Posting your rating...
Gold of Mauritius Dark rum

Gold of Mauritius Dark

Mauritius | Dark

Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum is produced from molasses which is aged for 3 months in port wine barrels before being filtered, followed by another 8-12 months.

The Gold of Mauritius Dark Rum molasses is supplied by Grays Distillery, a wine, sprits and liqueur producer founded in 1935 in Mauritius that makes 6 million litres of alcohol each year.

7.1/10 (118 ratings)
Recommendable to most

1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
1
1
3
1
8
16
40
34
12
2

Rate Gold of Mauritius Dark

Tap to Rate
Click to Rate

Have an opinion about this rum?

Signup to rate this rum!


118 Gold of Mauritius Dark ratings

Sort by: Popularity | Date | Rating

Bf26abc301974a01ae985221900d7ea5.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted about 2 years ago by Rei from Germany with 99 ratings

First smell was dominated by alcoholic notes that soon gave way to notes of caramel, peanut and some distant wood. These notes did also dominate the palate with some added (minor) spiciness. The medium size finish was quite sweet and – interestingly - did reveal some smoke at the end. Despite the flavour notes I experienced this rum as quite soft and not as a full bodied or very complex rum which translates into my rating. So if you are looking for something not too complex this might be interesting for you.

7ce034c8f5b80747dc8352552b7894ed.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 6 months ago by vomi1011 from Germany with 166 ratings

I'm not sure but the smoke could only come from a finish in Islay casks. I tasted this one three times and I still don't like it.
It tastes like you are eating a pineapple from an ashtray. If you like it, go for it.

Smell (not intensive): first some solvent (disappers after 10min), pineapple, apple, citrus, some toffee, some ash/smoke, wood, oatmeal cookies
Taste: Very intensive smoke (cigarette ash - you palet get used to it after some sips), sweetness, pineapple, apple and then some bitterness/wood.
Finish: Spicy and middle middlelong finish (warm burn)
Aftertaste: cigarette ash

Very interesting rum, exceptional. I don't like the smoke, but if you can enjoy it, it's good.

Sweetness: 3.5/5
Fruit: 3.5/5
Spice: 2/5
Mildness: 3.5/5

5b3985a6c61af55128051021474d6919.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 2 years ago by Oliver from Germany with 11 ratings

Quite dispappointing, I don't like it. It has an unpleasant, pugent smell (maybe that is what is called nutmeg by other reviewers) which is also present when drinking. You get much better rum for the price.

03615205d3029da9265e431e3bb65358.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by Finch from Germany with 16 ratings

Now this one got me. With the taste of roasted peanuts and some fruits this is special. Not quite what you expect but this is some extraordinary stuff for that young age and price.

Da92732e1a0d7f4fe0222b93ce4d8e1b.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted over 3 years ago by b from Germany with 1 rating

this one evens the first steps into the georgeous world of rum.
almonds, cinemon and carribean dreams! affordable top shelf!

B1e1548127a75fc34f160300dd79388c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted almost 4 years ago by guewen from France with 97 ratings

A force de vouloir s'adapter au marché, on fini par vendre son âme...beaucoup de sucrosite, des arômes de caramel, banane trop mûre...forcément plaisant pour le plus grand nombre, mais d'autre produit dans cette gamme offre une autre palette aromatique plus agréable...

73818fe5e2dad2356bd2b1c3c6e42790.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Markmoz (PREMIUM) from Mozambique with 13 ratings

Excellent Rum from Mauritius, nice smooth taste with hints of vanilla. Great stuff, really good rum ... one of my favorites

6593abd40ffa0f750370602dfd9f867c.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 2 months ago by Taster from Switzerland with 108 ratings

Nose: fruity, maybe banana, but rather shy and thin
Palate: nice, pretty soft, silky and slightly smoky. With hints of port wine. Untypical and rather sweet.
Sugar: 30 g/l
Mauritius offers also other interresting rums, even pretty nice agricoles (Chamarel for example)
7,8

D75811ab508d09a5c9536970094367a6.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Spidey-P from Netherlands with 63 ratings

I find this one quite similar to the 5-year old solera. Good stuff but it's brother wins the rating with a 0,5 points. This sticks at a 7

54588708f8c654a7b13e96facaa6b175.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 3 months ago by Duckstab from Czech Republic with 74 ratings

Britská odpověď na francouzské Arcanum Extraroma. Buď na Mauritiu roste něco, co jinde ne, nebo nakupují přísady od stejné místní chemičky, ale každopádně určitá příbuznost unikátní chuti, kterou jsem v žádných jiných rumech necítil, v tom je. Zbytek je ale daleko nudnější než u Extraroma, byť také velmi originální. Mdlá, leč příjemná (byť bohužel zcela monolitní) chuť, které tomu všemu dominuje, se nepodobá ničemu, co znám. Když jsem byl malý a četl jsem verneovky, tak jsem si tak nějak představoval chlebovník (který jsem ale dodnes nejedl, takže nevím). Relativně nejblíž k tomu možná maji Mochi plněné Taro pastou (takové žužlavé japonské cukroví). Jinak je to dost lihovité (jak vůně, tak chuť).
Prodává se v úplně stejném skle, jako Relicario, jen místo šroubovací dřevěné zátky má Gold of Mauritius dřevěné kolečko nalepené na plastový špunt.

Po dopití flašky jsem hodnocení ještě o bod zvýšil - prostě mi to chutná.

Ab6b8768c78a642498871b008c967dab.png?s=40&d=https%3a%2f%2fd1jtwiy8m5zi8a.cloudfront.net%2fassets%2fdefault avatar

Posted 4 months ago by Pollux from Canada with 135 ratings

Très bon rhum de dégustation à découvrir. Des saveurs que je n'ai pas goûter dans beaucoup de rhum.