti from Denmark with 125 ratings

dette er en god rom til en meget fin pris
flot smag

Posted almost 3 years ago by Puppet Mstr from Canada with 38 ratings

The 20th Anniversary XO is a full bodied slip into heaven. I can die happily having drank this. Oak, caramel, coconut, cigars, and a hint of banana. Very well balanced, smooth rum. It's very reasonably priced ($85CAD where I live) for what you get. As an added bonus, the bottle is an attractive mainstay on the bar.

Posted almost 3 years ago by Matt A from Canada with 12 ratings

Sweet sipping rum with coconut tones...for me, it's up there among my favourites

Posted almost 3 years ago by Myrthe from Netherlands with 31 ratings

A warm and gentle rum, very smooth and a rich flavour. Great at any moment!

Posted almost 3 years ago by Tom from United States with 231 ratings

I purchased this awhile back in the old style decanter style, then recently, bought it again thinking it was a different kind of XO20. Realized it was a different type of snazzy bottle style. I an not disappointed, in fact glad to have the exceptional rum in two very distinct bottle! Flavorful, on the sweet side and very smooth.
Cheers...

Posted almost 3 years ago by Jonathan Quintal from Canada with 43 ratings

Once you start very hard to stop, the coconut and banana essence makes it a very affordable yet fancy drink . A must keep on the shelf when a rhum drinker

Posted almost 3 years ago by Moggy from United Kingdom with 10 ratings

Following RumRunner's ratings I have the taller bottle with the wooden capped stopper
Wonderfully smooth with no afterburn - great drink for chilling out

Posted almost 3 years ago by Fred Ramey from United States with 28 ratings

Even if you've never been there I think that this rum will awaken something ancient and primordial in your soul, some forgotten memory of pineapples, coconuts, swaying trees, white sand beaches, and beautiful women laughing and smiling in the sunset. This is a very good rum, if not a great rum, that I think will appeal to a wide variety of drinkers, those who like it neat (myself) as well as mixed.

Posted about 3 years ago by Jesper Hansen from Denmark with 62 ratings

Dufter godt. Smager godt. Generelt en super lækker sød rom

Posted about 3 years ago by Julien from Netherlands with 19 ratings

This bottles costed me almost 60 euros but so far nothing in this taste is rememberable. Notging wrong with the taste but certainly norhing special. Just drank my 3rd glass. Price/quality for me would be ok it it was 25 euros

Posted about 3 years ago by Allan Hansen from Denmark with 8 ratings

As a newbee into the world of rum, this one fits my taste just perfect, and i love the aroma too!

Posted about 3 years ago by Mike from Sweden with 5 ratings

Very nice Barbados rum. Excellent for nice moments and relaxing time

Posted about 3 years ago by vdb from Belgium with 20 ratings

Imbattable niveau qualité/prix! Coco, amande sont aux rdv!

Posted about 3 years ago by Bo from DK with 59 ratings

Ikke smagt. .

Posted about 3 years ago by Cal from Canada with 4 ratings

Great aroma with a nice amber colour. Smooth initial taste that stays consistent throughout. Not bitter but a slight taste of cane and carmel I tried mine with a small ice cube.